Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1035 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • georgelepp4069
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th Jul 2018
10.0

Lovely welcoming vibe with great staff! All you can eat BBQs and plenty of information available for all local activities, tours, adventures and night life. Lovely outdoor hammock area to chill out and meet new people as well as a cosy tv room with computers, bean bags and free tea and coffee! Initially booked for 2 nights but two weeks later I still find myself here! Best hostel in cairns without a doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2018
8.6

Overall a lovely place to stay. You will definitely feel safe & at home here. The staff are welcoming & the people are cool. Definitely not a party hostel & wouldn't recommend if you're looking to party. The kitchen closes at 9 & they lock you completely out which was a bother. There is a bit of an ant problem as well so you absolutely can not keep food in your room either. Ample space in the kitchen for your food and cutlery is free. Lots of space to relax! Very peaceful ambiance

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2018
8.0

Good social vibe and cleanest hostel bedsheets I've ever had. Free shuttle from airport appreciated (but keep in mind it's not free from the hostel TO the airport). However, the $50 security deposit is ridiculous, and it's annoying it can only be paid in cash. The hostel was a little dingy and the room wasn't very clean, but wasn't too disgusting, definitely survivable. The shower doors were too short so tall people walking by could see into the shower while you were in it. Okay stay overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2018
9.7

This place was AWESOME! The people there were great and the atmosphere was really friendly. We originally booked for 4 nights, and then extended the stay another night. The facilities aren’t very modern, but it’s really homey, and the fact that you get to bring your own booze is a game changer. There are a lot of people here that have stayed for a long period of time, which means that there’s already a community there that you can join for even a short period of time. 10/10 would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review. Please be aware that you were able to contribute a positive outlook by being a member of that community which improved it for the next guest of the hostel. We wish you well on your continuing journey.

  • tpryce9007
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
9.1

A really friendly welcoming atmosphere with very accommodating staff that will go above & beyond to help any traveller staying with them. Rooms could maybe be modernised a little with better lighting & more switches for every bed but overall value for money. Highly recommended, I felt at home here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are in the process of modernising the hostel but the process is slow to keep costs manageable which results in us being able to offer affordable accommodation to our guests. Some rooms already have personalised USB points to enable phone and power pack recharging. We wish you well in your continuing travels.

25th May 2018
8.9

Great atmosphere. The people staying there were really chill and fun. Great vibes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please remember that good guests such as yourself contribute to the good vibes of the hostel. We wish you well in your continuing travels

  • nathalieduran93
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
9.4

Staff is helpful and friendly, the place us clean and cozy... Feels like a home..the best hostel I've been to, especially for the price... Really recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review. We wish you safe travels on your continuing journey.

14th May 2018
9.4

This is the real hostel!! It is cozy, has all facilities we need, and it is actually the best value for money you can get in Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review. We wish you well on your continuing journey.

6th May 2018
8.6

Would be nice if they replaced the toaster in the kitchen. Aside from that it's a good place, spacious common areas and relatively cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. It would have been helpful if you had advised us at reception or during our conversations of a faulty toaster in the kitchen. We usually have one on standby for just such events. We replaced it within 5 minutes of knowing. Thanks for letting us know. We wish you well on your continuing journeys.

  • devtolk
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2018
10.0

I absolutely loved staying at the Asylum. I met awesome people. It was a party every night, but it was also separate from where you slept so it was quiet back there. The staff are amazing and help you find all your stuff when you lose them from your drunk nights out!! Would highly recommend to anyone & everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×