Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avalon House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 8624 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 8624 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2018
8.0

Really good apart from having to press the shower button every ten seconds! And not getting to choose “Scottish”on your drop down list! I’m not English!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • fabian4631
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2018
8.3

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offers some variation, but the breakfast room is often very crowded. The facilities are generally quite clean and the staff takes good care of them. The room was acceptable, but not much more than that. It was dusty, there was no place to sit and very little room for luggage. There was no furniture except the beds (which were quite good) and a small shelf. But there was a washbasin. There were only two power outlets in our four bed room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2018
10.0

A very nice place in the City Centre too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jul 2018
6.6

Staff were out the front of the hostel at all hours of the night being loud talking. Hostel was good. A lot of families.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • fbrendel152401
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jul 2018
7.7

Good hostel, but a bit too crowded and the room I got (only one available) was a bit expensive (my fault tho, for booking the week before)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2018
10.0

Very nice hostel ,great location, great value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • slsenneff9143
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
10.0

Very clean, staff was very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2018
7.4

More and varied common rooms would have lead to meeting more folks. The place is vast, folks seemed to go directly to their rooms or directly out the door. Loads of info on local activities, the staff was very helpful in suggesting alternatives to the expensive ones. Comfortable beds, I could sit up straight, with lockable drawers underneath, big enough for both my bags, very convenient. Quiet location a short walk from shopping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rogueteacher5642
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2018
8.0

Avalon House is in a great location! It's just south of the city center, so I definitely recommend it. Facilities were fairly clean. Room was extremely small (just enough room to stand and turn around). Didn't sleep well because of noise from other very loud guests, but I guess sometimes that is just what you expect from a hostel on a Saturday night (although I have stayed at others that were quieter). Overall positive. I watched the World Cup match with some friendly people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lmillar93758
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2018
7.4

We stayed here for 2 nights and one of the nights the wifi did not work. Wifi is iffy for iPhones apparently. Not too loud as it’s off the Main Street but close enough to everything you need.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×