Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Books Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jul 2018
2.0

Horrible.....no security had items and chargers even my medication stolen from my bag in my room....the stolen medication caused an issue that landed me in hospital! I could have died as I needed my medication to live! If you booked this place, book elsewhere...the management just sucks on a beer saying ‘are you planning to jump off a bridge?!’ Horrible! Reported to Hostel world...😡😠

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2018
10.0

Great hostel, super fun and social (Party hostel). Felipe is a legend and really helpful. Only thing is the bar needs to start using real cups for their drinks rather than plastic single use ones along with plastic straws.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Deal. Next time I will have both!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
24th Jun 2018
10.0

Only place i've given a 10/10 to. Great locations, great showers and good value for Rio. Most importantly staff make you feel like family! Owner even took me around the area and for beers on my first night. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lukasburt
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jun 2018
10.0

Enjoyed the stay, good party hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2018
8.0

Our stay at books was fun, it's a party hostel so not much sleep! Good for a couple of days but not too long. Breakfast was great and served until late, yum caiprihinas in the evening too. Staff were lovelyyyy - esp Thiago and Philippe! The toilets really need sorting out which is the only big problem - we didn't have a working toilet atall on our side of the hostel and it was really gross. Apart from that would reccomend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

New toilets top floor are ready next monday.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jun 2018
9.7

Great place for everybody who wants to have a party. But even if you only want to hang out for a few days, this is the right place. The staff really makes you feel at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2018
9.7

Couldn't have asked for a better start to our trip! Very welcoming and helpful staff, the atmosphere was amazing - the hostel is like one big family. They organised day trips and nights out with good deals. Breakfast was yummy, especially the scrambled eggs. Thanks Felipe and the team, see you in 9 months 😏💃🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jun 2018
10.0

Excellent party hostel!! A great place to meet great people from all over the world. The hostel helps you find some rather unknown parties meaning you get to experience the best of Rio nightlife!! Lapa is a great location to stay, the entire neighbourhood feels very Brazilian. People from the hostel often do touristy things or go to the beach together which is great for solo travellers - plus the hostel itself organises tours. Felipe (the owner) is an excellent dude and always willing to help!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jun 2018
8.9

Great hostel for those that love beer, caipirinhas and nights out. Staff are really cool and love to drink and take you on nights out, with something organised for every night. Great social atmosphere. Rooms are clean but not enough toilets/bathrooms in my opinion. Also seemed to be having a problem with the plumbing whilst we were there as they kept getting blocked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2018
9.4

Top notch 3 nights at Books. Sociable and fun, if you're looking to party this is the place to be. Felipe and Alonso are legends and went out of their way to welcome guests into the family. Breakfast generous. Short 1 bathroom on the top floor at the minute but they're working on it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×