Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1986 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1986 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • zoebankswork6501
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2018
9.7

This was my favourite hostel so far! The pillow and beds were so comfortable and the location to get to the ports for the Great Barrier Reef cruises was spot on! The facilities were all good just wish the shower was a bit warmer then it would’ve been a 10! The lady who checked us in was sooo cheery and they give you vouchers for meals at PJ O Briens giving you deals like steaks and a drink for $10 which was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2018
5.7

The place was very dirty. Literally, the public restrooms & showers were cleaner than the ones from the hostel. And only a few restrooms for a handful of people. There was a really bright white light just outside my room and the curtains are very thin so I couldn’t have a proper sleep -it felt like it was day time the whole night- and the windows of the room won’t open so the room has very poor ventilation except for AC The pillows gave me allergies as they smelled “dusty”. Won’t go back!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2018
7.1

The hostel is in a good location, has a nice layout and friendly staff but there was only one bathroom shared between three rooms (approx 10 people to one bathroom) which made things a little difficult. The facilities were clean but the only basin was in the room with the shower so you could not even wash your hands after using the bathroom if somebody else was using the shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
9.4

We stayed in a private twin share room for two nights. We found the staff to be very helpful and the place had a good vibe. I would definitely look to stay there again if/when I am visiting Port Douglas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Jul 2018
9.1

Very nice hostel, staff were very friendly and helpful. There’s 2 kitchens which is good when looking to cook at busier times. Rooms were clean and it was only a short walk into the town centre. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2018
10.0

Excellent value, nice and quiet and convenient to the Ironman transition. Plenty of space in my room for my bike. I will be back next year hopefully.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • johnathonstokes8189828
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2018
7.4

Other than some idiot pouring water all over my suitcase in the middle of the night and f*****g up my computer it was a good stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gemmahopwood7058
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st May 2018
7.1

Decent place to stay for the money. Alright location & quite quiet which is what we were looking for. Private is much nicer than dorm room. Ants all over the bathroom in the dorm which wasn’t great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th May 2018
9.1

I extended my stay here as it’s a great location, you have the Esplanade out front and are about 10minutes from the lagoon and shops. Staff were all very welcoming and knowledgable- do a Port Douglas reef trip!! The rooms, bathroom and kitchen are all a little tired but it’s cheap and clean here. Really spacious outdoor seating/eating area so you can be as sociable, or not, as you want. Big clothes drying area and I even found a balcony area at the end of my corridor to do yoga!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AnnaCluett
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th May 2018
7.7

Stayed here one night in a 4 bedroom mixed dorm. It was pretty good, I've been in better hostels and I've been in worse. It's a bit far out of the town, but still within walking distance, about 15-20 minutes to the city center, and 10 minutes to the lagoon. They also gave us a bunch of coupons for cheap food and free club entries with drinks at a bunch of local hotspots. Facilities were really clean, and plentiful so you never have to wait. Free transport from airport and an awesome pool!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×