Hostelworld.com

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 8948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 8948 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jenrain888957
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2018
8.3

I liked Avalon house for the interesting and helpful people and their location in Dublin close to the Natural History museum and lots of shops. It wasnt the cleanest place but it wasnt too bad either. The vibe was good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Nov 2018
7.4

Decent hostel, there aren’t many great ones in Dublin... everything is pretty stock standard, nothing special.. vibe is pretty dead.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cathalmcgloin3205
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
6.0

was what i expected

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • bruntonchloe5096
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2018
6.3

first stay at a hostel and i do not think i will ever stay again. the whole place smelled and people in rooms were not friendly, making the atmosphere kind of awkward. in the middle of the night one night we had an issue where another hostel stayed came in and damaged our personal belongings, great walkable location, but will not be back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • allen_deanna8753
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2018
9.7

I enjoyed my stay, the location is prime. 10 minutes walk to any awesome pub or food place in town. The staff was super helpful as well, do the tour they offer to the cliffs, so worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
9.7

Comfortable bed and good bedding. Friendly, helpful staff. Good continental breakfast and friendly atmosphere. If (like me) you like marmalade on your toast you can get some in the Tesco up the street - other spreads are well supplied ... jam, honey, chocolate spread. Would be 10/10 if we'd been able to use wifi in our fourth floor bedroom. It said 'connected' but would not connect to any sites we tried. It worked OK downstairs in the kitchen/dining room, however. Overall great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • fmclough9028
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Nov 2018
9.7

Only complaint and I can’t blame the hostel staff for this - don’t store food in the shared kitchen as it gets eaten even if you have your name on it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • weaverskylar9228
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2018
8.9

Nice hostel and staff, but no social atmosphere. They would benefit from having organized activities like an occasional group meal or something like that. The common room is where I would’ve expected to meet people but it’s kind of hidden and quiet. Great hostel if your with a group, but not much to offer for the solo traveler aside from a bed and breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2018
4.0

This hostel has a very weird vibe. You never feel really safe. Staff is not friendly. Bread and butter for breakfast when you're charging 140 euro per night is not a good idea. There's zero atmosphere, arriving there is almost like arriving at a prison. It's very expensive for what it offers. You have to keep pressing the shower button cause it stops running after 30 seconds. The elevator is eerily slow, it takes 3 seconds to open the door after arriving at a floor. Location is great.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2018
7.4

Didn't spend too much time at the hostel so can't make a comment on facilities or atmosphere. Had a single room booked which was tiny but it did the job. Price was way better than in the other Dublin hostels. Overall not bad stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
×