Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Caravella Central

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 918 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 918 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jan 2018
7.1

Great location near to city. Very cheap and well worth the money. Very loud in morning from bin men and have to walk outside into courtyard for showers, however very powerful and clean. Kitchen lacking equipment and a lot of stuff is dirty in there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2018
9.7

Great location, close to Woolworth and Rusty market. Friendly and helpful staffs. There are some tiny cockroaches crawling around in the room though, otherwise it's been a wonderful experience staying at Carevella Central.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • carachartrand986
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Dec 2017
7.1

Not much of an atmosphere, but Gilligan's is just across the street so you can go party there. Free wifi in the rooms and common area is nice. Staff was friendly and helpful, but the reception isn't 24 hours. If you aren't in a room with A/C it's veeery hot during the spring/summer. Overall, a decent place to sleep if you have to get up early for a tour since it's nice and quiet. But don't expect anything fancy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Nov 2017
8.6

Short walk to shops. Spacious rooms. Big kitchen. I'd stay here again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Nov 2017
5.1

Really needs an update. The beds are uncomfortable and everything is worn, outdated and dirty. The air on unit in the room was really dirty, we tried it for one night bc we were so hot and it made us all sick.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Oct 2017
6.6

Good semi cheap hostel in a good location in Cairns. Toilets and kitchen weren't that clean but manageable. Staff aren't there from 12 to 4pm which is annoying if you have checked out and stored your luggage in the office (as that's the only place you can store it). No AC in our room which wasn't ideal and there wasn't really a sociable atmosphere. So if you want to go on a night out, don't stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Oct 2017
8.9

Location is perfect! Right opposite Gilligans, so if you want to go out in the evening just pop over the road. Round the corner from the main strip with shops, travel agents, cafes and bars. The Salt water lagoon just at the end of it. Two showers and two toilets which was fine even though the hostel was full we never had to wait for a shower. There's a fridge in the dorms but no lockers. There's also no common room but people tend to mingle in the kitchen. Was a great and easy place to stay at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2017
5.7

Outside of the hostel is a disco place, when we arrived the hostel there was so loudly until 3am, we can't fall asleep... and the hostel room window also have bad curtain, it is not good to keep the room dark to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2017
8.3

Was surprised that it's that good for the low price they charge. Only downside is that they don't have AC in the room. Was Ok at the time of year I travelled but I can see that being a problem when it's hotter

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • absrusty1998
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Oct 2017
7.4

Good location and really friendly/helpful staff however the atmosphere just really wasn't there which may be a result of the distinct lack of social and communal areas. A good base for sleeping but not much else. Lots of cockroaches in bedrooms and the rooms didn't look the same as how they're advertised.. little room between the upper and lower bunk beds too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×