Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Brown Sugar Backpackers

26 Apr 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 563 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 563 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Mar 2018
8.9

This place had very good facilities and the rooms were big and very clean. The location wasn’t ideal and you would either need to walk or catch Uber everywhere you went, however the closest shopping center was only 10 min drive away. The tours that they organised were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2018
10.0

I have been to different hostels around the world. This is one of the best! I took my high school group of 7 students along with two other chaperones to South Africa and stayed there for 5 days. All have enjoyed their stay in this hostel! Would recommend this to anyone. The only setback we had was the wifi access available only in the lounge area. It was a little bit slow but they are going to get google fiber any time soon so this should help! The people working there were friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2018
8.6

Better if you like quiet, suburban areas or are in transit. Not super social or party like - perfect or undesirable depending on what you are looking for. Beautiful views from the terrace and great dinner service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Kaylahopkins8200
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2018
8.3

It was a nice place, good food, nice pool. Some of the staff could be more welcoming

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2017
9.4

One of the best backpackers I have booked so far. I love its style and atmosphere. Everything we needed (transfer service, wifi, breakfast, pool, lovely beds) for little money. We did a Soweto and Apartheid Museum Tour with Jozi Tours that I can also recommend. Definitely a good choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2017
8.3

Good accomodations, but a bit far from points of interest. There is an ATM and a bar at the place. The shower drain was clogged though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Oct 2017
8.9

V cool, quirky place to hang out if you plan to spend your chill time at the hostel. High on a hill with dramatic views, great pool/bar/pool table/lounge/outdoor areas & do evening meals (by request). Downside: you have to get taxis everywhere but if their driver's available, he's v good rates. They also organise local guides to take you to the hotspots (we had Jabu who knew everything/one). It was v quiet for our stay meaning no atmosphere, so loved the place but wish we'd stayed in Maboneng.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×