Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Big Fish Budapest Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
10.0

This might be the best hostel I've ever stayed at. I think I was fortunate in that the volunteers and guests who were staying there happened to be awesome, but it's also an all-around great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean, staff is friendly, wifi works, location is great, and the shared common area is large enough that everyone can fit and small enough that everyone has to get to know one another. A perfect place for a solo traveler or any groups looking to make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • daveismith8503
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Sep 2018
9.1

Big Fish was a cosy hostel with a fun atmosphere. The staff, particularly Em were great and all the people were very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2018
10.0

I had a fantastic time at the Big Fish. Very clean and comfy and all the staff are amazing (special shout-out to Phil) So friendly and helpful and they make an effort to organise activities so there’s a great social vibe here. Easy to meet other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2018
9.4

The hostel is within walking distance of everything you want to see in Budapest. A short walk from the train station and easily accessible by transit from the bus station. It’s clean and the beds are comfy and there’s a kitchen. The ppl who work here are really nice and will help you plan day trips. There’re only three working bathrooms for the entire hostel, so sometimes there’s a line.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Sep 2018
9.7

Great hostel, great people and great atmosphere. It's next to a veeery busy and noisy road, not nice when you want to sleep. But honestly if in Budapest you better not sleep and just go out with the people you'll meet ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
9th Sep 2018
6.9

Wasn’t great, wasn’t awful. Very loud in the evenings though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2018
10.0

Absolutely awesome place, great atmosphere and I will definatley be returning. Only niggle would be the 3 bathrooms that caused some waiting around but that know because 1 was out of order. Volunteers were all excellent like Zac who took me up to a sunrise and showed me all the places to party, Roberto who got everyone together to cook some amazing food and all the other staff were incredible too! 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2018
9.1

Despite spending most of my stay incredibly ill, I enjoyed staying at the hostel. There's a good mix of people to hang out with but it's also easy to do your own thing if you prefer. Having a good set of herbs and spices in the kitchen is a nice touch. Only suggestion would be to get better pillows - they're a bit small and lumpy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2018
9.1

Cute little hostel with fantastic staff. Loved the shoes off policy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2018
9.7

Location is very good. Hostel is extremely clean. It's nice that you get an entire bathroom with shower to yourself to get ready. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×