Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 8802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 8802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Sep 2018
7.1

Great location and the staff were great! However, the beds are literally like sleeping on the floor. There are a lot of stairs!!! The elevator went out when we were there and it was awful having to take my bag up and down. If you back light... this isn’t a problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Sep 2018
4.6

Very dirty place, typical big hostel in a big city. The floor in the room was smeary when walked on, kind of like the public toilets at the train station. As usual its open for anyone to stay there. Should advertise windowless rooms. Reccomend top bunk in dublin always, keep bags off the floor too. Bed was comfy enough. Old boogies on the wall. 57.50 euro on a saturday is pure criminal!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2018
9.4

Great location. Close to all the cool spots in Dublin City Center. Noise level was non-existent when in my bedroom (I am older) which was great. Needed a place so that I could easily get to the Dublin Airport. Very close to 747 Airlink bus stop that gets you right. Chose a single bed room. Just fine. Don't expect a great shower, but for the money it is just great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • florinegeenens1032
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2018
10.0

Juste à bit noisy du ring night. And the Green light in thé bedroom make sleeping difficult :-/ Awesome people at thé réception and very helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
9.4

Front desk staff were really friendly. Had a private room and it was really clean. Felt safe and it was really a good location for what i came to do. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
10.0

The staff was marvelous - very helpful ,answering questions as well as giving assistance. The kitchen had very good facilities for ease in meal prep. . And of course the location fit my plans for seeing more of the inner Dublin. I give thanks to all the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ajbernstein101583
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
4.9

On arrival, the hostel was tacky but the staff were nice. Walking down the hall to the room seemed like a jail. It was brightly colored but with weird pictures of monkeys on the wall which was weird and freaky. I was there with friends and some of us were put in the same room with a man who was in his 30s. The room wreaked of body odor and there was food all over the place. It was disgusting. This was my first experience in a hostel and was not a pleasurable one. I dreaded coming back at night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • oliviaweber447929
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
4.0

Staying at Avalon was not a pleasant experience. Despite the good reviews, the hostel was gross and the hallways felt like a mental institution. Our roommate wreaked of body odor and kept smelly food in the room which attracted bugs. The staff was very nice but overall I would not recommend unless you go in with low expectations. The top bunk did not have a side rail which felt very dangerous. While located about 12 minutes from Temple Bar area, the hostel itself it not in a safe part of Dublin.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • janetburigo
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2018
7.4

Location and social events were great. Rooms were too small for 4 people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2018
9.4

The room and bed were clean. The bathroom was not cleaned for several days. I had to ask the cleaning lady to clean the bathroom. I would expect the bathroom to be cleaned every day just like all the other hostels i stayed in. Other than that, my experience was great. It is centrally located. Free breakfast was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×