Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ariki Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • vonkennedy082033
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2018
9.1

Helpful and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2018
9.4

Great place to stay in New Plymouth. Perfect location in the middle of town just a block from the coastal walkway. Lots of good spaces to hang out in, including a deck with a view of the ocean. Helpful staff and nice facilities. There were a lot of solo backpackers and small groups at the time I visited but the overall vibe was not that social.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2018
6.3

Unexpected bites

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th Feb 2018
9.7

My stay here was brief but I felt very welcome in that time. In the kitchen travellers were sharing food and in the tv room there were many watching a movie together. Nice vibes, communal spaces being used well. Clean hostel generally, great location and super friendly staff ✌️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Feb 2018
10.0

I stayed there for 3 nights and I loved it! Staff is super friendly and helpful, accommodation is clean and cozy, location can’t be better. All you need!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexovet914531
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2018
10.0

Excellent hostel extremely helpful and friendly staff, great location and i would strongly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the New Plymouth area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Feb 2018
7.7

Pleasant hostel in a good location in New Plymouth. Rob from reception was super helpful, gave good advice for surfing and climbing Mt Taranaki. No lockers and common spaces were pretty filthy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
4.6

the accommodation is in generally dirty, especially the kitchen which is just filthy beds are bad

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • kittyelai8678
  • Namibia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2017
6.9

Good hostel, only downfall is that it’s next to a karaoke bar which closes around 2am. Not a good choice if you plan on doing any Mt Taranaki hikes during your stay and need to wake up early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Dec 2017
9.4

One of the cleanest hostels I've been to (thats important) even the towel was nice! the only problem to me was that i didnt notice there was no breakfast :( take into account: no buses on weekends, if you dont have a care i dont recomend going.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×