Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Birmingham Central Backpackers

14 Nov 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 2680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 2680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Nov 2018
5.4

nice enough place but just too many nagging things to make me feel at home. lot of longtime guests which means it's hard to crack in if only in around for a night. overall feel is dated, dirty and smelly no storage lockers in the room, and only about 20 for hire in the main room. separate entrances to rooms via dark dodgy street. bathrooms under renovation but still adequate and decent. some staff was friendly and others not so interested. not much tourist or guide information available.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Nov 2018
8.0

This hostel is good value, mainly because it's so cheap. There were a few issues to note, however- there were no lockers to secure valuables in the room. There were apparently lockers in the common room, but this is literally in another building (i.e. you have to go outside) and not open 24/7. The plug sockets (2 of them for 6 beds) are all by the door, making a huge trip hazard of phone chargers. The mattress I had was so thin I could feel the bed slats underneath

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Oct 2018
7.1

Close to New Street Birmingham train station and various supermarkets, however hostel is located in a dingy alleyway with few lights, so quite uncomfortable if you're returning at night. Couldn't sleep at all as beds and pillows were incredibly uncomfortable, and there was loud club music blaring nearby on Fri/Sat night until morning. No lockers in rooms except pod room, which is misleading from site description. Breakfast, bathrooms and lounge were ok. Helpful staff. Overall ok for 1-2 nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2018
8.3

Fairly centrally located with walking distance to train and bus. However, the back alley location can appear a little scary when you are on your own at night. Rooms and toilets were clean (although my room had quite a sweaty smell initially). Breakfast was fairly decent, consisting of bread and a variety of spreads and fruit. If there had also been any cereals, it would have been perfect. Juices and hot drinks were available throughout the day, which was also nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marie26899766
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Oct 2018
6.6

Basic hostel, bathrooms could do with some more frequent upkeep to keep the floor dry, sociable lounge area, good free breakfast, free parking as the hostel is in a quiet area, easy walk to the center of the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2018
3.4

Very central location, though off of the main road and accessed by streets that didn't feel especially safe, particularly after dark. Staff quite brusque. The bedroom smelled damp and was quite cramped with three sets of bunk beds in it. No lockers inside of the room and only one plug with an extension cable for six people. The window was boarded over. Showers looked as though they hadn't been cleaned since morning (four out of order) and the toilets smelled of urine. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • saltsurveying9152
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2018
8.6

Stayed here for one night before setting off on a charity walk to Watford on the Grand Union canal. It was convenient for the station and the canal plus reasonably priced. We arrived fairly late so did not interact with many people but everyone we met seemed friendly. The free breakfast was nice and the provision of free towels also handy. The bed was fairly comfortable and the rooms, albeit basic, were good. Would recommend to anyone wanting a no frills stay for a good price in Birmingham.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2018
4.3

This place was SHADY!!! The location is in the middle of nowhere with a lot of graffiti. The staff were smoking weed and it was a dingy place. The dorms had no lockers to put valuables which made me uneasy. It's a place for vagrants. The staff were nice but it felt dirty and I didn't like one minute there. STAY AWAY!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2018
6.9

The mattress was quite bad and there are too many beds crammed into the dorm for the size of it. It was frustrating that all the lockers were full so I had no where to safely store my laptop - which the staff seemed fairly indifferent about. Saying all this though, some staff members were helpful and it's incredibly good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2018
6.6

Basic hostel, could do with a deep clean and some investment in facilities. No lockers and not enough showers given the number of beds. Good value and location however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×