Hostelworld.com

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1047 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mattsim19871456
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Nov 2018
10.0

Staff are very friendly and actively work to get everyone involved. Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again when I’m in Cairns.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Sep 2018
8.9

The staff were incredibly lovely and helpful during my stay. The location is great (very walkable to town). The only drawback was the building & facilities were very old and could do with an upgrade - although everything was very clean. The hot water took a while to come through as well, but overall a nice stay & I would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking time to review and rate our hostel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the bulldings ARE dated but though the years, we have upgraded many aspects of the property. What is Terracotta concrete in Hammock Central used to be dirt and where the new airconditioned Recreation area is used to be open air which could get very uncomfortable during the humid Summers here. Thank you for bringing up the issue of the hot water system, We would have rectified it immediately if this was brought up to us. We are scheduling a plumber to investigate the matter at some stage. We wish you a safe and happy adventure.

  • georgelepp4069
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th Jul 2018
10.0

Lovely welcoming vibe with great staff! All you can eat BBQs and plenty of information available for all local activities, tours, adventures and night life. Lovely outdoor hammock area to chill out and meet new people as well as a cosy tv room with computers, bean bags and free tea and coffee! Initially booked for 2 nights but two weeks later I still find myself here! Best hostel in cairns without a doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your high rating & positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Guests like yourself make our job ever more satisfying. If you can think of anything that we can do to further improve, we'd love to hear it. We wish you all the very best for your future endeavours.

27th Jul 2018
8.6

Overall a lovely place to stay. You will definitely feel safe & at home here. The staff are welcoming & the people are cool. Definitely not a party hostel & wouldn't recommend if you're looking to party. The kitchen closes at 9 & they lock you completely out which was a bother. There is a bit of an ant problem as well so you absolutely can not keep food in your room either. Ample space in the kitchen for your food and cutlery is free. Lots of space to relax! Very peaceful ambiance

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and rating. We have tried different formats with regards to Kitchen hours and found that closing at 9pm made it an acceptable compromise for both Crew & Guests. With regards to ants; this is the Tropics and it can be expected.This is why our Hostel Guidelines stress that Eating & Drinking in the rooms is prohibited. Though you are of the opinion that Asylum is not a "party hostel", we do organise Hostel social nights; namely Monday all-you can eat BBQ or Sausage Sizzle which progresses to an outing to a local club or two. Then there is the Wet & Wild Wednesday -Pub Crawl which involves an appetite for all-you-can-eat Pizza & your skill at Beer Pong. We look forward to looking after you again the next time you pass this way. We wish you all the very best in everything.

24th Jun 2018
8.0

Good social vibe and cleanest hostel bedsheets I've ever had. Free shuttle from airport appreciated (but keep in mind it's not free from the hostel TO the airport). However, the $50 security deposit is ridiculous, and it's annoying it can only be paid in cash. The hostel was a little dingy and the room wasn't very clean, but wasn't too disgusting, definitely survivable. The shower doors were too short so tall people walking by could see into the shower while you were in it. Okay stay overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to give your views of our Hostel. $50 SECURITY DEPOSIT:- In the past, when the Security Deposit was $15, then $20, we found that it didn't stop certain guests from behaving badly, being disrespectful and sometimes disrupting the peace of the hostel. The current amount stipulated for the Deposit has everything to do with the "social vibe" you experienced during your stay. DINGY: Defination: Gloomy & Drab". All our rooms have windows. Your room,however, is one of the few rooms with windows on two of its 4 walls. Perhaps it would have helped if the curtains were drawn during the day. ROOM WASN'T VERY CLEAN: Mess shouldn't be confused with filth. According to our records, your dorm was cleaned the day before you arrived and , by day 2 of your stay, 4 of the 5 beds were occupied. It is not right to expect Management to control tidiness of your room-mates. SHOWER DOORS:- We have taken your comment into account and are working with our Maintenance personnel towards a solution. Thank you for pointing this out. We wouldn't have known it was an issue if you didn't. We wish you a safe and memorable adventure ahead

13th Jun 2018
9.7

This place was AWESOME! The people there were great and the atmosphere was really friendly. We originally booked for 4 nights, and then extended the stay another night. The facilities aren’t very modern, but it’s really homey, and the fact that you get to bring your own booze is a game changer. There are a lot of people here that have stayed for a long period of time, which means that there’s already a community there that you can join for even a short period of time. 10/10 would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review. Please be aware that you were able to contribute a positive outlook by being a member of that community which improved it for the next guest of the hostel. We wish you well on your continuing journey.

  • tpryce9007
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
9.1

A really friendly welcoming atmosphere with very accommodating staff that will go above & beyond to help any traveller staying with them. Rooms could maybe be modernised a little with better lighting & more switches for every bed but overall value for money. Highly recommended, I felt at home here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are in the process of modernising the hostel but the process is slow to keep costs manageable which results in us being able to offer affordable accommodation to our guests. Some rooms already have personalised USB points to enable phone and power pack recharging. We wish you well in your continuing travels.

25th May 2018
8.9

Great atmosphere. The people staying there were really chill and fun. Great vibes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please remember that good guests such as yourself contribute to the good vibes of the hostel. We wish you well in your continuing travels

  • nathalieduran93
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
9.4

Staff is helpful and friendly, the place us clean and cozy... Feels like a home..the best hostel I've been to, especially for the price... Really recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review. We wish you safe travels on your continuing journey.

×