Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birmingham Central Backpackers

24 Oct 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • marie26899766
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Oct 2018
6.6

Basic hostel, bathrooms could do with some more frequent upkeep to keep the floor dry, sociable lounge area, good free breakfast, free parking as the hostel is in a quiet area, easy walk to the center of the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2018
3.4

Very central location, though off of the main road and accessed by streets that didn't feel especially safe, particularly after dark. Staff quite brusque. The bedroom smelled damp and was quite cramped with three sets of bunk beds in it. No lockers inside of the room and only one plug with an extension cable for six people. The window was boarded over. Showers looked as though they hadn't been cleaned since morning (four out of order) and the toilets smelled of urine. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • saltsurveying9152
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2018
8.6

Stayed here for one night before setting off on a charity walk to Watford on the Grand Union canal. It was convenient for the station and the canal plus reasonably priced. We arrived fairly late so did not interact with many people but everyone we met seemed friendly. The free breakfast was nice and the provision of free towels also handy. The bed was fairly comfortable and the rooms, albeit basic, were good. Would recommend to anyone wanting a no frills stay for a good price in Birmingham.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2018
4.3

This place was SHADY!!! The location is in the middle of nowhere with a lot of graffiti. The staff were smoking weed and it was a dingy place. The dorms had no lockers to put valuables which made me uneasy. It's a place for vagrants. The staff were nice but it felt dirty and I didn't like one minute there. STAY AWAY!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2018
6.9

The mattress was quite bad and there are too many beds crammed into the dorm for the size of it. It was frustrating that all the lockers were full so I had no where to safely store my laptop - which the staff seemed fairly indifferent about. Saying all this though, some staff members were helpful and it's incredibly good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2018
6.6

Basic hostel, could do with a deep clean and some investment in facilities. No lockers and not enough showers given the number of beds. Good value and location however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2018
7.1

Nice visit, the room didn't seem to lock / was confusing? Will be better when showers are working. Toilets far from room. Overall a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • liammcelroy6412
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2018
9.7

Fantastic place to stay. Comfy beds, good security, big rooms, and only about 10 minutes walk from the main train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ilaria-colantoni670
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Sep 2018
6.6

My staying at the hostel in Birmingham was fine. the location is ok 20' minutes walking to the city center. The staff was amazing, really welcoming and helpful. the room was very small with no lockers and one of the electric plug did not worked. We needed to rotate to charge phones. The bathroom and the bedroom need to be cleaned more, Breakfast was good with fruits, toast and a wide range of jams.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2018
8.0

Decent cheap place to stay, walking distance from city centre. all amenities were ok, considering the price, basic breakfast, friendly personal. Just a small remark in terms of cleaniness of the showers, but i was there during a weekend so maybe it was due to lack of immediate attention. All in all, cost / benefit is ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×