Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

CATS Chill Out Hostel- former Mad Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 4363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 4363 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jul 2018
6.9

Place is fine. Atmosphere was meh and staff appeared to hate their jobs. Bathrooms were unkempt and towels were 3 Euros. Just not enough value here for the price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2018
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at Cats Chill Out! The room was great and had a nice view of the street, the only downside was that there weren't any curtains on the beds (so not much privacy!). Apart from that, the rooftop bar was really cool and the whole place had a great vibe. Would recommend going on the walking tour with Violetta - she's so much fun! I would definitely come back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2018
8.6

Super chill hostel, great place to meet people but not crazy like a party hostel (they run a party hostel not far away if you are looking for one though) Really nice layout to the hostel, rooms are small but comfortable, facilities are good and they have places to do laundry. Overall had an enjoyable stay during my time in Madrid with no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • beckyforshaw
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jul 2018
8.0

Nice hostel, friendly staff, comfortable beds and good locker system. WiFi was ok, wouldn't let me use certain apps over it and signal wasn't too great. Met some cool people, but our last night was tainted by some girls having a huge screaming argument at 4am through til at least 5am. Unfortunately no staff seemed to stop this and none of us wanted to go out to see what was going on as it sounded pretty serious (at least drunken). Other than that great hostel, great location. Thanks 😊

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your opinion. We are glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. So sorry to hear that you had a problem your last night, we ask the night shift to do rounds during the night so we can avoid this kind of problems. Sorry again for the inconveniences caused.

30th Jun 2018
7.1

The rooms were extremely tiny and unbearably hot. There was no communal atmosphere and they charge 2€ to store your luggage. Greeaaat location and that’s about it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing us with your opinion. We are sorry to hear that you were not very happy during your stay. The air conditioning of the rooms are switched on in the reception, the clients has to tell us to do so. Regarding the 2€ payment, we have this method, other hostels maybe dont charge it or other charge you more... Thank you for the review so we can improve our hostel and provide a better service to the client.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2018
5.7

Unfortunately when I was staying there was an incident on the first floor when a member of the public came in from off the street, climbed through the window of a dorm room and left with an entire suitcase plus a laptop. There was nothing that could be done apart from waiting 4 hours to complete a police report and waiting 24 hours to check the camera footage to confirm the break in and steal. It was a busy Friday evening. No idea how this happened so easily :(

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for writing us your opinion. We are aware of that case, we always tell the clients that is very important to keep all your luggae in the lockers and when you are not in the room leave the room closed, door and window. We are really sorry about what had happened and we are working to improve it.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2018
4.3

my luggage was stolen from inside my hostel room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing your opinion. We are really sorry about what had happen during your stay. We try to keep the hostel as safer as possible. We always recomend the clients to use the free lockers they have in the room and always close the door/window in case they are not in the room so we can avoid future problems. In your case you left it open so anyone could get into your room. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused and we will let you know if we have news about your case.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Jun 2018
6.3

Room was clean enough and they had great deals on drinks. It’s a party hostel and it’s a pretty open space with a younger crowd so expect noise. My major concerns with this hostel is that the door locks are so terrible, that so many people spent so much time locked out of their rooms that they leave the windows open so they can get back in and staff are so relaxed about letting people in to party on the rooftop bar that a couple of people had property stolen while I was there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! Our staff did not let people inside if is not staying at the hostel. We are very sorry to read that you had such a negative experience. We are aware that the security system may be tricky at first (receptionists are available to help guests in their first attempts)

  • holly8076
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Jun 2018
2.0

If you get given a corner room good luck to you. There is no window and with the air con controlled by reception (and turns of automatically through the night) the room becomes musky, smelly and hot. The beds are extremely close together. It seems as though they have shoved an extra bunk bed into what should be a 4 bed dorm. I spent my first night crying. Worst hostel I have been to in my 5 weeks of travelling. It was not even clean. I was absolutely disgusted. Also weird permanent residents.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Angelica_96
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2018
9.1

Great hostel, can relax and chill out here and go over to their sister hostel to party at night! The door locking system is ridiculous and an absolute nightmare to get in and out of your rooms definitely need to upgrade that ASAP

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay;) And don't worry, we have planned to change the door lock system as soon as possible!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×