Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Avenue Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 4101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 4101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Oct 2018
10.0

Clean. Comfortable. Friendly. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sidbourne1633
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2018
8.9

Basic, busy, lots of activity, great location, good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • liamdwyatt3148
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
12th Oct 2018
9.1

Excellently located hostel, perfect for taking public transport anywhere in Budapest. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and modern, and it was easy to meet other travelers in the common area. Only downside was the lockers in the room were quite small and only fit with small padlocks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nddambrosio754
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2018
9.4

This was my first true hostel experience and I was not let down. The location of Avenue Hostel was amazing as well as the atmosphere of the hostel in general. The facilities are nice and the staff was always helpful. I really enjoyed and appreciated the free breakfast and free dinner (Monday, Thursday,& Saturday nights) – there were always people hanging out in the common areas which made it easy to meet people. Avenue also had great resources for things to do around Budapest. Had a great time:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • chelseajeansanders515
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2018
9.7

Really really enjoyed staying in this hostel. It has a great atmosphere and gives you plenty of opportunity to engage with other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Oct 2018
9.7

Loved it. Dorm rooms are private your own bed has segregated walls so it’s easy to get a wicked night sleep if you’re exhausted. Showers and toilet in the room are great no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Oct 2018
3.7

I am so disappointed and disgusted by my stay at this hostel. My roomates and I were covered in bedbug-bites from head to toe. When we told the staff about it, they didn't give a shit about it. They just waved it off as if it didn't matter. I don't think this place should be allowed to run with this kind of problem. It doesnt seem like they'll do anything about it. Everything else was okay. I mean the free breakfast was alright, nothing special.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • atatangent7208
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Oct 2018
4.0

The bathrooms were smelly and off putting. The bed system is creaky. In a 4 bed dorm, all 4 beds are attached to each other and if anyone on any of the beds even rolls to their side, the whole structure creaks. I checked in at 10pm, and woke up to find my slipper outside the window! They don’t have electronic lockers and don’t charge cards in EUR either. Staff aren’t welcoming, vibe isn’t nice. Plus side - curtains around Bed provide privacy. Rooms are secure with a key. Free breakfast.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Oct 2018
7.4

Decent place depending which room you get and bed. Many problems : 1. Assigned a bunk bed that was also assigned to another person. 2. Then assigned to a portable bed which mattress did not fit and no access to electrical power connection 3. Then re-assigned to a room where ZERO lockers that could be locked 4. NO water for morning showers as staff was not trained in identifying damaged water heater. Lady could only change temperature dial- no train 5. Internet not working in room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • keepon5654
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2018
9.7

The staff is super friendly, the prize is cheap, the food delicious, the bed comfortable and I really value the privacy you get with the bedboxes and the curtain. Also the location is perfect you are actually directly in the center. I can totally recpmmend a stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×