Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Budget Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 7065 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 7065 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Nov 2018
9.4

Spacious, comfortable, clean, well staffed, good bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Budget Backpackers. We are so glad that you found the hostel to be spacious, comfortable and clean. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and visit again soon! BB Manager.

  • jessicalcarruthers7245
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Nov 2018
8.0

The facility itself is very secure and there are lockers available that fit large backpacks. They offer locks for purchase so that your stuff is secure and the key card system ensures that random people aren't entering the hostel. The kitchen and bar is well priced and the kitchen/bar staff are pleasant to deal with. The only complaint that I had is that the front end staff seem to be far more interested in chatting with each other and sticking to a time schedule.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad to see you liked the facilities and security of our hostel and appreciated our bar area. We are sorry to hear you felt like the front desk weren't efficient enough, we will make sure to address this straight away. Thanks again, all the best! BB Manager

  • stevedobie2179
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Nov 2018
8.3

Showers didn't have hot water

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we are sorry you expereience some difficulty with the water in the showers, we are investigating this situation. Thanks again, BB manager.

  • laurinhah20025893
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Nov 2018
5.1

overpriced .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we are sorry you felt that the hostel was overpriced. We always try to provide our guests with the best possible rates and remain the cheapest in the city despite our great facilities with our onsite bar open from 7am to 10pm, our self service kitchen available for anyone looking to save some pennies and make their own food, our bed side facilities such as usb adapter and plugs to charge up your devices, and onsite laundry facilities and our great central location. If you are looking for something a little less expensive you can always try booking a larger dorm type. Thanks for your feedback, BB Manager.

28th Oct 2018
9.4

This was by far one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! I found the bedrooms to be very clean and the atmosphere of the reception/bar area to be warm and welcoming. The location can’t be beat. I didn’t use public transportation once during my entire stay, as I could walk everywhere. I also thought the security was great given that the lockers are pretty big; however, a girl’s suitcase was stolen during my last night so improvements could be made in terms of who has access to rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at Budget Backpackers! We are delighted that you felt we were one of the best hostels that you have stayed at! We are about to embark on some refurbishments so we would love you to come back and visit after the refurb and see if we can make your 9.4 turns into a 10! The incident that you refer to was indeed a sad and thankfully rare situation. The perpetrator was a legitimate guest who had booked to stay with us. We take safety procedures at check-in such as, require photo ID at check-in and therefore we can always assist the police by providing them with information if anything was to happen. We also have 24-hour CCTV in operation throughout the hostel and secure doors throughout the building. Thanks again for your feedback, BB Manager.

  • ngaioemery4242
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2018
8.6

A pretty good hostel in a great location. Pretty clean and tidy. One of the nicer hostels I’ve stayed in the UK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are glad that you liked the location of the hostel and felt we had a high level of cleanliness. Thanks again, BB manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Oct 2018
10.0

Enjoyed my stay here and met nice fellow travellers. Free walking tour, pub quiz and pub crawl in cooperation with the other hostel (Kick Ass) are perfect opportunities to meet other people in the hostel. The hostel staff is super nice and helpful and there is a bar, a kitchen and a chillout lounge where you can play games like Jenga or Four in a row. Stayed in a 30 people room but it didn't seem as crowded as I expected and was not to noisy except for the door which closes loudly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here at Budget Backpackers. We love hosting the pub crawl for our guests to enable everyone to mingle and get to know each other! We are happy to hear of the high level of customer service that you received from our great team, and the great experience you had in our 30-bed dorm. Thanks again and safe travels! BB Manager.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2018
7.7

Many front desk staff spoke broken English, was difficult to understand some of their instructions. Beds were relatively comfortable and room lighting wasnt so bright that you couldn't take a nap with the lights on 👍 would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad that you liked the location of the hostel. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty understanding our staff. We are glad that you felt the hostel was comfortable and that you were not bothered by the lighting in the bedrooms. Thanks again, BB Manager.

  • adamdaly523520
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2018
5.4

Ever staff member that I encountered was incredibly rude. The "security" procedure of asking us for our room key when we came into the hostel, while understandable, was not carried out by staff in a professional manner. Staff at reception were incredibly rude. Secondly, our friend was joining us two days into our trip. She emailed ahead weeks in advance to make sure she was in our dorm. She was told that she definitely would be, however upon arrival she was put in a different dorm. Big surprise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you found our staff rude, we do take the security seriously and ask everyone to keep their security passes and keys on them at all times and can only apologise if you felt that this request was not done in a professional manner. We normally only receive good feedback on all our staff who work hard to provide the best possible guest experience. We can never guarantee the same room if the bookings have been made separately, however, there are certain room types that we only have one each so normally you would end up in the same room even if you booked separately. The only reason the allocation would change would be if we offered a free upgrade into a smaller dorm, which is normally a happy surprise when checking in. We do appreciate your comments and will pass them onto our staff. Thanks again, hope you had safe onward journey. All the best! BB Manager

18th Oct 2018
10.0

Very nice hostel! The location was amazing right in central Edinburgh within walking distance of everything we did from Arthurs Seat and Holyrood Palace to Edinburgh Castle. The hostel was very clean and had very nice facilities. The security was fantastic, as was the atmosphere of the hostel. All in all a wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Budget Backpackers! We are so glad that you liked the location of the hostel and found a high standard of cleanliness and security. We are very grateful for your feedback and we hope you come back and stay with us again! Thanks, BB Manager.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×