Hostelworld.com

Canal Loft Hotel

  • 86-96 Canal St, Manhattan, Entrance: 94 Canal St, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
8.3

Nice small hotel, located in chinatown. Quiet at night; was able to get most needed shut eye. Staff were friendly, no hiccups. I stayed in a two person dorm room. Had bunk beds, but no squeaking. Bathroom facilities were neat and clean. Would stay again when I visit NYC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • caqhutch3485
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2018
7.4

I was very satisfied with my recent experience with booking a room at the Canal Loft Hotel, although it was my son who stayed there and I booked the room for him. He was very delighted in his room. But he was concerned for his girlfriends' safety every time they passed the game room on the fourth floor because there were a lot of older men hanging around and most of them had been drinking. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for affordable, clean and friendly service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2018
8.6

One of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed at. The 4-bed room I was staying in looked like a private hotel room with its own private bathroom in the room and got daily fresh towel and blanket, which was super nice. Daily room service just like a private hotel room except there were 4 beds. People kept rotating during the 3 days I stayed in my room but they were all nice, friendly and mindful of each other's privacy and convenience. Overall it was a really nice place, quite and clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Oct 2018
8.6

I’m a really cool part of the city with lots of good places around. Nice new, clean rooms. Staff could have been more friendly but the overall experience was positive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shannyncassidy
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2018
7.7

Nice place, a little pricey. Kind of far from trains. Wish there was a breakfast. There are a lot of shops including grocery and food. Very clean. Beds were crisp and comfy. Bathroom is very spacious. Overall satisfied with my stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Oct 2018
6.9

Nice facilities, cleanliness was great, and felt very safe here. However the place lacks any personality or sense of a social scene. If you're looked for a clean, decent place with shared rooms in the area this will work fine. If you want a hostel type experience this will disappoint as they don't seem to put any effort into creating a community feeling, I didn't make a single connection with other guests. The area in Chinatown is not so great, nothing nearby for drinks, dinner, or entertainment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lasera
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Oct 2018
7.7

The room was very clean and nice. I found it hard to socialize because there is not really an area where you could meet people. Would def recommend to stay at this hostel as a group but not as a solo travellere who wants to socialize/meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • soli125866393
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
7.7

Private room was very nice and cleaned daily with fresh towels. Not a place to mingle as it has a hotel feel about it. The location is good as it is in Manhattan but not the best as it is near Brooklyn Bridge so be prepared to use the subway or walk a lot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Oct 2018
10.0

Great hotel. Clean with a perfect location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Oct 2018
10.0

Nice hotel feel about the place. They let you leave your bags before check in and after check out downstairs which is really convenient. About 2 blocks from subway and place is near Manhattan bridge. Friendly front desk lady who was helpful and explained everything to me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×