Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Asylum Cairns

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 978 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 978 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2018
8.3

Did not disappoint! I stayed in a private room so not much to say about anything else. It was comfortable, had everything I needed (I was barely in the room though except to sleep) Airconditioning, fan, table - not much else needed when you're going for a hostel-stay anyway. There is music playing through the day and the common area has a lovely, relaxing feels to it. Loved chatting with everyone there especially Les. Really helpful with the booking or tours or any information. Would go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. It appears that everyone is enjoying the new common room as many seek refuge in the airconditioned area from the hot sun outside. It was good chatting to you too. You are most welcome to visit Asylum Cairns in the future if you happen to visit Cairns again.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2018
9.1

Best hostel I’ve been to in Australia! Friendliest people and good culture that makes you feel like you’re part of a family. Didn’t want to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Asylum Cairns. We would be only too glad to welcome you back when decide to visit us again.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jan 2018
9.4

Really awesome hostel, felt like home straight away. Clean kitchen and bathroom areas. Quite in the evening near the rooms if you need to sleep before an early tour but also social area in the front was very welcoming. Having wifi in the rooms could be a good addition for some but I didn’t need it. Will definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We certainly had some laughs. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As we continue our efforts to improve the premises, the social area at the front has been improved to be even more welcoming. You are most welcome to visit us when you are in Cairns again. Best wishes for the remainder of your travels.

13th Jan 2018
8.0

I had a pleasant stay here! Great staff who are quite helpful and friendly, make you feel at home— Annie and Leslie are great. Large property with a pool and cool gathering/social areas. Place is a little run down, but reasonable considering what you pay. It’s a bit out of town, maybe 10-15 min walk from town. Rooms have aircon, which is a plus. Only 2 showers and one toilet on the bottom floor of the building, the rest are upstairs (I assume) or outside across the lawn. I’d come back though :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • amie947828
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Dec 2017
10.0

Best hostel we’ve stayed in on the whole of the east coast. Initially Stayed for a few night but extended our stay for Christmas time and it was so good. Great hostel for if you want to party or just chill as they have organised cheap nights out and a quite zone for it u want a good sleep. The bbq is good for $3, the kitchen is clean and good fridge for food storage. Annie the owner was amazing and so helpful and literally helps you out with anything. Already planning to come back next year.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Its was an absolute pleasure and honour to have you stay with us. You both were part of a wonderful group of people that made Christmas Dinner special for everyone so far away from home & family. We look forward to your return. In the meantime, keep safe and enjoy each other while you discover more adventures out there. Anne Lee-de Costa Owner Manager

26th Nov 2017
9.7

Wasn't sure what to expect as I had been stung by cheap accommodation in Australia, before. Great place, friendly, relaxed and really helps you to settle in to the city. Excellent location, great social events and if you don't want noise, there is a quiet area. Large kitchen, hot showers, swimming pool, tour advice, comfortable and clean rooms. Even the cheapest room has air con. And I loved watching the flying foxes every sunset. Sad to leave, happy to have discovered the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your overwhelmingly positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to looking after you once again should your travels bring you our way. If you can think of anything that we could do to improve our Hostel, please send us an email. We are always happy to receive suggestions from our guest. We wish you a very safe & happy adventure. Anne Lee-de Costa Owner-manager

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Nov 2017
10.0

This place you shouldn’t miss if you plan to stay in Cairns. All staff is so nice and friendly! Room and all around is so clean and good to stay. WiFi is perfect! ถ้าใครจะมาแครนส์แล้วหาที่พัก ขอแนะนำที่นี่ พนักงานเป็นกันเอง ถ้ามีปัญหาอะไร คุยกับพนักงานได้เลย บรรยากาศเงียบสงบ ไม่ไกลจากใจกลางเมือง และไวไฟเร็วมาก

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

ขอขอบคุณ Thank you for your kind review. We trust you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Asylum after you have completed your farm work.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Oct 2017
8.3

Great atmosphere, friendly staff! Would definitely stay here again! FYI If you do plan on hanging around after checking out you have topay $5 for the day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just as a positive review is more than welcomed, we would also like to hear of ways we can make our Hostel better. Standard procedures in most hostels practice the 10am Check-out time. This allows the cleaning crew to get the room ready for the next guest. However, we do offer anyone requiring more time to get organised, up to 12noon after vacating their room, at no extra charge. $5 Day-use pass only applies if you still require to use the facilities after mid-day, and is valid up to midnight of the day you check-out. I hope this clarifies your doubts if there are any. We do wish you both safe and happy travels and we hope that you will choose to stay at Asylum again should your travels bring you this way. Warm Regards Anne Lee-de Costa Owner-Manager

23rd Oct 2017
6.0

Pro: nice, super cheap BBQ & other fun activities, easy to walk around town, gets quiet at reasonable hours. Con: LOTS of rules (kitchen closes at 8, pay a fee per guest, pay to store bags after 12pm, have to make/unmake your own bed). Stayed in 2 different rooms, lockers didn't work in either of them. Roaches etc. in the poorly-stocked kitchen It's one of the cheapest places to stay in Cairns, and there's a reason for it. Not a terrible stay, but nothing great about it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2017
6.9

I didn't like it here but it was cheap. Wouldn't recommend for people staying short term - a lot of the gas hobs don't work, very limited fridge space, lots of long termers who take up the fridge space and are very clicky, mugs and bowls are located in reception but as it's locked overnight until 9am you can't get stuff for breakfast. This frustrated a lot of guests in the hostel , kitchen closes at 8.30pm! + Staff very friendly, rooms decent size, BYO

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honesty. *Breakfast crockery: Other guest have brought the lack of crockery & cutlery for breakfast to our attention. We have now rectified this. However, thank you again for your feedback. *Space in Fridges: These are cleaned out daily with unlablled items removed and placed in a holding fridge to be claimed. We cannot control how much each guest puts in the fridges so i am afraid that is out of our control *Gas Hobs - during your stay, there was only ONE that was not operational. The others were clogged and therefore took a while to ignite. We have rectified this issue. *Social Interaction - This too is out of our control. Some people just feel the need to choose who they want to hang out with or not We need to know that there is a problem in order to fix it and leaving it until you have left the hostel means that it takes a longer time to address any problems. We hope the rest of your travel will be less traumatic and that you remain safe. anne Lee-de Costa owner-manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×