Hostelworld.com

Astor Museum Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 7704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 7704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2018
9.7

Astor Museum Hostel was perfectly located, clean, and economical. The staff and the other guests were very friendly. There were even activities planned, so I didn't feel alone in a new city. The only drawback is a lot of stairs. I was on an upper floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tjkropp7654
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Nov 2018
9.7

Great place to stay! Super close to the Underground and a nice neighbourhood! Rooms were clean and beds were nice. It would have been nice to have a few more bathrooms because I found they were often always in use. Also more outlets and USB charging ports would be a huge plus! Staff was super friendly and accommodating, I would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lachlanm8355
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Nov 2018
6.9

Overall an okay experience, staff were friendly and the hostel had a good vibe with lots of travellers that were all friendly. Good place to meet people. Unfortunate downside was the bathrooms were a little dirty and gross, paint flaking ceilings and mould, I guess they’re overused and very old. Apart from that, the location is great, and for the price, it’s not bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We are happy you liked us.We try our best to keep the hostel clean, however we apologised if you experienced a dirty toilet and bathroom while here. Our building is very old, we are aware of paint and other issues, which is why we are currently renovating all bathrooms for the comfort of our guests. We hope to see you in the future and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Nov 2018
8.9

Location unbeatable and good facilities in general, it is worth to pay a bit more to save time and money from not using the tube. The staff was attentive and nice. Definitely not a party hostel, but social anyway, that was what I was searching, although bit bizarre that most of sociable guests were staff leaving there. My only complains would be about other guests (not fault of the hostel) and that we had 2 days without hot water and heating (got solved and could use the annex building anyway).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! That's right, amazing location, near everything you need. We sincerely apologise for any issues you have encountered, like the water. When rare things like that occur, we always try our best to solve the problem and/or find a solution. Hope to see you in the future, safe travels!!

  • sidneyubc23
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Nov 2018
10.0

Great hostel; super friendly staff; awesome free dinner; definitely recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! That's right! Free dinner Wednesday to Saturday, looking forward to pasta two ways tonight! Hope to see you in the future, safe travels!!

  • belenocamposcandia449
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2018
10.0

Great hostel! I would totally go back again. 100% recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you in the future :) Safe travels

5th Nov 2018
7.7

Overall it was fine, no frills. Staff are fabulous always friendly people on at reception and the location is fab. The charity breakfast is also a lovely idea. But there wasn't enough facilities for the amount of people there. In 'the other building' there was only two toilets and two showers for the entire building. I appreciate there were some in the basement under maintenance but still, not ideal! Also the pillows are FLAT!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! We try our best to improve. We are glad you liked us and our breakfast. We will have all new bathrooms soon, but we do apologise for the maintenance work in the meantime. If you come back and stay with us, feel free to ask for an extra pillow as we can provide that for you. We hope to see you in the future and safe travels!

  • csgoitia
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Nov 2018
8.6

Safe hostel, in an convenient part of the city. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. I found the deposit for room keys kind of odd, £5 each. I would stay at this hostel again, however maybe a smaller room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! That's right, close to everything central! We try our best to keep the hostel clean, we are happy you think that it was. We take a 5£ deposit for the value of the item, as we have experienced before, that things have not been returned, that's all. We hope to see you in the future and safe travels!

4th Nov 2018
8.6

Directly across from (free) British Museum, so it’s in a bit of a touristy area, but it’s pleasant to walk and a good value for London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! That's right! Across from the iconic British Museum, and walking distance to pretty much everything! We hope to see you in the future and safe travels!

  • crtimbie17168
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Oct 2018
10.0

Fun place with helpful staff. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly. Quiet area and rules we’re respected in our 16 person mixed dorm. £1 breakfasts and free dinners with lots of activities to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! The staff are here to help with anything you need and to make you feel at home! Cleanliness is a top priority for us. £1 breakfast and all to charity! Looking forward to seeing you in the future!

×