Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Astor Hyde Park

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 9796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 9796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • meghanrroche2934
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2018
8.9

Great staff! They helped me change rooms when I had a particularly bad experience with a party group in my first room, and we're generally lovely. Security-wise there IS a slight issue of the doors not closing easily; multiple times I got to my room and it was slightly ajar. But if everyone is diligent in closing them you'll be fine. Cleanliness left something to be desired--painted-over mold in bathrooms and gross surfaces in general. But great location! And AWESOME lounge!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • caitlinfleming8135
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2018
9.4

One of the cleanest hostels I’ve stayed at. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2018
6.9

I stayed here for 4 nights and had a comfortable stay. The room was clean and the bathroom was connected to the room, like an ensuite. The location was fantastic, and Kensington is beautiful! Great first impression of London. However, the overall atmosphere of the hostel was terrible. The staff were extremely unfriendly and reluctant to help. They made no effort to be welcoming or inclusive. A smile goes a long way! Definitely would not stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2018
10.0

Lovely reception staff, nice crowd and atmosphere. Plenty of facilities for a comfy stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your kind words, we are so happy to know that you had the best time while staying with us. Our staff is so happy to know that your expectations where met with the awesome service we provide, we have an amazing building with some awesome and big spaces where you can chill and meet new people, or just join us in our free daily events and go with staff and other guests to enjoy the magnificent London life! We would love to host you again in our lovely Astor Hyde Park. Lot's of love, Astor Family!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
8.3

Some staff were friendlier than others. Breakfast in the morning for £1 donation to charity was nice and meant I could eat haha. Rooms were nice and clean, wifi was good. Location was the best highlight. Right next to Kensington gardens, lovely to walk through in mornings. Something seemed a tad off atmosphere wise to me but nothing I could put my finger on. May have just been my tiredness ? Near Piccadilly tube stops which is super good to get around to main monuments on. Street was well lit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you have enjoyed all with us, our staff works hard everyday to provide the best service and always make sure that all the guests have a great stay, I will look into the staff to understand what could have upset you while you stayed here with us. We do have a awesome location in one of the most secure and best neighbourhoods in Central London, with the Kensington gardens and Hyde Park, we are all about to create a good social environment that why we have free daily events so that all the guests and staff can have all the fun together with games or movies at the hostel or with night outs and sight seeing in the city! We would love to host you again so that you can see why we offer one of the best services in London. Lot's of love, Astor Family!!

21st Dec 2017
8.9

I loved this hostel! It was in a great location, had a great staff and an excellent atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed all with us, our bulding speaks for itself an amazing Victorian bulding with such great spaces for you to chill and relax right in one of the best and safest neighbourhood in Central London, our free daily events and our amazing staff will definitely contribute for a awesome atmosphere where you can make new friends and collect a bunch of cool memories! We would definitely love to see you again in our lovely Astor Hyde Park. Lot's of love, Astor Family!!

  • elwynpunk3288
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Dec 2017
10.0

Great place, awesome staffs, for some people maybe don’t like the location because not really in the “center” but for me i like it. Good transport connection, quite and clean, and in fact just stone throw to the natural history museum and royal albert hall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello ! Thanks for your amazing words. We are located in one of the most beautiful area of central London, with museums, Hyde Park and shops right at the door. We are also very well connected to the very heart of the city with two tube stations and three bus stop around us that has 24h buses always available. Our staff is doing his very best to provide a good atmosphere for the guests and to always be helpful. We are also working hard to maintain the best level of cleanliness and comfort possible but if you see something that might need extra cleaning you can always find us in reception and let us know . We will be more than happy to have you again in our lovely Astor Hyde Park ! Lot's of love, Astor Family!

  • colleen5362
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Dec 2017
10.0

Wish that the shared rooms had a bit more privacy some other hostels have little curtains that can be pulled around your bunk so that you can sleep better without being disturbed so easily as people come and go at all hours. Other then that that it was wonderful. Staff helpful and fun safe space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your kind words, also thank you for your suggestion we do understand that privacy is one of the most important things while sharing accommodation with fellow travellers, we are in the process of revamping bunk beds and introduce new commodities so that you always feel the best in our company, but if you did not felt 100% comfortable in your room you can always come and talk with reception and we reallocate you to another room so that you can have a proper rest and an amazing stay, we would love to host you again in our lovely Astor Hyde Park. Lot's of love, Astor Family!!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2017
5.1

It is not conveniently located to many of the tourist sites of London, 20min walk from Hyde Park corner and the park is very poorly lit at night so safety is a concern. The front door to the hostel was also left unlocked each night. Cleanliness of the hostel was poor, the bathroom is our room consistently smelled like sewage and the roof had mould on it above the shower, this was pointed out to staff at the hostel but it was not addressed during the duration of our stay (4 nights).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the time you took reviewing us, as you can understand all our guests words are extremely important to us so that we can always aim for more improvement. We are located in one of the best neighbourhoods in Central London, Hyde Park is an amazing but also super big park, you can definitely walk to Hyde Park Corner but you also have 3 buses that will put you there in 5 min or the underground that it;s not far from us, the park closes at night time exactly because of that parks in London all close at night time for safety of the users, we can't control the light issue in the park as you may understand. With a lot of guests always coming in and out some may leave the door open sometimes but by this reason this is why we have another security door operated by code that only the guests know about it to make sure we are all safe. We take cleaning super serious to make sure that all our guests are in a safe and clean environment we work hard everyday I will address with the staff to understand why no effort was made to have this situation fixed while you were staying with us. We would like to invite you to come and stay with us again so that you can see why we are one of the best service providers in London. Lot's of love, Astor Family!!

11th Dec 2017
9.1

Not bad for a 1 night stay. It was a quick visit so I didn't get to enjoy the atmosphere too much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for you kind words. We are so happy to know that you have had an amazing one night stay with us. It's very important for us to now that our guests even if it's just for one night that you had a good night sleep and rested properly so that you can recharge for the rest of your trips, we do have a great atmosphere where we offer daily events and activities in the hostel and outside where we make sure we have as many guests possible so that everyone has a great time. We would love to host you again in our lovely Astor Hyde Park. Lot's of love, Astor Family!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×