Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 3989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 3989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • zr2335231
  • Serbia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2018
8.6

Friendly staff, good price for that part of Stockholm (Gamla Stan) and relatively convenient place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jun 2018
9.1

Lovely place to stay and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The price does not include sheets, towel or padlocks. The common room has a 11pm noise curfew and check-in times are slightly limited.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2018
9.1

In midst of Old Town; 15 minute walk from Central Station; good lockers; 2 computers for guest use; helpful staff; comfy beds; refrigerator too small (they need 2 of them)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2018
7.4

The hostel's location is great and the rooms are fine for a hostel. The toilet/shower situation was limited (4 each for all the guests in the hostel to share). My biggest complaint isn't anything about the hostel but the other traveler's staying there. During my stay there were at least 3 families with very young children running around screaming. It was very bizarre, I've never seen young children staying at a hostel. The hostel also did not have any planned group activities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Yes, the hostel tradition here in Sweden might look very different from where you are from. We are happy to open our hostel to all - families, single travelers, groups and couples. The different ages and experiences we see many times enriches the hostel experience, but we do hope that everyone is respectful and keep it quiet, especially after 23:00! If you are looking for a genuine party hostel this might not be your favorite place. But that said, we have seen many of our guests finding great new friends here at Castanea Hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2018
6.9

Great hostel in a very good location, however I had a weird experience with quite a lot of older people and families staying here in dorms as well and hostel being very silent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rbnscott6070
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2018
8.6

Really liked the layout and feel. Staff were very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Really liked your review! Thank you :)

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
9.7

Stayed from 8th to 10th June 2018 in a 16 beds mixed dorm. Such a clean and lovely place! Location is super near to all the attractions in Gamla stan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! Great you liked it!

  • millyramos_971664
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2018
9.7

One of the best hostels I’ve ever stayed in! Brilliant location, less than 5 minute walk from Gamla Stan (Old Town), great security system with codes for entrance and dorm, handy information regarding local activities and food, and very friendly staff. Bathroom facilities can’t be faulted, and the communal area is small and cosy. People staying vary from families to solo travellers like myself. Could not recommend this place enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jun 2018
9.1

Nice hostel in a really good location, right in the heart of the old town. Facilities are good and the kitchen is nice if you want to self cater although there are some good restaurants nearby. Main downside is that the communal toilets and showers are scattered about the hostel a bit so not super convenient for the main dorm room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review! And for the high scores you have given us :)

  • gwendolynchee953916
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2018
9.7

I stayed in a single room at Castanea, and the room was cozy and had a beautiful window overlooking a courtyard. The common areas were pretty clean. The location was very good for easily accessing both the north and south areas of Stockholm, I didn't even need to buy a subway pass.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×