Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • davek04047592
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2018
9.7

Friendly and knowledgable staff, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere, cheap. It’s a little far from town but a ride on the trams is $1 or less, and walking to the Danube only takes ~20 minutes. Overall a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • matiasjaarl2353
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
9.7

Perfect from every point of view but location. However, you can still walk to the city center (20-30 minutes) and is quite near to a bus station so it can even be a good thing, loved the hostel, totally recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2018
2.6

Everything is covered in cat and dog hair. Terrible tent in a garden which is dirty. 2 private beds means a double air mattress. Staff latheragic and dim. Left for an hour waiting to check in. Laundry not washed with soap. Secure bike storage is a bike rack at the front of the property unsecured. Worst hostel I’ve ever stayed in anywhere!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ArcherMay
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
9.7

Amazing place. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Very accommodating, friendly, and in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jul 2018
10.0

Lovely hostel, great atmosphere too, super chill. The staff were kind and helpful. Great place to meet and talk to other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nathan_elephant6794
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jun 2018
7.1

Decent hostel, just bad location and not very social

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jun 2018
9.4

Only stayed here one night for a break from the party hostels and as it was near to the station, but wish I could have stayed the whole week. It's a hidden gem and a little hippy haven. Such a gorgeous atmosphere and so pretty and relaxing. Met some lovely people and although it's a little far from the centre, it'll be my first choice when I'm back in Budapest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jannamelissa7896
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
21st Jun 2018
9.4

Best hostel I stayed in on 6 week Europe trip! I loved this place and would for sure go back. Great vibe, everyone staying there was friendly & sociable, felt like living in a house full of friends. Good common areas-tables in kitchen, living room lounge, amazing garden/yard. I loved the separate patios for smoking and nonsmoking. 5 bed room had no bunks but a bit cramped. Beds were comfy and if they put risers under them people could store backpack/luggage under beds which would reduce clutter

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2018
9.1

Beautiful hostel and decorations. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere with a brilliant large TV in social living room. We wished we could stay for longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brendanjpahern7247
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Jun 2018
10.0

Amazing. No parties, super chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×