Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cape Town Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1089 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1089 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2017
8.3

I loved the hostel. The security was great over all and the location was outside the hustle and bustle but literally five minutes walk from it. Also great location for hikes such as table mountain and lions head. The wifi was great and I am gluten free and they gave me fruit and yogurt for my complimentary breakfast! The staff were really friendly and helpful and social athmosphere was great. Only issue was noise levels from early morning unwanted vistotors which should have been prevented.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2017
8.6

Great hostel! Staff were brilliant helping me organise my time and trips etc. The bar area is a great way to meet other people too. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2017
10.0

Nice place with friendly staff. Central location close to the restaurant street and short uber distance to most things in town. Really fast internet and clean throughout. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Nov 2017
9.1

the hostel is a bit away from long street which i found good, but still in walking distance to waterfront. staff was great. twin room was very small and bad air quality. breakfast was ok but not supercool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Nov 2017
9.1

Good location especially for Table Mountain/Lion’s Head, 10 minute uber to each. Not all rooms have lockers but there are safes in the Office you can store passports etc. Staff were extremely helpful for any trips you want to do and would even check with the tour companies in the mornings to see if trips were still running as some are weather dependant and it changes very quickly in Cape Town! Well stocked Bar in the hostel was very good! Special shout to Darren, great guy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2017
10.0

The time I had at the Capetown Backpackers was amazing. Very friendly and professional staff, especially Darian! My room, the bathrooms and the kitchen were well equipped and clean aswell. Due to the "veranda" next to the bar it was very easy to meet new people and also it was also nice to just hang out there. They organized and booked my tours which were all perfect. The location of the hostel is very good an central. It doesn't take too long to reach Cape Towns hotspots and Party Areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking time to write us a review. Was wonderful to host you. :) CTBP wish you all the best with your future travels. Until next time, keep well... Best Wishes CTBP team

22nd Oct 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel for socialising, good facilities and location and nice staff. Slightly expensive so if you're on a longer trip/tighter budget it might be a bit much, but would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
18th Oct 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Staff were amazing. When we came in late security checked our names off to make sure we were guests which is good. Breakfast on offer to purchase or you can use the other kitchen to cook your own. Rooms where very large and spacious with shelves to put things on. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2017
7.7

I enjoyed my stay at CTBP and would stay there again, the staff was responsive, and the location was convenient. The kitchen could of had better facilities, other than that I have no complaints

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2017
8.3

Lovely staff, great atmosphere and bar. Breakfast was a little light, but still good. Within walking distance to Long St, which was a plus. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×