Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birmingham Central Backpackers

19 Feb 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Feb 2018
8.3

An ideal place to leave my bags on a short overnight stay in Birmingham!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • RomyVoigtlaender
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Feb 2018
9.1

Beautiful and clean hostel close by the coach station. Rooms and bathrooms are top, people are friendly and wifi is fast. Only the kitchen is a little small but that works in the end. Common area is full of beautiful details and a free coffee and tea station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katewang1888700
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2018
10.0

Staff was superb! Sam in particular was just fantastic. Only downside was that my room smelt pretty bad because of one guy... but I wouldn’t blame the hostel for that. 10/10 would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2018
8.6

Overall the stay was good. It was very close to the coach station and the bed was big and comfy. The room mates were fine too. The main lobby has a good vibe going and they provide free breakfast too with all day coffee/tea as long as you clean up after yourselves. Would recommend for people just needing a place to spend the night..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nigzie30011854
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2018
8.9

The Central Backpackers is a hostel for the people; the staff are friendly and helpful, their efforts is positive but they seem to keep a close eye on new comers. The dormitory rooms are small but clean. Efficient showers and and a reliable number of cubicle showers offered. Kitchen is always kept clean with all the necessary kitchen supplies offered for every person. Great atmosphere with positive people staying throughout the hostel. Negatives; small kitchen and dormitory, lounge is bit cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • johnclare20037602
  • Vietnam, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2018
8.9

Best hostel for solo backpackers Warming atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michellelynn_9
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd Jan 2018
6.9

Very sketchy location, surrounded by empty wear houses and broken down cars. Did not feel safe walking back to the hostel at night alone. The hostel was okay though, very friendly staff and good breakfast. Beds were kind of springy but you get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2018
9.1

I was barely there. I checked in just prior to a gig at a nearby venue, came back afterwards to sleep and left first thing the next day. But the facilities and the cost were ideal for my needs, the staff were helpful and friendly, and I would definitely reuse if I had need to visit Birmingham again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2018
3.1

Staff seemed to compromise of a a lot of 'work awayers' who were all very cliquey. They weren't very friendly and only seemed to care about interacting with the other members of staff. The rest of the people in the hostel compromised of a couple of travellers and then a huge amount of shifty characters who are in no way shape or form backpackers. If you want a place to travel and immerse yourself in the backpacker life style this place definitely isn't for you. The rooms stink. Worst hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2018
9.4

I loved my stay here. The staff were friendly and informative. The hostel was cosy, loved decor of commonn room. Free toast and fruit in the mornings was a great addition so were the free tea and coffee all day! Everything that I needed, thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×