Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 935 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 935 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • phinworld8855
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2018
9.4

Friendly and attentive staff and a nice communal atmosphere make this hostel. It’s clean and has everything you need and the friendly staff and atmosphere make it a real pleasure to stay in. We spent two nights here while cycling up to St John O’Groats and it was a great place to rest up. I would highly recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2018
7.1

Kind of overpriced for what you get, and parking is very limited, but it works as a place to sleep for the night. It's not close to anything though, because Glencoe is far away and Fort Williams has horrible traffic during tourist season, while Glenfinann and other towns are 20-40min drive away.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th May 2018
6.3

The staff are really friendly but it is one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. This place is such a con like so many UK hotels/hostels. They seem to have spent money on new dumb technology like door locks and cookers that are not user friendly at all. Maybe they got a huge discount because the people who invented it realised it was awful! At least put instructions on the wall on how to use the cooker! Also bad smell! And they desperately need new mattresses- they are awful! Shameful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment praising our staff. Unlike our many guests who have benefitted from our new, ultra-modern, state of the art door locks and super-safe induction hobs, it seems you have not appreciated the ‘dumb technology’. We’re sorry you think ‘this place is a con like so many UK hotels/hostels’. Contentment, it may be said, is a state-of-mind, and we really do hope you find this at some time during your travels, and that you will like most become a master of the new technology.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2018
10.0

A lovely hostel in a great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • asoja4390
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th May 2018
8.0

Nice place to stay, a little out of the way though as its in Banavie, but it's right by Neptune's Staircase and is a nice area. Good kitchen facilities and friendly staff. Only downside is the bed was a bit uncomfortable though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2018
10.0

The hostel is in a good location it was clean and staff were very friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your kind comments and excellent rating. We appreciate it :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2018
5.1

Laundry had to be done by the hosts who are only there certain hours. Our doorknob kept falling off in the room, and in order to open the door from the inside you had to use two hands, one on the deadbolt and one on the doorknob. This was inconvenient when we had stuff in our hands trying to open the door quietly in the dark in consideration of fellow hostel mates. The toilets were absolutely horrific. I felt dirty after showering. For the price it is definitely not worth it. Way overpriced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your hostel experience, but assure you staff are resident on the premises and we are available should we be required at any time. Our showers are spotlessly cleaned every day, unfortunately in shared hostel accommodation the maintenance of a high standard is dependent upon other guests playing their part, but guests familiar with Hostels know this.

  • jajamartin17482
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2018
10.0

We had such a cozy awesome stay! Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Compliments from the USA. HOORAY!

8th Apr 2018
8.0

The hostel itself was awesome with a comfy and homely common area with a great kitchen. This hostel is ideal with a car or bicycle but on foot it was at least an hour walk to the centre of town. It’s set in a suburb but there is a nice park nearby. There is a restaurant close by and the nearest store is a 20 minute walk towards town. The staff were nice and helpful but everyone was greatly encouraged to leave before 10 and only check in after 17:00. I was grateful to have breakfast included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your review. If you walk along the Great Glen Way from the train station it’s the quickest and most scenic route to the Hostel and takes around 40 mins. We’re sorry you didn’t realise our check-in and checkout times - they are fairly standard except in busy city-centre hotels

  • stefanocappello5060
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2018
7.4

Beautiful but far from fort William

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×