Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa De la Iguana

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 99 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 99 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Nov 2017
4.0

This hostel is built on a smelly swamp full of mosquitos. There is no kitchen access, drinks are overpriced and no BYO. The volunteer staff are clueless and encouraged by the white owner to pump loud music til 2-3am every night. The ‘communal’ hammocks are slept in and are putrid. The bathrooms are filthy and the water is as disgusting as the swamp this place sits on! The locals hate tourists staying here! It’s honestly best to stay in town or on the river to experience true Garifuna culture!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • tstarr6140
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2017
4.3

Bit of a wierd place. Spoke to a few people who where there at the same time and we weren’t sure the atmosphere was that cool, to be honest you don’t have much choice in Livingston. Seems to be a bit of a money making machine with a process to take as much money from BB’s as possible. Can only pay for your drinks at the end of your stay. Staff are random and trained to party with the guests so that they are drinking more alcohol and making more money for the business. I would not come here again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Oct 2017
6.6

Didn't feel very at home in this hostel and it didn't have a very relaxed vibe. Can see why some people love it, but it wasn't for us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2017
9.1

Was planning on staying for two days, but turned into five! This hostel has been my favorite in Guatemala and top three in Latin America in my opinion. The staff here are so cool and willing to do what it takes to make your stay best as possible. There's an option to eat the family style dinner, which was great and cheaper than most local restaurants...I recommend it. Tuesday's and Friday's are Punta Night, which a local band and dancers comes and performs. Thanks staff of Casa de la Iguana!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2017
8.6

Wicked hostel, lots of party to be had. Very cool people running the place. Probably not ideal for supporting a meditation and mindfulness course but if you want to have some fun then this place is hard to beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2017
9.1

Great hostel with awesome staff. Had a garifuna drum concert followed by a really fun party. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! Have a great to trip and hopefully we'll see you back!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Aug 2017
5.1

It is what it is... a party hostel. If you wanna chill fun night with drinks and a quick swim in the small pool and some socialising then for sure stay here. The downfall for me was that the bathrooms are gross. I didn't want to shower at all. It is also basically located in what was a swamp so lots of mosquitoes, take your repellent! Also, don't just hang out there, get out and see the real Livingston. By that I mean walk to the other side where the Garifuni people live and support their bars

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lukefreethinker384
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
9th Aug 2017
6.0

We stayed only one night but the hostel did not impress us. It seems to be some vibe but it was more like a sausages party when we went there. The place is overall decent and as there are not many option in Livingston it does its dirty job.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Great hostel wouldn't recommend any other in Livingstone.. I did catch dengue fever in Livingstone which is not the hostels fault but be sure to wear bug spray.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×