Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 6754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 6754 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2018
9.7

Great location could not have gotten more central, staff very friendly and helpful, free breakfast was good, rooms were clean, however the kitchen could have been a little cleaner, personally. I would also give a heads up that the kitchen itself is not as large as it appears in photos meaning it can easily get quite cramped, also, it may have just been in our room (twin private) but the shower pressure is unbelievably strong. Despite this I would definitely reccomend this hostel to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
8th Jan 2018
8.9

Once again a fantastic stay at Barnacles. Great free breakfast, clean facilities, comfy beds, and very helpful staff. Highly recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2018
7.1

Shower wouldn't work. aside from that you get what you pay for. A basic clean hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2018
9.1

We arrived to a warm greeting, helpful recommendations and a room upgrade. Barnacles Temple Bar House proved to be a welcoming and well located place to stay. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a hostel in Dublin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2018
7.4

no interaction with staff except to just give me keys at start and tell me room number. Facilities are good, excellent social room. Location is beat thing about hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Dec 2017
10.0

Great location, was a little bit noisy from the street but of course that’s to be expected on New Year’s Eve. Staff were so helpful in researching and working out which sim I should buy. Security is awesome with a locked door every time you enter the hostel plus your own locked room door. Kitchen was great to meet people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Whitcomban2382
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2017
4.3

The hostel is right next door to Temple Bar, which is fun for going out but not so nice if you plan to sleep before 4:00am. The Bar also gets a keg delivery at 6:00am which is very loud. If you manage to get any sleep with the Bar next door- watch out for the staff waking you up next! I stayed with a friend in two beds of a four bed room. On New Year’s Day staff came into the room at 10:00am, noticed half the room was still sleeping, and continued to strip & change the sheets on the spare beds!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. As we are located in the heart of Temple Bar there is a certain amount of street noise that is out of our control. Our housekeeping staff start at 10.30am - we have to start cleaning beds at this time in order to have the rooms ready for 3pm check in time. If you are returning to Dublin please get in touch and we will make sure to allocate you a quieter room at the rear of the building. We hope you enjoyed Temple Bar and your time in Dublin. Best Regards The Team @ Barnacles

29th Dec 2017
8.3

Security is great, and staff is friendly when you see them. Located in the heart of temple bar, most people staying are out and about taking in the neighborhood so there wasn’t as much interacting with other backpackers and visitors when compared to other hostels I have been in. Clean and quieter than expected, even though you’ll hear the occasional angry drunk out in the streets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2017
9.4

Location is perfect. I liked the cages under the bed to keep your stuff and lock it. I recommend it and I’ll stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • taylorchott7483
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2017
7.7

Good bang for your buck at this place. However, the kitchen could be a little dirty and our room since it was on the bottom floor always smelled slightly musty and the shower broke for the last 24 hours we were there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×