Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 798 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ntmiller144
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2018
8.9

My first night was somehow overbooked but they found a bed in another room for me and didn't charge me the full original price, which was great since I got in later than expected due to late flights and trains. The staff is phenomenal and the location was close to the mall and within walking distance of plenty of sights. The only fault I have is the wifi doesn't reach to the bedrooms but chilling down in the reception area and/kitchen isn't a bad alternative. Thank you for a lovely time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Aug 2018
9.1

Easy access, located on a busy road near center - some overnight noise. In the interior, spaces are a bit narrow, but well maintained. The kitchen is well equipped and very clean, breakfast delicious, the staff was present, informed and helpful at all times. In our case for a 4bed room we found the space between bunk beds far too narrow to be comfortable. Could be solved by placing a curtain-like element. In general, for us it was a good resting place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2018
4.0

Very basical facilites. Some lack of higiene. The breakfast was precarious for the Irish standard of Hostels. Few showers for the number of guests. The staff is friendly but the hostels lacks a proper IT system for the bookings, giving chances to misunderstandings.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • justinpotgieter4930
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2018
7.1

Castle Hostel is a loverly Home away from home when in Tralee, all the best pubs and clubs are just down the road, and its close to everywhere in the city. There are storage lockers downstairs that can fit luggage the size of a had luggage on a plane however there are no lockers in the room, and there is only one bathroom/toilet for 8 people which can be problem at times, other than that its a loverly homely place and Steven is a great help

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Aug 2018
9.7

Great hostel for a small town. In the middle of the town's center and five minutes away from the bus station. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2018
10.0

Id lived there for three days with my friend and living at 8 mixed dorms. It was lovely and really clean. the position is close to Lidl and bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2018
6.0

Good for single younger travellers who want somewhere central. The location is handy to local amenities but one does not feel secure at night. We were kept awake by rowdy party and or brawl during the night. This was extremely close to the hotel. We paid for a private room with ensuite. It was small but clean and had the basics. An extra was a Tv. Nice to watch in bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jul 2018
5.7

The hostel was our first impression of Tralee, but it looked a bit sketchy. There's no real reception, and the hostel is on a block with some shady streets in the back. The key system for rooms doesn't work because no one locks the door once they are in their room, so everyone can come in. The toilet and batchroom are the same, so much occupied in the morning. (But clean though!) Fortunately, Tralee city center was close and the best pubs and a big super market are just around the corner.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2018
9.1

Very accommodating staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2018
10.0

Steve is a great host.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×