Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Anker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 6070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 6070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • amandanfarrell2805
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2018
8.3

The bathroom wasn’t very clean, but other than that, it was a great location with friendly and helpful staff. I enjoyed the private room facilities. The kitchenette was a great surprise and would be good for those looking to cut costs by cooking a couple of meals instead of eating out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Sep 2018
8.6

The only show in Oslo in terms of hostels really. Decent enough, could do with a bit of touching up around the place. Atmosphere was a bit dull, small bar, and everyone just sitting on their phones on the couches, so not very social. Nice staff tho, shout-out to Runa in particular!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Sep 2018
9.7

All was good in this hostel. I absolute loved these things: [1] 24/7 reception [2] locks on floor and room [3] friendly staff Only (minor) problem I had was the lack of a socket to charge my phone next to each bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samanthaerinbick7901
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2018
6.0

Oslo is expensive. You have to pay for everything including sheets, towels, and kitchen sets. The showers were unclosed and made the bathrooms very messy. The beds were comfy enough, but we had the displeasure of having smelly unbathed men share our room. The smell was too strong and made it hard to sleep. There are also signs everywhere telling you not to leave your things in the room. This is the cheapest option in Oslo. Experiences vary depending on fellow roomates

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • officiallxana2522
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2018
6.9

The kitchen is in the room and very hard to cook anything. Dirty and stuffy rooms throughout. Not much in hostel to socialize.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2018
5.4

One of the worst hostels I’ve stayed in throughout Europe. Absolutely no atmosphere. The room was disgusting, there’s a kitchen and a bathroom in each room, which means constant noise and smell, food all over the floor, the shower soaks the whole bathroom, making the floor muddy as people come in and out from outside. No microwave or kettle - so why even bother having a kitchen. And no where near enough power points in each room, it was a constant struggle to find one. I couldn’t wait to leave.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
6.0

my biggest complaint was there were only 2 electrical outlets for a dorm with 8 people and no lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • gillboazman8
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
8.9

Room clean and had all basics. Good glazing on windows kept out noise of trams. Staff helpful but slightly overworked. No bedside lights. Stairwells with chain link depressing. Not great value for money when compared to sister Anker Hotel where I also stayed. Hire of bed linen, towels and no breakfast made them the same price but hotel much less spartan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • xDiabolus
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Sep 2018
7.7

Its an okay hostel. Everything is a little old, from beds to furniture or the entrance. The staircases are more industry-like and do not give you a cosy feeling. The staff is okay, some are pretty kind others not really. Overall I had a pleasant stay but considering the price and the city I expect a little more. Unfortunately there are not many alternatives in Oslo..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2018
7.4

I've stayed in better hostels. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the location was good but the facilities were poor- no wall lights/ charging points by the beds, no free bedding (astonishing) ,no proper bar serving beer on tap, only expensive bottled beer, no dedicated kitchen ( the dorms had basic cooking facilities but you had to pay a deposit to use cutlery and plates, bowls, etc), no free breakfast ( I know its not compulsory), and no real atmosphere. An adequate, no frills hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×