Hostelworld.com

Castanea Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 4210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 4210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • charlotteedgell13879
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
10.0

Home from home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So nice to hear you describe Castanea like this :) That´s what we feel as well!

  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
10.0

Very quiet, well placed, clean and friendly: we were all very happy with the accommodation, which was perfect for our purposes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review! Great to hear you found what you needed here with us!

5th Nov 2018
9.7

Excellent location, very cozy and cute inside, really quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Lots of delicious leftover food in the kitchen. Mattresses are uncomfortable and they don’t provide free linen, but for the location, it’s absolutely worth it to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review about Castanea! We appreciate that you were happy with most parts of your stay :)

  • mahimagambhirmg5479
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Nov 2018
9.4

Great location! Very friendly staff. Lovely cosy place with almost everything you need. Great overall experience. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review and wanting to recommend us to others :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Oct 2018
9.7

Chill people around, best location, let us check-in early, plenty of info lying around, not super flashy and no bed linen but exceeded our expectation of this place for the price and everything else really. Cheers guys, Kieran and Susanna.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for staying at Castanea and for your great review! Super Flashy is not really the adjective we have as a goal here ;) so we can not be other than super happy for your review! Cheers!

  • kristianlovato3695
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Oct 2018
10.0

Couldn't possibly ask for a better location. Amenities were basic but that was reflected in the price. Would definitely stay there again if I was planning on being close to old town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive review and for noticing that we actually have very good prices in relation to location and currency! Welcome back an other time!!

25th Oct 2018
8.3

Perfect location centre of Stockholm. Only 15 minutes walk from the train station. It’s a small hostel, so it has a more chilled out atmosphere. Staff are helpful if you needed any information

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to write a review!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Oct 2018
9.7

Second time I’ve stayed here and I’d return again. Very friendly and helpful staff, great location, good facilities and a lovely place to stay Only, if you’re looking to meet people to travel with, it’s more relaxed here. It’s not a party hostel, but that’s perfect for me!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for returning to us! Glad to hear you found a place that suits you :) Welcome back anytime!!

18th Oct 2018
9.4

Perhaps the best hostel? At least that I have visited. Even in the larger bunk room, it was totally quiet and very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your splendid review! Glad to hear it worked well in the big dorm and people were respectful to each other! We are happy we have so nice guests here at Castanea :)

16th Oct 2018
9.4

Really clean and nice hostel. Not much of a backpacker hostel so it's hard to meet people even when you're in a room with 15 others. Also I think renting sheets is absolutely ridiculous. Since we do have to rent them I think they could at least put them on the bed because coming in on a midnight flight and having to put sheets on the bed quietly and in the dark isn't fun. great location, amenities and wifi. Very large lockers in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to write a review and giving us such high rates! The reason for the sheets not beeing included in the price is that some do wish to keep the price down by bringing their own.

×