Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

BananaZ Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 361 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mollyskov
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Apr 2018
6.9

BZ is located in the Lapa area and is somewhat of a party hostel, but you can have plenty of sleep without being disturbed. Breakfast is included and every evening there is a free dinner with the staff and guests - and it's delicious! Great mood and different food each night. The staff are so friendly! Great advice on trips, things to see and how to get around. There are lockers and the dorms are spacious. However we found several cockroaches - even in the zink in the kitchen :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • franzitietz3242
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2018
7.4

We booked thprivate room. The bed squeezes with every movement and the mattress was so dirty! I never saw a dirty mattress like it was on this bed!! It was disgusting! Also the pillowcases were too small for the pecky pillow. At breakfast there was no bread left so we only had a coffee. Our friend, who had breakfast earlier, reported that she had bread, but nothing to put on. At check-out they asked us to pay the drinks and food from the evening before, which we already payed in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hberry0902828
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2018
9.7

Best hostel in Rio! I have stayed in many to compare to and this was by far the beat with value for money and atmosphere. Both the breakfast and dinner were delicious and you could keep goin up for more! The staff were so friendly and helpful - they will go out of their way to explain what to do and how to do it. Everyone became so close it felt more like a family in the end rather than friends. Was very sad to leave after staying a week here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2018
6.3

The hostel was in a dodgy area but close to the famous steps. The hostel is a little run down. Perhaps the beds need to be replaced. The staff however were friendly and tried to help as much as they could. The idea of free dinner was great and made it easy to meet people. The meals were also very tasty. At times, the hostel was a little too loud in my opinion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2018
9.1

It was one of the best hostels ive seen in all s. America, Tio the owner and all the people working there are so friendly. Its in the heart of lapa just a perfect location. The daily dinner for free was always very good the breakfast as well i go defenitely back. Thank you guys for this goof time there!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nathaliedphilippe9333
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2018
9.7

Everything is great Sweet staff Delicious food (and they serve breakfast AND dinner, never seen this before and they serve an adult portion, not cheap with the plate at all! ) Great caipirinhas! Clean Could use more showers is the only thing but I would recommend to all travelers (except wheelchair travelers or those who can't go up stairs, as there are some steps) and stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Matthew123
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2018
8.9

Awesome party hostel, staff are great. Vibe is awesome. Dinners are a huge bonus. If you want to be central party in Rio, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • robbiejchapman6317
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Mar 2018
4.0

Good: -The beds are fine -Free dinner and breakfast was good -Near the famous steps -Staff were helpful Bad: -Air con turned on at 10pm and until 7am so hard to sleep. -In a dangerous area so felt uncomfortable going out at night - small lockers - couldn't fit my bag in - Very dirty (cockroaches running around -a small atmosphere (not the best) Overall- dangerous area and not good first impressions. Meals were tasty though:)!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • gca5an5093
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2018
10.0

Amazing people and amazing stay! Their nightly dinners are a great way to meet people. Will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • awebado6540
  • Panama, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2018
10.0

Hostel? Nah... more like family, people over here are amazing,gathering together for dinner was always the start of a new friendship, and of a lapa nightlife experience. “El Tío” was always there to cheer things up, and to light up your cigar or give you a few sips of his drinks. What an awesome experience!! From Panama...Rock the hell out of that Hendrix T Shirt Tio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×