Hostelworld.com

Argyle Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1958 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1958 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bmorr112
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2018
9.7

Loved the charm and character at the Argyle Backpackers. Everything was wonderful from the late night no fuss check in ( I accessed the building without reception which was smooth), the cosy sitting room, bedroom and kitchen areas, the friendly and helpful staff and of course the travellers I met whilst there. My double room was close to the toilet and shower - really like in your own home! The kitchen had everything you would need with a lovely conservatory attached overlooking the garden.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you for your feedback regarding our team, it is great to see their efforts acknowledged. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hostel soon! Kind regards, Veronica

  • raefreak8058
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2018
10.0

Lovely clean, comfortable room and facilities. Lovely, helpful staff. Great location and value for money. We WILL be back :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi guys, We really appreciate your kind words. We loved having you here and really hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Veronica

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2018
7.7

We enjoyed our stay at Argyle Backpackers. The first room we had was a bit dark and the bed was squeaky. However, after telling the staff we got a lighter, warmer room with a very comfortable bed. Everyone at Argyle Backpackers was very friendly and helpful. The self-caring facilities had everything we needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi guys, Many thanks for taking the time to post your experience at Argyle Backpackers. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We already replaced the bed from the first room you stayed at, many thanks for letting us know about the problem! It was a pleasure having you staying at the hostel and we hope to welcome you back soon :) Kind regards, Veronica

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
9.1

We really enjoyed staying at this hostel. The kitchens were both fully equipped and made cooking a breeze. There were plenty of bathrooms so never had to wait to shower. The place was extremely clean. The hostel was very quiet, and we were not disturbed at all during the night (we did have a private room but even so we didn't hear any other noise from the other guests). The location is quite good except for getting to and from the airport easily. Its only about a 20 minute walk to town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Many thanks for your lovely feedback! Your opinion is very important for us and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Argyle Backpackers :) Kind regards, Veronica

  • avrilhalici6502
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2018
9.7

Friendly, clean and comfortable. Towels and bed linen clean but a bit shabby. Loved my bedroom with the old fireplace and sash window that was virtually floor to ceiling and made the room lovely and bright. Kitchen was well equipped, with huge table as well as relaxed seating area. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2018
10.0

No complaints. Straight forward hostel with everything you need. Room was spacious, staff was helpful, location isn't very far from city centre, bathrooms were clean. On the quieter side, but sometimes that's what you need. The lockers in the room were a bit small, so I could see how it might bother some people, but for me it was a non-issue. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us :) We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! We hope to have you back sometime in future. Kind regards, Veronica

  • ethanzhao09074273
  • Taiwan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Sep 2018
10.0

Cosy place with great staff. The place is located in the city centre and you can go anywhere from there. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the place is run in a highly organised way (people labelling their own food etc). Generally it's a very good place and good value too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback! We really appreciate your kind words. We loved having you here and hope to see you again in the future :) Kind regards, Veronica

  • jadeanxin2320
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2018
9.1

very good location, staff are nice and helpful. I love the inclusive kitchen share.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! :) Kind regards, Veronica

  • jferguson8718196
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2018
7.1

Pretty clean and tidy set up. Top floor shower was quite disappointing esp when the lvl 2 bathroom was in use but on the whole, very ok! Would stay again but would request lower floor room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Many thanks for your feedback! We hope to welcome you back soon and we take note, for the next time to be able to allocate you in our first or ground floor ;) Kind regards, Veronica

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
9.1

The building is beautiful with very large and tall rooms. It's a fairly quiet yet very convenient location. I would definitely recommend it! Only minus points are for the showers and the squeaky beds. Also it was very expensive due to the festival season. But everywhere is expensive at that time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Many thanks for your review and for recommending our hostel to other travelers :) We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Veronica

×