Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Central Park Studios at Lexington Ave. Co.

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 1059 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 1059 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Dec 2017
8.0

During the first couple of nights I was in a really bad room, so the manager changed my room to a MUCH better one, so rating is some kind of average.. No dormitories or much shared spaces, but if you’re looking for a private room in NY for a cheap, that works. Location is great- not downtown Manhattan but very close to a subway station with line 6, which works 24/7.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2017
4.0

The outside temperature was -14°C. The heating did not exist. When we questioned this, we were told that it did (when there was none). Although we paid for a week stay, we had to leave early as the bitter cold was unbearable. Blankets and linen were old and stained. Blankets not sufficient for temperatures. Still charged full price (7 nights), even when deposit was paid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2017
9.1

The Manager was there to welcome me, as soon as I arrived he showed me round, told me If i need anything than the office is open or ring him. The area was safe and close to many places and 2 blocks away from Central Park and the east river. Amazing views.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2017
4.6

On the evening around 7pm when I arrived by taxi, I barely could find the "hotel", it looked no different from the neighboring residential apartments. I climbed the stairs and found a few numbers posted on the door (closed), none was answered, then I went to the basement, quiet and didnt see any sign of front desk or checking in. I called again all the numbers posted on the door (including late hours numbers), none was answered. A guy called back 2.5 hr later when I was at another hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2017
6.6

Good location, easy access to the subway, laundry and restaurants nearby. Place is not a regular hostel, so lacks of atmosphere. Even though rooms and bathrooms were clean you could spot a roach (or two) every once in a while (but, again, this is an old building in NYC and all of us have seen worse on the subway for that matter). Rooms are very basic, share bathrooms and showers were always available. Good stay but in the last night they had a very noisy guest which made difficult to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Oct 2017
3.7

Although in a relatively convenient place to stay the security was never that good as the front door was always open. The cleanliness was appalling. The bed sheets were definitely not clean with steins all over the, the shower had flys, the floor had bugs and the sink had hair all over it. It really was disgusting definitely not worth the money! The bathroom facilities are very poor and the kitchen facilities is zero, no crockery cutlery or anything so seems no point to having a fridge.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • amadeusreise3503
  • Austria, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2017
6.3

The building is old, very tiny room-not clean: I got another room in another building than the one reserved for me because keys were nowhere to be found; kitchen facilities couldn´ t be used because they were very dirty-especially coffee machine/ micro wave; wifi didn´ t work at all; the common shower was a disaster: should get repaired and cleaned properly; as single rooms are very expensive in NYC this is ok for what you pay, but don´ t expect too much of your accomodation

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2017
7.1

Amazing location - very close to subway, central park and museums. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and shower are very small, but not a problem if you plan to be out in the city all day. It is however not very clean. There is a lot of dust, grime and mildew, plus an unpleasant smell in the common areas. The air conditioner is so loud it has to be turned off during sleep (for me), which can get hot. Other guests can also be very noisy at night. But overall it was good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2017
9.1

My room was great and I was close to central park. The staff was polite and helpful and the room was of adequate size and very clean. However, the bathrooms are shared and shower was quite small. But aside from that, I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
8.9

Great, everything you need and want in New York...best city ever!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×