Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1748 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1748 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bedwards_103400
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
9.7

Had a really great stay at Base and met really awesome people. Shout out to Zoe at the travel desk who sorted me out with two trips last minute! 10 out of 10 would book this place again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2018
10.0

Super fun atmosphere, awesome location and fabulous staff. Aifric at reception checked me in and told me all about St. Kilda. Imogen sold me a great ocean road trip and invited me to Bingo which was great fun and the Mexican bartender introduced me to Trevi my new fav drink. Would definitely recommend to a friend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • georgie_01
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2018
8.9

Great social hostel, really friendly staff! Only issue with cleanliness is the kitchen/basement area could be a little cleaner. Despite this, would definitely recommend for a first time hostel and place to make friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review! Hope you made some friends for life and we get to see you again in the summer!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2018
10.0

My favourite hostel in the whole of Australia! Isaac and the rest of the staff are amazing! Super friendly and welcoming! The Red Eye Bar is the best place in St Kilda for a night out! Best atmosphere and drinks are such a good price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2018
10.0

Shout out to Chris and staff for always making it a great time. Rooms are clean, WiFi is good and the kitchen is big. It’s a party hostel but as always you can make it as party/chill as you want. The airport bus pick up and drop off is right out front. Very social hostel and great for those looking to meet others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kscarry6990
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2018
8.0

Over all had an amazing time. Staff is phenomenal super helpful and very friendly. They solved every issue that arose and were super kind. Ben was awesome and helped us plan a trip to Sydney and gave suggestions. It’s a super party vibe and fun hostel. The lockers under the bed don’t work well and the carpets weren’t clean but it’s a young backpackers hostel so expected. We ended up switching from an 8 person room to a double and it was very clean had its own shower and toilet and big mirror

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • connormeade4482
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
8.9

Generally enjoyed my stay at Base.. when in the bar The room really smelt of damp, believe it is coming from the poor ventilation in the bathroom Also a long term person in my room was a bit selfish, as everyone gets two lockers (one under the bed, and one standing), yet a long term person in my room had claimed 4 lockers! Think this could easily be sorted out if the beds and lockers were all numbered Great WiFi, worth the extra $12

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2018
10.0

Had the best two weeks in this hostel! Definitely the best hostel I’ve stayed at! So many great people and staff here! Would especially like to thank Simon who helped book our entire trip and made us feel welcome! Would 100% return without a second thought! Brilliant!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2018
9.4

Base is frikkin' amazing for meeting people and partying. Been here for two months now and there's no sign of me leaving. Cheap beds right next to the beach in St Kilda and right next to Acland street, cheap food and something fun happening every night to join in with (if you don't have work the next day :P Simon sorted me right outttt with my travel stuff and the staff are basically my second family now.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for you review! Hopefully you will stay for a further few months to see St Kilda in its busy season, its quite something :)

  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
21st Aug 2018
9.7

Of all the hostels I’ve stayed at in Melbourne, Base St Kilda was definitely the best. Good location, comfy beds, nice barhroom in the dorm, the room’s clean, and the vibes are amazing. There are alwas fun activities going on. Aaand the staff at reception are so friendly, especially Ben, who checked me in and was so welcoming and attentive. Du er den sødeste, Ben! Would definitely recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×