Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bastille Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jsfriesen13150
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2018
7.7

No wifi on the third floor and a weird shared key system. But it was cheap and had breakfast so not all bad! I would probably stay somewhere else next time but wasn't unhappy with my stay this go around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mikaelam
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2018
6.9

Good hostel, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • natashacumming5550
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
6.6

Woman at the reception was rude

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • devonroberts2378243
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2018
7.4

This hostel is a good price and a great location. It's located right next to Gare de Lyon and Place de la Bastille which is good for both walking and taking transit. I had a somewhat negative experience here, because my booking was lost so I had to change rooms every night. the Free breakfast is a dry baguette and some coffee so don't plan too heavily on that. some of the facilities felt like they were one step away from breaking. It's a budget place, so I would not expect too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bzacharias
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Aug 2018
4.0

Where do I start. They didn’t give me a key to my room, I had to be let into my room every time I left to go to the bathroom. It was extremely hot. There wasn’t a real locker in the room. They kick you out of the room to clean at 11 when your trying to catch up on sleep after travelling for 2 days. I wouldn’t recommend this hostel to anyone. Staff wasn’t great either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • daylelaytonharvey4845
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2018
3.7

This was a terrible hostel to stay at. The amenities were okay. Breakfast was fine and the rooms were fine. The main problem was the staff. I booked here. Was charged three times. They switched my second night room, and proceeded to make me pay cash for the the second night again. They didn’t have a key to the room so I had to be escorted there and once I was in my room, I couldn’t leave because the door would lock behind me, so I couldn’t use the washroom or shower. - staff were uncaring.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jakobbarner7028
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
2.0

Definitely the worst hostel I've ever been to. Extremely rude staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2018
6.0

Staff ok, room clean, but all ugly and old.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cpippin15459
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jul 2018
6.6

This hostel was decent for the price for a private room with a shower. However, the AC does not properly work and when you are on the 6th floor it’s so hot you can barely breathe. I cancelled my second booking and stayed elsewhere because it was too hot. The sheets were also unwashed. If you stay here I recommend doing so during cooler months and maybe bring your own sheets. The free breakfast was nice and you are close to the metro though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • annadekinder9798
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jul 2018
7.7

I had a nice experience at this hostel, but the elavator was not working when we were there. Staff was very friendly, location was okay. I think the breakfast could be a bit more or just diverse, for example not the same every day. I was a bit dissapointed by the breakfast, but overall nice experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×