Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 3636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 3636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Sep 2018
6.9

There is no washing machine. The receptionists are nice. One particular person (not receptionist) - not very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Sep 2018
4.0

Great location, bedsheets were clean, but everything else was horrible.The whole place smells like dust (the carpet - everywhere - smells the most), there is mold on walls and ceilling, only 5 toilets for 15 rooms (60ppl or +), 3 showers with no locks, no lockers in the room, furniture old and dusty, there were 3 plugs in my room (again-7 beds!) and 1 was broken (quite dangerous), and no ladders for bunkbeds.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • sara_ayhan4921
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2018
2.6

Absolutely not recommendable to stay in this hostel!Our room was completely run down and dirty,just like the rest of the hostel.Kitchen not useable.Not a single toilet which would flush properly;using the toilet nearly drowned the entire bathroom every time which was disgusting.Group showers without a sign designating the gender.Had a problem with loud people at night which was ignored by the (inconsiderate up to outright unfriendly) staff.If you're not French the staff makes you feel unwelcome.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2018
3.4

Caught the cleaner in the act of stealing from my room lost my bank card and about 90 pounds. Made a police report but could do nothing as there are no cctv available. This hostel employs thieves!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2018
9.4

Really laid back and great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexisvantrees1005
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2018
4.6

This hostel is extremely dirty and smells really bad in the room. The showers and bathrooms were also not very clean

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2018
4.9

I booked this hostel stay for my friend and myself out of necessity, because the hostel we would have preferred was full when we needed it. This hostel is essentially worth what you pay for it, and though we were pleased that there were a couple of girls' only rooms, the rest of the hostel was, to be quite honest, appalling at best. That being said, it seems as though, with the change of management Central Hostel is undergoing, change of facility may also (hopefully).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2018
5.4

The place is cheap and in Notting Hill, in a nice Victorian house. Still I had a terrible experience at Central Hostel mainly because of the unbearable heat (all windows open, it must have been 35°C and 100% humidity). Then, I was on the 4th floor with no elevator, the room and the bathroom were filthy, there is no privacy at all (in the bathroom there are 3 showers with no possibility to get dressed in the cabin, or to lock the main door). I've seen better in London even at this price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • amyeagleburger8068
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2018
8.9

Great location right near Bayswater Tube Stop. Quick, no-hassle check, very clean private room and bathroom facilities. Individuals rooms are very clean and basic but common area is a bit grungy and had a smell of old socks. I didn't care because I didn't spend time in the common area but something to be aware of.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ioanapanda5828
  • Romania, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2018
4.6

Wouldn't recommend this place... Th location is really cool but everything else is just horrible

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×