Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 881 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2017
6.6

Cleanliness was very good, just need to get the drying room up and running properly asap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. Sorry, We don’t have a Drying Room as such, nor do we advertise having one. We do have a drip-drying Space and tumble dryers are available for a small charge.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Oct 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay at chase the wild goose hostel in Fort William. Was out of town a little but we had a car so this wasn't a problem for us. Enjoyed our breakfast. Great bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Sep 2017
8.0

Theres not much around so great hostel if you want to spend time outdoors. Bring some food, the restaurant is the only one is way too expensive. Overall very clean and pleasant

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yep. Definitely the Great Outdoors is the place to be when you visit the area. The Canal is great to spend time on and the mountains of the Nevis Range are amazing. Loch Arkaig is wonderful for wildlife. Take the ‘Hogwarts Express’ over the Glenfinnan viaduct. Or stay in and meet amazing people with amazing stories from across the World. The Lochy Bar on the canal is a cheaper alternative to meals at the hotel or bistro.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2017
3.7

The staff were lovely and helpful and the nearby Locky hotel served a delicious apple and caramel pie but sadly these were the only positives during our stay. Our room smelt like a perspiring armpit and the entire hostel was damp and grotty. I had difficulties sleeping on both nights due to the smell (and one of the guests who was rigged up to a sleep apnea machine). It's in an unusual residential area that isn't picturesque. I think you'd be better off a staying in nearby pretty Glencoe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

There is a saying of accommodation providers that you live or die by your reviews. For you to say ((when you reviewed your stay on Tripadvisor) that we do not live up to the reviews expressed by others when they are mostly 'complimentary' is a puzzle. However, we do recognise that hostel accommodation is not for everyone. Perhaps it's our keen pricing that attracts? We find that 'sleep apnea' guests and armpit odours are rare, but we do offer shared accommodation for backpackers, so the possibility of these things occurring should be taken into consideration before you book. Your rating and lack of comment on what we actually provide makes it difficult for us to know where we have got things so wrong for you (you are the first person to describe our newly refurbished hostel to be 'damp and grotty'...) but we shall nevertheless endeavour to continue to improve where we can. In the meantime we are enjoying some lovely sunshine in what we consider to be a beautiful location, and the views of Ben Nevis today are absolutely amazing.

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2017
8.0

Quite good facilities, but not in a very good location - quite far from the city center and Ben Nevis public path

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hostel, and thank you for your feedback. We are however disappointed you did not like the location. We think it is beautiful where we are, with so much wonderful countryside around, the canal, and the most amazing views of Ben Nevis. What's not to like?

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
8.6

Really good hostel if you are climbing or mountaineering in the Nevis region. Beds are very comfortable. The dining area is a wee bit small when the hostel is particularly busy but this was not a major issue during our stay. We went B&B and the breakfast was enough for a day out climbing. The nearby hotel provides decent food and beer. I would recommend this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed your stay, and my thanks for your excellent review.

17th Aug 2017
10.0

Great little place to stay - stayed twice now this year and on both occasions we had no problems. Will stay here again when next in the region.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2017
7.7

Basic hostel facilities for a very reasonable price. Nice communal spaces and well equipped kitchen, good selection of items in the included buffet breakfast. Great location for walking the Great Glen Way, helpful staff and friendly atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for reviewing your stay and for your very generous comments. Our new bathrooms, kitchen and carpets are often commented on and this makes us very happy. We are already planning more improvements once the manic summer season passes.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
7.7

A good hostel at a fine location, basically right on the frontsteps for trips to the surrounding area. The hostel looks great, there's lots of information on things to do, the bathrooms are fine and the kitchen is very decent. The beds, however, are horrendous. Spring beds on which you'll feel and hear every single spring, and pillows that are too thick to aid you in finding any comfort in these beds. I honestly slept better on something akin to a plank on the night train from Athens..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not like our pillows. We replaced these recently so they are new. Many have given complimentary remarks about the comfort of pillows, duvets and beds. But it is a personal experience... We send our best staff to assess the beds on the night train to Athens, to test the validity of your review. Maybe she never come back as weather so good there... :)

  • michelle_graham_34537
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Fun drive to get there. Neat, clean facility. Cute community.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×