Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Calluna

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Sheila_bull293741
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2018
9.1

It suited us fine as it was nearest to Kinlochleven that we could find decently priced accommodation and we found it to be very satisfactory

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2018
9.4

Lovely independently run hostel with comfy beds, a magic drying room, herbs and spices, lots of books and advice and a great video selection

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2018
10.0

This hostel is fantastic. It has great views from the common room, a nice large kitchen, comfortable sleeping quarters and friendly helpful staff. I agree with other reviews that the walk to the hostel is... very uphill. But that was the only downside we encountered.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your positive review. It makes a big difference to hear from guests. Best regards, Alan, Sue and Victoria

  • wrathaufkhan4977
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Aug 2018
7.4

Very Small place. The office area could have been more cleaner and also access to the staff was not available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. The reception is also the laundry area for guests and the owners. It is due an upgrade in the next year. The owners reserve the right to enter the premises, common areas. If we enter any of the bedrooms, we knock before entering. Anyone needing the staff, only have to ring the door bell to our home next door. We have 26 beds in total in four units adjacent to each other. Best regards, Alan, Sue & Victoria

  • gracelidanni875
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2018
7.7

We stayed in one of the two bedroom flats. The kitchen was very well equipped and living room/common room area was cosy. Location was good - 10min walk from town, although there is quite a steep bit at the end. The walls are very thin (you will definitely be woken up in the morning even if others are trying to be quiet), so that could be a bother to some. The only huge letdown was the staff as they weren’t friendly at all. We never got a “how are you” or even a small smile!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jul 2018
8.9

More like a private room Air BNB experience, excellent value and lovely facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sircarloschavez
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jul 2018
9.4

The owners are an amazing and very kind couple. The place is good and cozy. The only thing is that is away from the bus/train station, so if you're traveling with a big suitcase (as I was doing) you must totally need a taxi to get there, otherwise you'll have a very hard time walking uphill. I would totally recommend it. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elaineseahzh6122
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2018
8.6

Though it was a walk (about 25 minutes) away from Fort William, I woke up to birds gently chirping and a beautiful view of Loch Eil. There is Tesco in Fort William or Spar 5 minutes down the slope and you can whip up a reasonable meal in their well-equipped kitchen. I love the "wooden cabin" feel, especially the common room. Lovely bed that felt like home. I was fortunate to have only 2 other travellers in the other room and it was my much-needed peaceful retreat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind words. Always welcome. Best wishes, Alan, Sue & Victoria (partners)

  • scottbarr9233409
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2018
9.1

After a month of staying in hostels, this was my favorite. Host was helpful and gracious. The best aspect of this hostel is that it did not feel like one. It is really a house. Living room set an atmosphere of friendly talk and sharing among the guests from varied countries every evening. Beds were comfortable and facility was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your positve reply. We hope your travels go well. Best regards, Alan & Sue & Victoria (family partners)

10th Jun 2018
8.0

Bus from the town centre to Ben Nevis, and a train trip to Glen Finnan viaduct. Famous downhill bike trail. Walked two three times to the town centre, wasn’t far (10-15 minutes? Don’t remember). Other guests didn’t seem to care but for me sleeping on a plastic covered mattress wasn’t an option. The host was helpful and I ended up getting extra covers. The plastic cover is the only reason I won’t come back, but you’re probably among the 99% that don’t care. A lovely place for peace and/or action.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. Sorry about your dislike of mattress fabric. I do understand. Over the years they have prevented a good deal of 'soiling' from guests. Each mattress has a plastic cover, plus a fleecy cover, plus a fitted sheet. After you mentioned your dislike we provided another two fleecy covers. Thanks again for staying and being honest with your comments. Regards, Alan, Sue & Victoria (partners)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×