Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jun 2018
9.7

Pretty much exactly what a hostel should be. Next time I'm in Berlin will be staying here again without a doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2018
7.7

It was ok, staff was nice and speaking English super good. Female bathrooms were fine, but my boyfriend told me that the male bathroom was gross.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • harsharyaiitd5981
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2018
8.3

A nice place overall. Though quite huge, this is not like a typical homestay hostel that you would expect. The place has all & more of the necessary facilities, and has a bar below!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aprilkelly197572
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
8.3

Only stayed one night. Bed was clean room was clean. Staff were super friendly. Big open communal space with good sized kitchen. Beer was cold. Very happy overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks a lot for your kind words! Is there anything we could do better? We're always trying to improve our place and it seems there are some points you didnt like that much. Cheers, your Amstel Team.

  • sidselkantelberg4286
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2018
7.1

You get what you pay for - an okay hostel, not bad, but not amazing either.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for your review. We're always trying to improve our Hostel. Do you have anything you'd like to have changed in particular? Cheers, your Amstel Crew

  • emilyjarvis19932649
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2018
6.6

The bathrooms were gross.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thank you for your honest response. Our bathrooms are cleaned twice a day - whenever its busy they get used quite frequently and not everyone leaves the facilities behind as if they'd like to find them. We're sorry you didnt like the bathrooms. In case you give us a second chance: The receptionists are always there to hear your critique and problems and will always try to make it better. Best regards, the Amstel Crew

  • kseghirbakir5393
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2018
9.1

I’ve stayed at this hostel for 3 nights and didn’t regret it. The staff were really friendly and willing to help you all the time. Doors and stairs are locked and you need a card to get in so the overall security is good and the 4 people rooms give you a lot of privacy. Even though it is a bit far from the city center, there’s a really close metro station that was really convenient for going around the city. Thank you so much guys for the great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your kind words! We'd love to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, your Hostel Crew

31st May 2018
8.3

I enjoyed my stay at Amstel House. I felt comfortable and safe. The staff and guests were friendly. I do have two minor complaints. 1. The showers don't have a bench/chair/shelf to store clothes or toiletries while you shower. You have one hook to put everything. I had to put my belongings on the floor or drape over the door. 2. Most of the time I was there, the WiFi was very slow. I wasn't able to even upload photos to Instagram. Still, I had a nice time at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2018
9.7

A great place for value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2018
9.7

Excellent!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your nice words! Moabit is always changing and people say its the next big thing in the capital. Give it another try in the future and we hope to reach the 10 then. Cheers, your Amstel Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×