Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 967 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2018
7.7

Good location for Ben Nevis, nice living area and generally quiet. Inside is a bit like a maze but quirky. Nice hostel enjoyed staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for reviewing your stay in our hostel. Hope to see you again :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
22nd Jul 2018
6.6

One of our group was covered in bites after staying here so pretty sure there are bed bugs. Most of the staff were friendly but the woman who was in charge in the morning (or at least acted like she was), was rude to the other staff and not particularly welcoming to the guests

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You've pulled the old 'bed bugs' card and said the woman in charge was rude because she had reason to mention your bad conduct. Readers of this review, and others, can rest assured we have bedroom cleanliness as our highest priority.

20th Jul 2018
10.0

this was a great little hostel, not busy or loud. not real close to the city center but we were driving so it didn't affect us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for ordering as top marks. We really appreciate it. Thank you for staying :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
15th Jul 2018
8.6

We were only here for one night but had an enjoyable stay. Facilities were good, big showers and lots of toilets. Security was good with electronic locks. Staff were friendly and helpful. This hostel was quiet a bit out of town which was okay because we had a car but not sure how you would go if you didn’t. Overall, a good base and quick stop over on our holiday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2018
9.1

Great hostel with lovely staff, really clean. The washrooms were a bit too busy and they ran out of toilet paper. Overall, I recommend it, the locks are right around the corner for a stroll and there's a lovely hotel with a patio for a beverage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review and advices. Sorry about the toilet paper situation. It happens in the best of places, but we will try to make sure we’re more on the ball. :)

  • sball19891191
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2018
9.7

Brilliant location, good rooms, and friendly staff. Shared dorms, bathrooms, and kitchen area, so be aware of this before you book. Off street parking at the front and rear. Perfect for our trip to Fort William to climb Ben Nevis and at a great price. Can't recommend enough. Only note would be to include more toilet roll in the morning!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your kind comments. We really appreciate it. We’ll make sure we step up the toilet roll provision... :)

8th Jul 2018
10.0

The view out from the hostel is just awesome. The location is really nice plus the management is pretty friendly. I definitely would stay here next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Really pleased to receive top marks. Thank you. :)

  • lbargelt7972
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2018
8.6

Comfortable, a bit pricier than other hostels in Scotland but great facilities. Not easily reached via public transportation from Fort William. The train station is a few minutes down the road though so you'd have to check that schedule; I couldn't find an appropriate bus route.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a nice review. Unfortunately, you happened to be here just as the local buses were going through some major changes! The new timetable is now in place, with buses every 30 minutes from at the end of our road to Fort William town centre, so we hope you'll be back again soon to try them out :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Jun 2018
9.7

We had a great stay at Chase the Wild Goose! A lot of it had to do with the friendly backpackers from around Europe that were joining us, but the front desk was friendly, the bedding was clean, and the check-out process was straightforward and easy. It's a good value to stay here if you find yourself near Ft. Williams!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are delighted to receive a high rating and excellent review from you. So good to receive positive comments. We hope to see you again :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jun 2018
8.9

Enjoyed my stay here but the dorm security has a few glitches / like it’s hard to open the door sometimes/ close to the canal and a good restaurant so you can walk but it’s too far from town to walk . You need a car to stay here / staff helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We’re pleased to read your comments and useful feedback. We’ve checked the electronic door locks. Each is made to a high specification by renowned manufacturer Yale and is working as it should. But new technology can take some getting used to...

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×