Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Castle Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 831 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 831 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sally2751
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Sep 2018
8.3

This is a fine place to stay in the middle of Tralee. Lovely owner Stephen. Breakfast was a bit ho hum but everything else was fine. A climb up stairs to a very small but clean room. An inconsiderate guest woke us at 11.30 PM talking on his phone on the steps right outside our door. But minor difficulties.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • t41banks9765
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Sep 2018
8.3

Organised secure parking for our motorcycles(payable)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2018
7.1

The 4 beds room was too small (had a double bed straight in-front of the door) and the mattresses were awful!!!! I slept on the floor which was very cozy for me.. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was simple. The Wifi was poor and I was told it only works near the leaving room, which is also the reception, and that closes around 22:00. The showers were good. A good night sleep is the most important factor but the value for money (compared to other hostels) was OK.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Aug 2018
6.9

Budget accommodation, comfortable beds in a tiny room with the smallest bathroom I’ve ever used attached! Central to Tralee; but what’s in Tralee? No oven, freezer or dinning table. Not good for groups/families, maybe best for single travellers?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • eb5185426
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2018
8.0

Price reasonable, staff accommodating, facility clean, good breakfast, well equipped kitchen, good location for guest without own car, close to bus terminal and stores.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • annikaprovily9552
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Aug 2018
7.4

Our stay was alright. The room and bathroom were really tiny and they only have ensuites. There wasn't any atmosphere in the hostel, especially in the kitchen and dinner room. The common room with couches was okay but very small. The staff that welcomed us wasn't very enthusiastic. The host of the hostel we met the day after was very kind though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • teresaokelly5421
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
10.0

The staff are very friendly and helpful we had a lovely 5 night in this hostel and I would go back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ntmiller144
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2018
8.9

My first night was somehow overbooked but they found a bed in another room for me and didn't charge me the full original price, which was great since I got in later than expected due to late flights and trains. The staff is phenomenal and the location was close to the mall and within walking distance of plenty of sights. The only fault I have is the wifi doesn't reach to the bedrooms but chilling down in the reception area and/kitchen isn't a bad alternative. Thank you for a lovely time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2018
9.1

Easy access, located on a busy road near center - some overnight noise. In the interior, spaces are a bit narrow, but well maintained. The kitchen is well equipped and very clean, breakfast delicious, the staff was present, informed and helpful at all times. In our case for a 4bed room we found the space between bunk beds far too narrow to be comfortable. Could be solved by placing a curtain-like element. In general, for us it was a good resting place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bshray8068
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
8.6

Great little place. Our host made us feel very welcome. The bathrooms were only just a little small however... Especially the sinks. And as there is no WiFi extender, those who stay in the topmost room as I did had pretty lousy WiFi connection in my room. But these are very minor issues. The hostel is conveniently located and close to a wide variety of grocery stores and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×