Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 4125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 4125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Sep 2018
6.9

The hostel itself is nice and in a good location but there is 0% atmosphere no one seemed to talk to each even in a 16 bed dorm. If you want to meet other travellers this is NOT the place to go. Also thought it was very strange you had to pay extra for bed sheets and pillow cases never experienced this in a hostel before.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maikowata301604
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
9.4

Very good place to have sleep, and all guest can use kitchen, you can save money😀

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Sep 2018
10.0

This is one of he nicest hostels I have ever stayed. The rooms are nice, location is unbeatable, comfortable beds, everything is really clean. Kind staff, Paula is really nice and helpful. There are a lot of good advices in the board, the common area is nice and the kitchen has everything you need. Great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2018
9.7

The Castanea Hostel is in the perfect location for visiting Stockholm. The hostel is walking distance to the subway and all of the Gamla Stan attractions. The place was very clean and the showers were excellent! The staff are wonderful and super nice. If you are traveling with another person, the private twin room is a really good value for two people. We loved our stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Sep 2018
8.9

Cute little place! Really clean and the staff we met were lovely. Reception is only there limited hours and there wasn't much of an atmosphere I felt, we were in a private room on the ground floor so I think that makes a difference. Really enjoyed our time here and would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2018
9.4

The staff will by above and beyond to help you out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2018
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • karyeep6178
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2018
9.7

Basics ticked all the boxes - Clean bathrooms/beds/ kitchen, friendly staff, 5 min walk to bus stops and the Gamla Stan station or a 20 min walk to T centrallen, nice communal area if you'd like to meet people (not as young of a crowd as other EU hostels I've stayed in, but still met nice people!) Extra things made the stay so much better - a whole board dedicated to recommendations for food/ FREE museums/ tours, laundry service for a mere 60kroner. Overall, loved my stay at Castanea Old Town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2018
10.0

Superb relaxed hostel, just what l needed!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to write such a lovely review! Glad you felt you could relax here with us!

  • lia_julien4458
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2018
10.0

Great staff, super clean place, best location, 10/10 would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×