Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ryanhayes17176
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2018
9.7

What a place! Lots of fun loving people with staff to match. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy themselves but also spend time with people who want to see the city

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sarahcullinan962222
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Aug 2018
9.7

Could not recommend books hostel more! Stayed here for 4 nights over the weekend and had events/activities to join in on everyday so there was never a dull moment here. Rooms and bathrooms were always kept clean and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful going above and beyond to help with anything you need. Breakfast is delicious and satisfying. I had an awesome stay here and would recommend to anyone looking for a fun and action packed stay in Rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Aug 2018
10.0

Great hostel to stay at. Stuff happening most nights and good recommendations for during the day. We had a hike up 2 brothers, rooftop BBQ and lots of beer pong. Staff are all so nice and if I return to Rio can’t wait for books

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • samg4333133
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2018
9.4

Awesome vibes, awesome location, great first stop or last (or middle!), Awesome staff (Felipe, alejandro, alonso, Thiago), always helpful, booking activities (rooftop bbqs, beach days and boat parties) and up for beer pong (and losing to the holy trinity)! Place was always clean and there was always a good atmosphere with people staying, I was sorry to leave! Just watch out with honesty fridge it will sting you in the end if you’re not careful 😩 All the best Sam xxx

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurynsbryant9908
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Aug 2018
10.0

One of the best hostels I’ve been to in my 3 months in South America. The staff is awesome and the vibe is so laid back but fun at the same time. It’s a great place to meet other travelers and experience the best parts of Rio. Will 100% be staying here again when I’m back in Rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th Aug 2018
5.4

I went to so many parties thx to this place.Meanwhile, one staff told me something unbelievably stupid. For my last night, some people including him wanted to play Never ever game which I didn't want to join, and suddenly he told me "You asian people are so over polite and boring" , then kept ignoring me. All the other staff was super adorable, but one rotten apple spoils the barrel. Besides, this hostel had a very disgusting toilet that never flushed so I could have always seen somebody puked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jw003614835
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2018
9.1

The best hostel in the world probably. Staff were unbelievably helpful & great fun always, really got everyone going and there is never a dull moment at Books. Breakfast has toastie making facilities 🤤 and the location is perfect, slap bang in the middle of party/foodie lapa (go to Lilia Restaurante - best restaurant, 3 courses £10 worth about £70 in London no sh*t). The night time fun feels organic and not forced with a super relaxed vibe😎 Made our Rio (3 extensions lol) Jack & Paloma ❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2018
9.1

Good fun party hostel in the center of Rio, very social place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Aug 2018
6.3

Good vibe, not so clean! Lucky to get a hot shower but the staff are grouse and willing to help with absolutely anything you require at any given moment!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • maisiebarnes75530
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2018
8.0

Amazing staff and really lively every night, would recommend if you want to meet people / party - only issue was I had some money stolen from my bag so I really suggest locking your stuff up the whole time you’re there but the staff were really lovely about it and gave me free drinks as an apology. Tiago is the best ever !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×