Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1002 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1002 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2018
8.0

Only stayed one night before a hiking trip. Hostel was great, staff were friendly and the hostel is only 4 or 5 minutes walk from the station and only a few minutes on the train in to fort william.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and your feedback will be useful for future guests. We hope to see you again.

  • davidpijak9788
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Sep 2018
8.6

Good hostel, but drying room is small, dining room is far from kitchen and there could be more toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • megan0049216
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Sep 2018
4.9

It was further from Ben Nevis then what was expected. The bathroom set up was horrible, the fans were clogged with dirt. The beds were very uncomfortable. For the one night we stayed and the price it was fine but I wouldn’t stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. It’s very important to us that our guests are aware of our location in relation to amenities and attractions, and that they understand the style of HOSTEL accommodation we offer, i.e. shared dormitories and shower-rooms. We believe we do this reasonably well in our descriptions. Our map on this platform shows guests EXACTLY where we are located. We’re sorry you made a wrong choice based on your inaccurate understanding of what we offer.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Sep 2018
8.0

The hostel is a little harder to reach with public transportation than expected, especially when trains were cancelled due to bad weather and we had to rely on busses. Nevertheless, it is probably a great base for people who have a car to explore Scotland with. The kitchens and showers stood out positively, as both seemed recently refurbished and very modern.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2018
9.4

Excellent stay, very clean and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments and excellent rating. Hope to see you again soon. :)

  • shanesbagni2983
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2018
9.7

Very nice facilities, kitchen was huge, dining room had lots of seating, and the bathrooms were clean. The beds were comfortable, and the area is very quiet. Only complaint was they were too booked up for me to stay longer. Would definitely recommend, and stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are a very popular Hostel and many don’t get to stay. You’ve got to be quick.... Thank you for your lovely comments, we really appreciate these and we hope to see you again :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2018
8.9

Great place for a quick stop over, lovely buzzing atmosphere. Shame one of the shower/loos was out of order as it was fully booked which meant a queue for the loo at times! Breakfast great value 👍

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your excellent rating and comments. Yes, unfortunately a local plumber has let us down very badly and one new shower is out of action temporarily... very happy you enjoyed your stay :)

  • ssabour1889
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2018
10.0

I was in Fort William for a conference and I really enjoyed my 7 days stay in the hostel. The kitchen has everything you need and it is also a perfect place to start some walks around Fort William. I really recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annagill861270
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2018
9.7

Really great hostel. Great vibe, handy location near Neptune's Staircase, with parking close to fort William but far enough away to enjoy the region. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms had a cool name system and safety entry. Would definitely be keen to stay back here again .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for giving us an outstanding rating and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We also think our location near to Neptune’s Staircase is really good. Hope to see you again soon.

  • mashackleton243294
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2018
8.3

Well-equipped, friendly little hostel just outside Fort William. Right by the Caledonian Canal’s five lock system “Neptune’s Staircase”. Good value DIY breakfast and a couple of pubs nearby if you want to eat out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It was very nice meeting you. Hope to see you again. :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×