Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3282 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th May 2018
9.4

Very nice. But rooms are not very spacious. And bathrooms are very tiny. Washrooms are not very clean and lot of dirty water on the floor of washrooms. Other than this, perfect 5/5.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chloerj18
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2018
9.7

What a great place! Amstel house hostel provides a clean, safe, and fun environment. The staff are friendly and helpful with a happy and genuine attitude. The free baggage storage before and after check out was a lifesaver and stopped us from having to lug our backpacks around the whole of Berlin. It's about a 15 bus ride to the city center but it's also in a convenient area close to grocery stores and the main bus stops. I would stay here again if visiting Berlin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for the nice comment!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th May 2018
10.0

Cool place, located in Moabit, close to U-Bahn station, all you need around the corner and the bar is open 24 hours - what else does one need? :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mihaiandrei95tanase7353
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2018
10.0

Everything was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2018
8.9

Nice large lockers and you need a room key for the door and the elevator, so quite secure. Nice neighborhood a bit out of the center and right close to a metro stop. The staff were friendly and helpful and the common room was large and cozy. The rooms had a sink in them, which was quite nice and the bathrooms were clean. Comfortable bunks, just an overall good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stephenmcc1054285
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2018
9.4

The hostel is very well presented with security card access, free WiFi, 24hour bar and immaculate conditions including showering facilities. The staff are pleasant and friendly. I can't think of anymore to say, other than this was the first hostel I have ever stayed at and I was very impressed as I went in not knowing what to expect but has all the necessary amenities any travler on a budget would need. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kmichellec997970
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2018
7.7

Nice hostel, need your keys to access rooms and stairwell/elevator so very secure. Beds were comfy, I liked that you make your own bed so you know it's clean. Happy hour was nice. However, massive school groups made it a bit unenjoyable as far as atmosphere. Seemed like a lot of school groups. Good place to stay nonetheless, good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maxsfreedman1185
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2018
9.1

This was my first hostel, and if all hostels are like this, I expect to use hostels often in my travels. If I return to Berlin, I'll try to use Amstel House. The facilities are super clean; the rooms give everyone just the right amount of space and come with great lockers; the staff is wonderful; you'll pay an incredibly reasonable price. My complaints are that it got really hot inside on a 28 C day and there wasn't much to be done, and the breakfast buffet is really lacking. Location is solid!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2018
7.4

This hostel is fine, the staff were very friendly and there were lots of food options near the hostel plus they have a breakfast buffet for 6 euros. It was nice having a sink in the room and the rooms were a good size. Unfortunately the hostel is very loud at night, it’s not unusual to hear loud music and talking well past what would in other hostels be the start of quiet hours. Also the beds squeak anytime you even think about moving, and the WiFi is iffy in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • korsmeyerj8401
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th May 2018
7.7

About 20-30mins from airport or city by bus, which is pretty easy to figure out. Staff was always present and helpful. A friend and I were in a 4 bed female dorm and it was well-sized and furnished-table and chairs, mirror, sink. There were cupboards w/ multiple shelves which I liked. Each bed had an outlet, a light, and a small shelf. Breakfast was good but 6euros. Bathrooms were small and not the cleanest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×