Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ballhaus Berlin Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 339 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jgmyers9881
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2018
8.6

Overall I would definitely stay at this hostel again. The staff are very helpful, it's clean, and the location is good for walking to historic sites or getting on the u bahn. This isn't a party hostel and it's not very close to any big clubs, but we did enjoy the pub downstairs for hanging out and watching the World Cup.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2018
5.4

The common area always had really strange people, the same ones too. Bad vibes while i was trying to have breakfast. Luckily the kitchen was very nice. The showers are another story. There’s no door for them so you have to get butt naked and hope nobody walks by. Only one urinal and one toilet for an entire floor. Sink water goes for .5 seconds before you have to press it again. The beds are so unstable that if someone moves all 4 bunks shake. Theres a beer garden outside, super noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aidanpoole3274
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2018
7.1

Hostel was fine, bed was comfy, wifi was good, but the showers were stupid, don’t underestimate how annoying it is not being able to control the temperature. Goes from cold to mostly scalding hot and runs for about 12-15 seconds before shutting off. No real common area so not very good for socializing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • scottiebaker214971
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
12th Jun 2018
8.3

A bit expensive but perhaps that's just Berlin. I only stayed one night and was the perfect spot for getting to the airport the next morning. There's a cool pub downstairs I wish I could have checked out. Overall it was clean and looked like a decent place to stay... Also a short train ride to the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • LadySilvermist
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2018
7.4

Inappropriate sexualized decor and a somewhat weird vibe throughout the place. Perfectly adequate place to stay for the night but nothing to rave about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2018
6.6

Good things Clean rooms Clean showers Not uncomfortable beds Beds have a personal light and plug Basic kitchen Bad things Showers are just a button on the wall, could be hot or cold Above a bar No AC Lockers need a thick lock Maybe good or bad Not a social hostel On a budget this was fine, but fine is all you get

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HAISAPOVESTIM572
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2018
9.7

I was impressed by how beautiful the location and building are. As the days passed, my love for the place grew bigger. The staff is super friendly and helpful, especially the italian guy, Genaro. Bathrooms are clean, so is the kitchen area (although some guests always forgot to clean up after themselves). The second floor has a tango hall and the music mixed so well with the decor on the stair case. Overall, It was wonderful! Next time I'm in Berlin, Ill definetly be checking in again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lwollermann9670
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2018
10.0

Ace hostel! Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2018
10.0

I loved my stay at Ballhaus! My friend and I stayed in the double private room and it felt like a pretty hotel room. The beds were comfy, the bathroom was great, and everything was nice and clean. It's in such a great location that we could walk anywhere we wanted to go (Reichstag, Fernsehturm, Brandenburger Tor, etc) within 20-30 minutes. We didn't take the U-Bahn, so I'm sure that could get you there faster and the station was within a block. I'd definitely stay here again. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2018
8.0

fine for my two night stay but the main thing I would comment on was that the atmosphere was really bad. I spent my weekend in Berlin alone as this hostel was impossible to socialise in. No one hung out in the common area and it’s all very separate and shut off. Security is good with electronic key cards to open doors but the door in my dorm didn’t automatically shut behind you. It was clean and never had to wait for a shower or to use the bathroom, great wifi connection and can walk into town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×