Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1012 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1012 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2018
9.4

This is the real hostel!! It is cozy, has all facilities we need, and it is actually the best value for money you can get in Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th May 2018
8.6

Would be nice if they replaced the toaster in the kitchen. Aside from that it's a good place, spacious common areas and relatively cheap.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • devtolk
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2018
10.0

I absolutely loved staying at the Asylum. I met awesome people. It was a party every night, but it was also separate from where you slept so it was quiet back there. The staff are amazing and help you find all your stuff when you lose them from your drunk nights out!! Would highly recommend to anyone & everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • schmitznatascha5120
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
16th Apr 2018
8.3

The asylum in Cairns offers a really good value for money. The owner is really friendly and helpful and always there for you. They offer a lot of activities so it is easy for you to get to know other travellers. Laundry facilities are cheap and the WiFi in the common areas is great. In some places it could have been a little cleaner but overall it was satisfactory and I would recommend the place as it is a nice hostel to come back to at the end of the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sheehanc7
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2018
4.9

It was okay, but not great. The staff was not very helpful. The rooms could’ve been cleaner and a lot more comfortable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kathrynsaywell5982
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Apr 2018
8.0

Only issue was no lockers but very personable experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2018
9.7

It’s so nice to see an owner taking part in the hostel. Janet is super friendly and helpful. Any question I had, she took the time to look it up online for me. I also booked an all day Great Barrier Reef tour through the hostel which included a free dive! It was incredible! I just as also happy they have washing machines, dryers, and a bunch of lines outside to hang your clothes to air dry! Huge kitchen, coffee and tea all day, comfortable beds. I enjoyed my stay! Thanks Janet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope you continue to have wonderful experiences as you continue your journey.

  • Rachael_b_079318
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
7.7

We stayed here for 2 nights but didn't spend much time in the hostel. It was good value for money and only a short walk from bars, restaurants and shops. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I would stay here again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sonejazrc5029
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Mar 2018
10.0

Wonderful staff! Very friendly. Annie is the best! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sineadcollins17880
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2018
8.3

We booked Asylum as it was one of the cheapest options in Cairns but with good reviews. The staff were exceptional. Lady at reception was lovely and always made an effort to chat to you. Place was kept pretty clean and wifi is free. They always made an effort to try and get you involved in activities However expect what you pay for as the dorms are very basic. $50 cash deposit seemed pretty steep and also had to pay $5 to stay after 12 on day of check out as our bus wasn't until 11pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how you feel. We hope your upgrade from the 8-bed to the 4-bed dorm made your stay just that little bit more comfortable. Our Crew takes pride in keeping our Hostel clean and are working constantly to maintain standards in the department. High Security Bond: Through the years, we've had to review this. We found that a with a lower bond, most felt that there wasn't much to lose if the Hostel "Guidelines" weren't adhered to. $5 Day Use Pass; With a 10am check-out time, we offer FREE use of the facilities up to 12noon. $5 fee includes use of the ENTIRE hostel including swimming pool, showers, kitchen, wifi & luggage storage, along with Free Tea & Coffee and the use of our new air conditioned Recreation Room. We are constantly looking at ways to improve. You could help us with this by sending us an email, highlighting areas in which you feel we could do better. Thank you for choosing Asylum Cairns during your time here. We wish you a safe and memorable adventure.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×