Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Casa Loma Minca

  • Entrance to the left of the church, up the stairs, Minca, Colombia

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 553 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 553 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • patrickfridley4458
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Oct 2018
10.0

I could go on all day about how amazing Casa Loma is, but I'm going to try to keep it short. You might be put off by the steep stairs leading up the mountain, but as soon as you get there, you realize it's worth the amazing view! There's nothing quite like staying in a treehouse or hammock perched on the side of a mountain, surrounded by beautiful wildlife! The staff is great! Super friendly from check-in to check-out, and helpful about the local area. The food is superb, and again, the views!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2018
10.0

Such a beautiful view from the hostel and the staff was super friendly! The second I arrived after climbing up the steps to the hostel they offered me a glass of water. Couldn’t have expected a better welcoming to the hostel! I even got an extra blanket for my hammock since it was quite cold in the night. I really appreciated it. The toilets and showers were clean. I stayed in for the dinner and it was super good. I can definitely recommend this hostel for your stay in Minca!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Oct 2018
8.0

Amazing location perched on the hill. A little expensive for what it is with no included breakfast (not even coffee). The sleeping areas are well set up with mosquito nets and charger for every bed. Bring a flashlight as place is not well lit at night. The stairs to the bunk bed cabin at higher level are a liability - should be redone as stair tread depth is minimal to riser and it’s dangerous esp given dark nights. Make sure you bring plenty of cash as they charge 10% on cc transactions

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2018
10.0

Casa Loma is a must stay in Minca. After the initial walk to get there it was well worth it when greeted with the beautiful view. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Dinner is great too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2018
9.7

Casa Loma is a lovely escape to mountain paradise. Up about 200 steps from the center of Minca, you’ll be exhausted and relieved to be welcomed in by Casa Loma’s lovely staff. There is no WiFi at Casa Loma, but that along with the community dinners makes new friendships easy. Be ready to feel like your outside at all times. And enjoy the sunset.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2018
10.0

This place is amazing. Amazing views. Really good food. Overall just an awesome spot to chill out for a few days. I stayed in the hammocks and slept like a baby. Worth the steps to get here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Oct 2018
7.4

Casa Loma is a cool outdoor hostel that has lovely rooms and great views. It has a very quiet and relaxing vibe! The vegetarian dinner/food we had wasn't great however!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Sep 2018
8.3

Great hostel close enough to Minca that you can wonder through town but high enough that you still get a beautiful view (especially at sunset). Social atmosphere because there’s no WiFi, also the big group dinners were a highlight! Delicious vegetarian food made for a welcome change from the meat and rice of usual Colombian fair. Hammocks were surprisingly comfy to sleep in and the bathroom and showers were kept very clean (cold showers, but very refreshing after a bit walk). Great hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Sep 2018
9.7

We had a beautiful stay in Casa Lomo, our favourite hostel to date. Lovely location with great staff and amazing food! Can’t recommend this hostel enough! thank you Casa Lomo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hanneloreandries9804
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Sep 2018
9.7

Great atmosphere, no wifi means more socializing. From that point of view the best I have in Colombia. Nice views since it is located on a mountain. Food was also very delicious, both breakfast and dinner. Only disadvantages were in the facilities: private hut was extremely small (which, on the other hand, made you stay more in the common rooms to relax or meet other travelers), very cold shower which is in Minca less convenient than in Santa Marta because of the slightly colder climate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×