Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • belgiantravelbird3476
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2018
10.0

Base Hostel St Kilda!!! What a hostel to be in!!! I am a solo traveller and at first I was a bit scared to stay in a hostel. It was my first hostel ever so I didn't knew what to aspect. I can say I am not afraid anymore. Base hostel is such an amazing place to meet other people. every night there is something to do. It has a great atmosphere and the staff go above and beyond to make you feel home. A special shout out to chef Jens and Joe ho made me the best meals. And cooked me a delicious roast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • megancridland5869
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2018
10.0

Great hostel nice and close to the beach! Security on the door who are super friendly. Lots of activities happening in the bar every night hosted by the star bartenders Kev, Bobbi and Ballsack! I got a weekly rate in a 8pax dorm which was amazing, i got breakfast too every morning. The receptionist kept the atmosphere buzzing through reception even when they were busy. Thanks sassy Stu, Titty Tanya and Megan (great name by the way ;) ) for looking after me when i crawl through the doors at 3am x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bobiwhitfield
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2018
10.0

Such a great stay! Big shout out to bobby! Not only does she have the same name as me she’s bubbly and friendly and introduced me to everyone when I was travelling on my own. Rooms are clean and it’s the best party hostel I’ve ever been to! I would highly recommend it!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2018
10.0

Great atmosphere, always something going on if you want to party! Cheap food and drinks at the bar and the beds are comfy :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2018
10.0

Very nice hostel with a great atmosphere (if your there to party) although if your wanting to sleep then might be a bit loud! Otherwise completely recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • davemorin614021
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2018
9.7

Great place was and still is pretty fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joshlevi
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2018
10.0

Ballsack got me pregnant and I loved every second of it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sure he did too, don't expect too much of his parenting skills though... Thanks for your review. Base Team

  • Danielstorm260
  • Norway, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2018
9.4

awesome party hostel-clean-nice-kitchen could be abit better, but its fine, recommend strongly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we always appreciate any feedback from our guests! We know the kitchen is quite small for the size of our hostel but hopefully the amazing backpacker menu in the bar makes up for it? Glad you enjoyed your stay and cheers for the recommendation!!

  • lillykens4109
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2018
10.0

Such a great hostel to stay at If you are travelling by yourself. Hostel has a great atmosphere with plenty of activities to offer. Staff are also great and especially Stuart for being so helpful 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Stuart sends his love xxx

  • claraaacaseeey
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2018
6.0

The location is great just 5 mins walk to St Kilda Beach, the rooms were decent size (I had a 6 bed dorm with en-suite), although the downsides to this hostel is cleanliness, the first day the kitchen was full of flies, floor was dirty and all the work tops to prepare your dinner on was filthy, I thought it might be a one off but I stayed here for 3 nights and every day the kitchen was the same it put me off my food so every meal I actually went and prepared/ate my food up in the reception.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review we always appreciate feedback from our guests. We understand that the kitchen facilities are quite small in relation to the size of our hostel but we try our best to keep it clean however with so many guests it can be harder to manage. Hopefully the awesome meals we have on offer in the bar make up for this. Best wishes with the rest of your travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×