Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BananaZ Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • guilhermeasp
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Jan 2018
9.1

Talvez a melhor atmosfera que já encontrei em um hostel. A janta grátis é uma delícia e uma excelente ideia para unir o pessoal hospedado. Café da manhã razoável, pode melhorar bastante. Meu amigo queria um mapa da cidade porém o hostel não possuía, também é um ponto a ser melhorado. No geral, vale muito o preço e a experiência, sem contar a ótima localização. Voltaria a ficar hospedado.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2018
10.0

Great hostel and the staff is AMAZING!!! Everyone who works there is so cool and will do anything to make you feel welcome, and the dinners are delicious and a great way to get to know people!! The only problem is the bathroom situation which I heard people complain about before booking but it’s honestly worth waiting for the shower sometimes for how cool the rest of the hostel is!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2018
9.4

Free breakfast/dinner is always amazing. The staff here is probably the friendliest of anywhere I have stayed in South America.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gideonlegrand7752
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2018
8.9

The vibe is awesome, the staff are friendly. Some dont speak english but there is always someone there that can. Wifi didnt work everywhere... But come on, free dinner. The free dinner was an awesome way to bring everyone together. With Happyhour Caipirinha’s following and youre just up the street from Lapa. Every night was a good night! Hygiene isnt the best, but youre not going to find much better in the Lapa area. Just enjoy the people and the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2018
9.4

We had a nice stay at bananaz which was the first stop of our South America trip. Alex who works there was great and made everyone feel welcome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
9.7

This hostel is amazing! When you first turn up it looks a bit run-down in the dorms etc.(stayed in the 12 bed mixed dorm) but don't be put off because it's so much fun here! There is a great family vibe and both the staff and guests are so friendly. Had such a good time there - great food, comfy bed, friendly and welcoming staff, clean and tidy etc. It's very central and right next to the main club part in Lapa if you like going out. Easy access all the major attractions in Rio. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
7.7

Nice hostel, the breakfast and dinners are very good and tasty! The rooms are not so nice but the dinner makes up for it Location ist good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • willcollin6931
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
8.6

This was a great hostel overall. The free dinner is awesome idea and they were all very tasty. The hostel had great staff that were multilingual and had sweet recommendations. The place has an awesome atmosphere, lots of music and a nice vibe. The security could have been improved and the lockers are really small. The 12 bed dorm has 3 tier bunks with no rails. Needs more toilets too, only 4, 3 of which are the only showers. Overall though a really great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tessabarnett
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2017
8.6

Love the free dinners and parties! Not the cleanest, however overall great value for money and would stay again. Note the area is pretty shady, even by day, but worth it if you want to be in the party district.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2017
9.4

I had a warm welcome and I loved spending time there. My plan was to stay 2 nights I stayed almost a week there. I really recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×