Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 8415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 8415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2018
4.6

We had a very bad experience with Avalon House in general and particularly with one staff member who told us his name is Francesco: On the 9th of April 2018, we booked one room for 2 occupants for 3 nights: 10-13th of April. We arrived on the 10th: rooms were about 40% smaller than same titled rooms at other hostels in Dublin. We could cope with that. But then the WiFi has interruptions and since we are programmers: we could not stay even for 1 night. Avalon House did not want to reimburse us.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dasakashaditya3151
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2018
3.7

Staff were not polite and hostel seemed in general to be unorganised

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2018
6.9

There were no lockers in the large dorms which was a huge inconvenience. Front desk staff were helpful, but there was very little communication between staff members so issues that took longer than a shift change to resolve, like lost clothes or group arrangements, were difficult. Overall, the facilities were nice and I felt at ease in the hostel which was the most important thing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2018
5.4

They only allow you to stay for 28days which is not good for people who visit Dublin every weekend ,the company I for in Dublin has employees all over the EU and this is not helping so for people who wants to stay there business or pleasure do not its no good and the over sized management is rude

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th Mar 2018
4.9

If the hostel staff could charge you to breathe, believe me they would. Absolutely the WORST “value for money” hostel I’ve ever stayed in and I’ve been to 30+ hostels throughout Europe. The facilities desperately need to be updated from the 1970’s, the room and halls reek, the rooms are extremely tiny, not enough outlets, no hot water, horrible WiFi connection. I couldn’t wait to leave.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2018
7.1

Pros: Location - Able to walk to the Irish Whiskey Museum, Guinness Storehouse, and lots of restaurants easily. Storage - Able to store your luggage before check-in but it’s 2 Euros to rent the locker (large and easily fit 2 large backpacking backpacks). Cons: Noise - Rooms are in large hallways that aren’t divided so you’ll hear shrieking at all hours of the night. You will not get a good night’s sleep. Rooms - 4 bedroom was the size of a broom closet. No secure item storage in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2018
9.7

Great location.Everything on your doorstep. Hostel v clean. Staff v friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend it highly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • halle_krieger6864
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2018
6.0

Wasn't impressed. Hostel had a consistently distasteful smell--BO and something else--and my room smelled bad too. Showers were bad--no warm water during one of the showers I had, and the water stops every 5 sec--you have to constantly press a button to get water flow. Not much atmosphere, people weren't very friendly. Staff wasn't especially helpful either. Not a good price for the experience. The great location is the best thing about this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Mar 2018
9.1

Very nice staff, Nice breakfast, Excellent location Nice comfortable dorms and excellent kitchen

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alice_litchfield2962
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2018
10.0

Really cool setup Breakfast was great Lots of other young people around

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×