Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2017
9.4

Quite possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in!! Extremely friendly and open vibe, nice and clean facilities, and super helpful staff. Great place for a home base in Budapest!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2017
8.6

Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2017
9.7

I would absolutely recommend staying at Shantee Hostel. It was very quiet and peaceful. The common areas made for nice places to chat with fellow travelers. All of the Buddhist-themed decor was fun - I could practically feel my yogic worth go up a two notches for staying there. There are also a sweet dog and a photogenic cat in residence. The place is on a quiet street an easy tram ride or about a 25 minute walk from Buda's most touristy area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Oct 2017
10.0

Wonderful! Really enjoyed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Sep 2017
10.0

The nicest hostel I ever stayed in! Will definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Sep 2017
10.0

I loved Shantee House! It is so beautifully decorated and definitely one of a kind. It has a great ambience and vibe which allows people to mingle and get to know one another. The staff were all amazing, and went above and beyond to make sure we were all happy. It was so hard to leave and the dog visitor and feline resident were an added and cuddly bonus. And the hostel is kept so clean, it's honestly amazing. Would 100% stay again, and will happily recommend as a place to stay in Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2017
10.0

Simply put, this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It is beautiful. It looks, feels and even SMELLS great, and the staff are lovely. It's the perfect balance between tranquil and sociable. Highly, highly recommended, and well worth the ~20 minute tram from the city centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2017
10.0

Shantee House is the perfect hostel. It has a great mix of interesting spaces to sleep from hammocks and the yurt to plush private rooms. There's a mix of short-term and longer-term guests which makes for a great atmosphere with people who have some experience in the city happy to offer some advice and guidance. The staff are lovely friendly people and you can tell they've worked hard to make this hostel such a wonderful place to be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
9.7

Had such a wonderful time at Shantee House, staying in the yurt was magical and some of the best nights sleep I've had. It was the perfect way to start and end the days exploring beautiful Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
6th Sep 2017
9.4

Absolutely loved this place. Staff is very nice and helpful. Very easy to meet people. The garden is great. Very different to any other place. Only downside is that you need a 10min tram to get to Pest. (Can walk 30min to Buda castle or take tram). Hostel is in residential area so have to go inside after 9pm so the neighbours and guests who sleep in tents can sleep. Nice haven to come back to after busy day in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×