Hostelworld.com

Backpack Guesthouse / Shantee House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bathmints763
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Sep 2018
7.7

Staff wasn't always the quickest at actually helping people at front desk when they obviously were waiting for someone. Let us keep our bags there after we checked out which was nice. Beautifully decorated room and the beds were really comfortable. Nice little kitchen and I really appreciated the supply of stickums and pens to mark your food with, considerate touch

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danielmonckton3061
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Sep 2018
9.1

Cool little hostel with great decorations and vibe, bit far from the centre but easy to get around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • heavychugs
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2018
6.6

Was a good stay! Ended up booking more 1 more night. But bcus of the guests there alone. Private tent can't close properly, looked dirty, was huge amounts of spiderweb in there. We politely told staff, and they politely cleaned it. There was still spiderweb after the cleaning. Staff does not reinforce the hostel spirit. Long term residents there feel very at home, doesn't mix with dog travelers atmosphere. Common room is small, mostly kitchen is used to socialize in. Location is s**. Love the

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Rhysadams106958
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2018
9.4

Absolutely lovely hostel - staff were friendly and facilities were very well-kept. The value for money was amazing. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay longer! (Also, the hostel has a dog which is pretty damn great).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2018
9.4

This is a great hostel, I only stayed here for 1 night but would happily stay longer, it had a very chilled out atmosphere which is nice if you want to get away from the party’s closer to the centre. It is a little way out from the main city but worth it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2018
9.7

Clean, friendly with spot for park her car on the streets around but beware, they have tents that I rented while I thought it was a (classic) room. Read carefully description.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • talithakate
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Aug 2018
10.0

I miss Shantee house, the people are amazing and the place is in a perfect area! Take me back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Aug 2018
8.3

We didn't get the camping light or the powerport which were included in our tent accomodation. Otherwise very nice stay, staff was friendly and it was a really quiet and calm place. If you're not into partying and just want to rest this is your place! Would come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • michaelreinisch6309
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2018
9.7

It's not in the best location but it's easy and cheap to get there by public transport. It has nice common rooms and has a "namaste" theme to it which is nice. It's clean and the staff is nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2018
8.9

We loved our stay at Shantee House! We were sad to leave and will 100% be returning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×