Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1691 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1691 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2018
5.7

Beds are extremely squeaky every time you move and too short to sit up. WiFi costs $4 but doesn’t work, such a rip off. Room smelt pretty bad. Key cards stopped working twice a day. No plug sockets by the beds. Staff were friendly and they have activities on every night. It is a party hostel but unfortunately I was unwell during my stay and couldn’t sleep even on 2nd floor as the music is extremely loud until very early in the morning. They offer free drinks for positive reviews !!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • beggpeng
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
10.0

Great hostel, decent bar and amazing location, proper rate it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2018
10.0

Really good location right near the beach and trams, great bar, comfy/clean rooms, all the staff are so so friendly and helpful (Isaac you’re a dream), loads of good tours/events/nights out. If you’re in Melbourne you have to stay here🌞

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • derekyu4767
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2018
10.0

I’ve stayed here for a week! The receptionist Imogen and Ben were helpful. Both really looking as well. Great atmosphere with people from all around the world. Would stay here again in the future! Not too loud at night and could very well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! We'll make sure that Ben and Imogen both get a pat on the back, happy travels

  • edward_some1600
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
10.0

One of the best party hostel! Friendliest staff! Good place to get smashed and have a good time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the really kind review! Hopefully we see you back here soon!

  • jakescoy9454
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
10.0

Probably the best hostel I’ve ever stayed in. Always so much going on. Staff and fellow backpackers all so friendly. Facilities are great. Would stay again at Base

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You're probably the best guest we've ever had! Make sure you come back in Summer and see melbourne at it's best. Have an awesome time in Aus

  • abbiejmoore29433
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2018
10.0

(B)ase Backpckers, because every good acrostic poem has to start with the word (A)bsolutely amazing (S)aucy as f*** (E)clectic energy (B)allsack - the best person I’ve ever met traveling (A)ustin - the travel king (C)uties. Everywhere. (K)inda the best week of my life (P) is what I got a lot of whilst here (A)lex - gave me the best 30 seconds of my life (C)aressing my soul with it’s goodness (K) sent me to Brunswick (E)veryone is so nice (R)eally wish I could stay (S)ex. Lots

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This. Is. The. Best. Review. We've. Ever. Received. Stoked you had an awesome time and it sounds like you enjoyed every moment. Lots.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2018
10.0

Had a great time at base.. people in the room made the experience and the staff were so helpful! Especially Austin he helped me out a lot when I checked in and came to extending my stay.. Always plenary of activities going on and can’t pick a fault with the rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for your feedback. We do have plenty of activities so that our guests can make the most out of their stay in St Kilda! See you next time you are in Melbourne! Base Reception

  • lucygoddard3047
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2018
5.1

The staff are terrible and only focus on getting everyone drunk rather than providing basic facilities. They are clearly all just guests that work there, they make it an awkward atmosphere as they all know each other and seem hostile and unapproachable and as a solo traveller, I didn’t feel comfortable going to the bar on my own. There is no staff uniform and no one greets you so I couldn’t tell who works there. Awful breakfast and very unclean not good for the price. Only positive is location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, We appreciate the feedback. Sorry you felt that our staff was unnapprochable. We certainly hope you give us another chance and that you enjoy your travels! Base Reception

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2018
8.9

Hostel was great, good atmosphere and very sociable. Staff are fun and very accommodating. Austin is great fun too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We do have a great hostel! Thanks for the feedback and see you next time you are in Melbourne! Base Reception

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×