Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brown Sugar Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Oct 2017
8.9

V cool, quirky place to hang out if you plan to spend your chill time at the hostel. High on a hill with dramatic views, great pool/bar/pool table/lounge/outdoor areas & do evening meals (by request). Downside: you have to get taxis everywhere but if their driver's available, he's v good rates. They also organise local guides to take you to the hotspots (we had Jabu who knew everything/one). It was v quiet for our stay meaning no atmosphere, so loved the place but wish we'd stayed in Maboneng.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
26th Sep 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel, very friendly and helpful staff. Already stayed here twice before and would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Aug 2017
8.3

It was a very nice place, it has everything that you need. You also feel very safe there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
8.9

בקפקרס נחמד ממש ביוהנסבורג, אוספים משדה התעופה בחינם והיחס של צוות המקום היה מעולה, ממוקם בשכונה שקטה ביוהנסבורג ממליצה בחום!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

I had booked a dorm bed bUT when I arrived they said they had a group coming and upgraded me to one of their cabins. I could have stayed another week! It was beautiful and quiet. I'm not sure where the rest of the guests were, as I only saw two others the entire time I was there. Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
9.7

What a quaint little place, the best part was the transportation available as well as the pleasant staff. So much so that I booked a night there before my return flight next month!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Terrific stay. Tina was super helpful and everyone was friendly. Perfect way to start our holiday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.3

Overall it is fine but I feel there may be better for similar money. Staff were helpful but very noisy. We could hear them at night and early morning while we were in our room upstairs. Nothing is within walking distance and place is a little run down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×