Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2073 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Oct 2018
9.1

I would 100% stay here again. Close to places to eat, good facilities, and offered a bunch of activities. Not a party hostel but a bunch of people to go out with. You can hear everything in the hallways.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Oct 2018
9.1

Staff so friendly and helpful! Kitchen well equipped. I have stayed here twice now, however, the first time I was in the the 8 bed dorm and the showers were amazing and the vibe was good! The second time I was in the 12 bed, which wasn’t as nice and the showers weren’t great. Definitely worth to pay extra for a smaller dorm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2018
7.1

Black Sheep hostel is nice, but to me it doesn’t deserve to be on the top of the hostel in Medellin. Yes the staff is friendly and it’s easy to socialize, but the rest was disappointing. No breakfast (they don’t offer any food at the hostel) and for me it’s a big downside, and the location was a bit far from all the interesting attractions. I stayed in one of the private with bathroom - it was ok but very simple - no charm. But overall I had a nice stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2018
10.0

This is the best place we stayed while in Colombia. Everyone was super friendly, I absolutely adored the staff. They went above and beyond. Beds were very comfortable & bathrooms were clean. the shared area was very comfortable and fun. 10 stars I would absolutely go back in a second

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks, we appreciate the comments. a pleasure to have you here. see you around, Kelvin

  • NIVTOLEDO928547
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Sep 2018
6.9

I was one night in the black sheep. I stayed in room 103 which is a mixed 4 bedroom I believe. I booked for two days and left after one. The room didn't much air in it even after opening the window. And even so, construction workers in the hostel were making a lot of noise since early morning. The atmosphere was really dead, not many people who were looking to socialize (it's also not a party hostel or anything). The only good things were the beds, showers and bathrooms. The cost is way to high

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comments. we are happy we have great beds showers and bathrooms. many new ones amongst them. but i guess we also have great staff and security since you gave us a ten rating there. so not too bad really. your room is being enlarged and improved like the rest of the hostel. sorry about the noise. we have never claimed to be a party hostel. thankfully, we just have cheap beer. yes the atmosphere has been quiet at times. especially during the week… but things are on the up, thanks again, Kelvin

23rd Sep 2018
8.9

The internet is good and there are lots of spaces to hang out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bryanpurins9910
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Sep 2018
9.1

Black Sheep Hostel had an amazing atmosphere. So many other travelers stayed here and there are plenty of common spaces to meet people. The rooms do not have ensuite bathrooms but the shared facilities were very clean. Only problem was that they ran out of toilet paper on occasion. Staff was beyond helpful with planning outings, arranging transportation, printing boarding passes, etc. The location is a bit out of the way but an inexpensive taxi or a short 10min walk to the metro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paolomcgurrell2415
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2018
10.0

Great place , can't say enough about the friendly staff and their help with all the various tours. The atmosphere was the perfect mix of social and chilled. I stayed almost 3 weeks and would stay again. Loved Medellin and loved the Black Sheep. Paul, Ireland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2018
9.4

Bit of a walk from the centre of el poblado but very clean with good facilities. We were recommended the van pro Colombia tour by the guy at reception for a day trip to gautape and it was such a good call!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2018
10.0

The staff was extremely helpful and very nice. The hostel in general was really clean and the showers are the best. Quiero decirles a todos que trabajan ahí muchas gracias por todo! I definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×