Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • merle1008
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Oct 2018
9.7

Very nice hostel. Staff was absoluty amazing and helpfull. The first time I couldn’t open the door of my room and went to the reception. She stopped where she was busy with and asked her colleague (who was not working that day) to watch the reception and walked with me to de room. Which was in the very back of the hostel. Location is perfect close to everything. The bathroom was not super clean but you share with a lot of people. Highly recommend this hostel if you are in Cairns

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2018
10.0

One of the best hostels in Cairns, have stayed here several times and it is always great - excellent location, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, swimming pool, value for money rates and a wonderful restaurant out the front: there is nothing else you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • leahmcgrath19923263
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
9.7

We had a great stay at Caravella. The staff were extremely friendly and gave us great advice on different activities and where to go. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • norm19492472
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2018
10.0

Stayed twice with a trip to the reef in between. First time travelling alone, helpful friendly staff, clean comfy rooms and very welcoming. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • catherineunderhill4461
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Aug 2018
9.1

Great stay. Good shower & fridge in the room. Very secure - reception closed after 8pm and side access gate with secure code access - felt very safe. Cleaners around keeping the place tidy. Good value!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Braddd6781
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Aug 2018
8.3

Very clean. Very good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Aug 2018
4.9

Hedonist magnet for Cairns. Colour scheme through out makes me cringe, so much potential, so little realised as far as creating an environment. Often a long wait for bath rooms in the back blocks. Drying cloths / towels rounded up and taken by housekeeping. Go camping and the local camping ground, trust me you will be happier.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • zoebankswork6501
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2018
9.7

This was my favourite hostel so far! The pillow and beds were so comfortable and the location to get to the ports for the Great Barrier Reef cruises was spot on! The facilities were all good just wish the shower was a bit warmer then it would’ve been a 10! The lady who checked us in was sooo cheery and they give you vouchers for meals at PJ O Briens giving you deals like steaks and a drink for $10 which was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2018
5.7

The place was very dirty. Literally, the public restrooms & showers were cleaner than the ones from the hostel. And only a few restrooms for a handful of people. There was a really bright white light just outside my room and the curtains are very thin so I couldn’t have a proper sleep -it felt like it was day time the whole night- and the windows of the room won’t open so the room has very poor ventilation except for AC The pillows gave me allergies as they smelled “dusty”. Won’t go back!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2018
7.1

The hostel is in a good location, has a nice layout and friendly staff but there was only one bathroom shared between three rooms (approx 10 people to one bathroom) which made things a little difficult. The facilities were clean but the only basin was in the room with the shower so you could not even wash your hands after using the bathroom if somebody else was using the shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×