Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Temple Bar House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 6992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 6992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jul 2018
6.6

Window was broken, toilet didn't flush, rooms were way too hot. Staff was nice, location was good. They made breakfast for everyone which was nice. Bathrooms weren't the cleanest. It was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jackiewenzel34425
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2018
7.7

The door to the hostel was only locked at night, not very safe for teenage girls. The toilet in our room didn’t flush constiently had to poor 1-5 liters of water into the toilet for it to flush. We could hear live music from the room, the location was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. As we are located in a busy tourist area we do not feel it is necessary to lock our front door during the day. Guest bedrooms are accessed via a central staircase, this staircase is fitted with key card readers . Only hostel residents have key cards to access bedrooms and common areas. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Dublin and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards The Team @ Barnacles

  • celinechorney1038
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2018
9.7

Very fun place, located in busy district. Can be quite noisy, but earplugs are provided free of charge. Clean facilities and lots of fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ashleefilkins
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
8.9

Temple bar is a great neighborhood, but expensive. There wasn’t much of a social atmosphere here, but i did meet other guests on the bar crawl. Free breakfast was awesome, especially on days when we had early starts to the airport. The hostel was clean, but the bathroom floors were always wet. I did feel safe here though, and would stay again if I were in the neighborhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
9.1

AWESOME hostel. Great staff (even at 3am waiting for a shuttle bus they were up for a laugh!) And good cooking & chilling out facilities. We had food stolen from the fridge and they offered free laundry to help out after not being able to find the culprit (which they looked on security footage to try find them, which was nice) Location was super central which was great but the bar next door is pretty loud so if earplugs don't help much you might struggle. I'd stay again. great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2018
9.1

I recently stayed for two nights, great stay, reasonably clean, great location for the price, friendly staff and super friendly staff. This hostel is in the heart of Temple Bar, I would recommend bringing ear plugs and maybe a sleep mask to help sleep as it will be noisy. I slept great after a few pints of Guinness too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2018
7.7

Really incredible location, right in the middle of a great area. Although it can be a little noisy at night, due to the centrality of the location, it didn’t bother us much during our stay. Staff were nice and helpful, and the airport shuttle service was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • brennagallagher7657
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
6.6

I liked this hostel and the location was great. However, it wasn’t very clean. I stayed In a 10 person room and it was so narrow you could barely get through to your bed and there was no space to put my belongings. The bars in the area play music until at least 2am and we always slept with the windows open because it was so hot, so we it was hard to fall asleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. As we are located in the heart of Temple Bar there is a certain amount of street noise that is out of our control. If you are returning to Dublin please get in touch and we will make sure to allocate you a quieter room at the rear of the building. We hope you enjoyed Temple Bar and your time in Dublin. Best Regards The Team @ Barnacles

  • michele19
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2018
10.0

The employee at the hostel were so nice and helpful when I had questions. I even canceled my other hostel stay to stay longer at this hostel because how amazing the people are. Like any hostel who is in your room can make your stay, I was lucky to have great people. They have under bed lockers and the breakfast has pancakes. Great location for all the bars pubs and food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2018
6.6

Great central location. Makes it hard to sleep but that’s to be expected when you’re in temple bar. We arrived very early staff allowed us to rest in the common area, held our bags which was great. Our room still had someone’s trash in the closet, maybe they rushed to clean so we could get in, but at that point we’d already been there so long I would’ve rathered a clean room. They have towels, we were there for 5 nights and only got new towels on the last night. Never saw housekeeping

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×