Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Back Home Backpackers

22 May 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 656 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • madiphem
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2018
8.9

Amazing staff, extremely helpful and welcoming. The owner and staffs are quick with recommendations and tips. Quiet and relaxed in the day but picked up and had an “unofficial pub-crawl” at night. Great beds, simple but clean bathrooms. 5 minute walk from Khaoasan road. Only downside would be AC in the dorms is only on at night 7pm till 10 am but they have fans 24-7 and it helps circulate the ac at night for a perfect amount of AC at night. Would stay again! Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brilago
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2018
9.7

Matt the owner is extremely friendly and helpful! All of the staff were great and made an effort to talk to people and create a comfortable atmosphere where you could party a bit or just hang out and meet new people. Loved the board games/guitars in the common areas, and the beds are very comfy!! Will probably return to this hostel if I find myself back in Bangkok at some point.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th May 2018
10.0

From the many hostels I stayed already in Bangkok is this really the best one. No complains at all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gemmafrance
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2018
9.4

STAY HERE IF YOURE SOLO! I met so many lovely people and everyone sits in the common area before going out or plays cards and stuff. The owner is so friendly and accommodating. I walked into back home backpackers and was welcomed with open arms.im not sure I'll be able to find another hostel like this on my trip, I loved my stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2018
7.1

It's a decent hostel to stay at. Cleanliness needs to be upped a notch (someone thought it was a good idea to shave, and the sink was littered with hairs for days). One day of our stay the AC broke down, and when this was brought to the attention to the staff that night they initially said it wasn't broken. Next day it was fixed, but all the guests in the dorm didn't get any sleep that night, which kinda sucked. The atmosphere is amazing though; if you wanna meet people, this is the place to be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2018
9.4

If your planning a trip to Bangkok I highly recommend that you stay at Back Home Backpackers! The staff is awesome and really helpful, the location is great and the vibe is like no other. Its clean, the beds are really comfortable and soft, theres many great places to eat within about a 30 second walk. All around a great experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Epic review, Thanks!!! We can thank you enough from Back Home Backpackers!!! Awww shucks, thanks for "vibe is like no other" comment, its really why we do this. We put much heart into our place and it really is you guys that work with that and create a wonderful community of travelers. Hope to see you on your return!

  • Martynbiggboii1234219
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2018
9.7

Bunch of legends super friendly and helpful great location to chill out or go party on khao san. Best hostel ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karinaalexiscalderon551
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2018
9.7

This place captured the hearts of my boyfriend and I. We stayed here on two separate occasions and truly felt “back home.” The staff is so welcoming and engaging and vibe goes along just with it. We met some really cool people and Matt helped us plan a lot of the next part of our trip because he knows so much about asia. Would definitely recommend if you’re looking for a place to relax and hangout in an absolutely awesome location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shaunbody1574
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Apr 2018
7.4

Staff were really helpful and good location in Bangkok. 10 bed dorm is a small, little room to put your bag on the floor. A/C and Wifi barely worked in the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for you review, i understand sometimes it can get a bit squishy, but we chose to have larger and thicker mattresses, with solid bunks so they don't rock when you are moving. As for A/C and Wifi we always strive to have both these at their best, Sometimes it can get hard to get the perfect temperature for a group of people, but we try to keep the A/C at around 22 Degrees.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
24th Apr 2018
8.3

Great location and atmosphere. Only downsides were no curtains on the larger windows in the room, and not really enough washrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×