Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budds In Surfers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 810 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Nov 2018
7.1

I wouldn’t recommend more than a night or two in this hostel unless you are looking for a party. There were lots of people who had been these for long periods of time who just got drunk etc every night. It was hard to socialise due to this. The facilities were clean and staff were helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • traveller0987
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Oct 2018
6.9

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, however the rooms are very basic with no air con and very limited plug sockets. Shower areas were relatively clean, the place could just do with some updating

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Oct 2018
6.9

The staff was very friendly and relaxed, they helped wherever they could and were very communicative. But a big fat minus is the hygiene of the bathrooms and the kitchen. In the morning there was at least no rubbish left or so, but there was pee on every toilet seat and dirty dishes everywhere in the kitchen. Both should be cleaned way more often and not just superficially.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lumbnatalie7861
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Oct 2018
6.6

Very basic so felt over priced. Tiny kitchen with barely any room to cook and was dirty every time we went in. We stayed in a twin room which had one small fan that didn’t even make a difference basically just gently blew hot air around and didn’t reach the beds. The common area is very loud. However it’s easily walking distance to the beaches, it was ok as a place to stay for just a couple of nights but wouldn’t want to stay any longer

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katrinalestok8499
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2018
6.0

Budd’s was definitely not a great hostel, and I’m kind of surprised it is rated so high. While the hostel is good for meeting new people and offers several great opportunities for going out for a reasonable price, the place is SUPER dirty (chunks of goobers under the bed; disgusting toilets), and it kind of just seems like no one really cares about the place. The free breakfast was also quite gross and unhealthy. Definitely not worth $29.00 for an eight person mixed share.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Oct 2018
9.1

Hostel was good, nice pool and staff good location about 10 min walk from greyhound. Lots of long termers weren’t very sociable but thankfully I had a good room of backpackers. The nights out were good and well organised although it’s fine having a bar only place but only if it’s stocked! No white wine, limited beer, nothing much at all. So either change license to BYO or stock the bar! Would recommend still though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Oct 2018
7.7

Fairly clean, the rooms are basic but not bad considering the price you pay and the staff are friendly. A slight downside is that the bunkbeds are quite unstable so the whole thing feels like it'll tip over when someone climbs onto the top bunk. Other than that it's an ok hostel, only a short 10/15min walk to the beach or the shops so you don't have to worry about transport unless you're going further out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Oct 2018
9.1

Friendly hostel with a chilled bar and sofa area. Not far from town. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2018
6.9

Not one of the best hostels that I've been to.. Rooms were cramped and smelled quite bad. Difficult to find available toilets at certain times in the mornings/evenings. Bathrooms were often missing toilet paper and/or really dirty. I've been to my fair share of hostels, but this one could use some work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • namitjain986756
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2018
3.4

I faced serious humilation and harrasment by one fellow traveller.And the management said that they cant do anything about it.I felt so bad that I could not sleep whole night and left the next morning even though i booked it for 3 days.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×