Hostelworld.com

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1830 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1830 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jodiemcnamara9576
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2018
10.0

Love love love this hostel... Staff are super friendly and accommodating with anything you may need. Such an easy place to meet people 😊 different events every night so there is always something to do .. Boozy Bingo is a must !! Free breakfast daily and a fab dinner deals throughout the week. If you are looking to socialise and have fun definitely choose base st.Kilda .. the location is also ideal !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2018
10.0

This place is legendary! If you are coming to St. Kilda you must stay one night at least! Surely after one night you’ll be here for months! Daisy and Ballsack were incredible people! Extremely kind and very accommodating. I will be back 300% 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amybarhamxx
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Nov 2018
10.0

Staff were so helpful and friendly! The room was a bit small but all occupants were friendly!! The entertainment was fun :) overall would highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2018
10.0

It was so nice, I stayed twice! Has events on. Great f***ing location. You have your own bathroom in your dorm!!! Dont forget about your towel tho!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • irisnowicki6967
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Nov 2018
10.0

This hostel is the best hostel in Melbourne!!!! The staff is amazing, especially from reception. They are so nice and are always trying to help you. The party’s are so crazy and cool!! Especially boozy bingo on Monday, the best day of the week!! If you’re looking for a hostel. This is the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Always good to hear back from our best guests! See ya next time you're in town! Base Reception

  • sietaluichies
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2018
9.1

Base is honestly the best hostel to stay in when you are coming to Melbourne. The hostel is great to meet new people! They organise things every night so you’ll never be bored. It is close to the beach, the city and Chapel st. Make sure you go to boozy bingo on Monday, it is so much fun!! When you go make sure to say hi to Ballsack (aka Isaac), he is an awesome bar manager, bingo b***h and just fun to talk to!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2018
7.1

Didn't clean and change old bed sheets for new guests. It wasn't a problem for me only for the new guests after I arrived.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Nov 2018
8.3

I liked the hostel and would stay there again. Loved the big windows in rooms and had the softest duvet cover I've ever had in a hostel! Kitchen was okay. Common area and bar plus events (especially monday bingo!) were great. The room didn't have a mirror and only a few places to charge your phone. The shower leaked and could have used more cleaning. Reception didn't tell me that there was a free breakfast (pancakes and toast).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Boozy Bingo is THE place to be on Monday evening. Thanks for the review! Base Reception

  • brywharfe
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Oct 2018
6.9

The place was alright, one toilet and bathroom for a room of ten. Lockers that I could just about fit my one backpack in, aircon that only had hot air. There was something going on pretty much every night so was very social, fridge space and dry food space was very small. In all in very basic.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We do have amazing activities every evening. Sorry for the other issues. I do hope we were able to fix it once you've let us know! See you next time you are in St Kilda! Base Reception

  • amandathommas1199
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2018
10.0

I love this hostel!! Everyone who lives and works here are SUPER NICE! The lovely Malin who works in the bar is my favorite - she's always kind and seems to love her job!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so glad you love our hostel as much as we do! Malin is amazing and we are glad you think so too! See you soon.

×