Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chill On The Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jun 2018
10.0

on the Beach hostel is definitely chill and has the friendliest staff ever. The staff is eager to go out of there way to make you feel at home or to become familiar with the city. The rooms are amazingly clean and all the guest are easy to interact with. The location has to be the best that Rio can provide as restaurants, shopping and the beach are only a few minutes away. Chill on the Beach hostel is definitely my second home and I look forward to coming back soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maisiebracher
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Apr 2018
6.0

I didn’t like the fact there were no locks on the doors, the bathrooms had a few things to work on such as broken loo seats and hair on the floor. There was also rotten food in a bowl in the kitchen on the floor. The location is good, very friendly staff and nice outdoor area at the front. The beds were also ripped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2018
10.0

Couldn't recommend Chill enough! After only planning to spend 3 days here we ended up staying a week because we had such a good time. The staff were so helpful taking us out to the best nights and tourist spots, especially Sophie who was brilliant! The hostel is literally Less than 5 minutes from Copacabana beach and right next door to a massive supermarket so there's everything you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2018
10.0

Best hostel ever in Rio De Janeiro with the best location surrounded with everything you think about and the beach is one block away , the staff are incredible always friendly gives a lot of information and the best pre party place with daily party some where around , I recommend 100%

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • noahprevost453662
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Mar 2018
10.0

Chill on the Beach Hostel was perfect! The location is all you can ask for, the staff and the cleaning lady are so sweet and really create a great ambiance! The parties they recommend are very fun, and you can still get a good night’s sleep since the hostel itself is quiet once the bar closes. Would definitely recommend and I’ll be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kazamanwar1790
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2018
10.0

I had a wonderful stay at chill on the beach. Staff makes the place, especially the bartender I don’t remember his name 😄 Location is great, very close to shops and 2 blocks from the beach. I’ll always recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2018
7.4

The staff is super nice but the facilities are a bit run down, we stayed in the private room, it is very bright in the mornings due to a skylight in the ceiling, but no window for fresh air. Also no hooks to hang our damp towels! The staff is extremely nice though and will help you overcome any obstacle - Noah I’m thinking of yoouuu :D!!! We might suggest though that the sister hostel ‘Walk on the Beach’ may have better facilities and is only 2 blocks away - get your free caipirinha there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2018
8.9

I enjoyed my stay here! Staff and guests are ver friendly, breakfast is good. The area was very chaotic during carnival, and felt a little sketchy for a female travelling solo. I can’t speak to the location during other times of the year.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2018
5.7

Atmosphere was not really good. Very nice and lovely lady taking care of the breakfast though. The beds are awful. Smal 3 storey bunks. The matrasses were very bad and made of plastic so the sheet would get off all the time. Room was very small and cramped with no room for things. Would not stay again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You booked a second stay in one of our hostels and left a bad review to both of them. We highly respect positive criticism and use them as indicators of our services, so we can keep on providing the best experience anyone can possibly have in Rio. However, in your case, we truly believe you intentionaly wanted to damage our reputation, since you had plenty of other hostels to choose from when you first checked out. Therefore, we will not address to the points you have mentioned and cannot regard your opinion

6th Feb 2018
8.3

I had a great time at Chill during Carnival. What made it great was the people, location, and staff. The facilities were definitely basic and there was a huge up-charge for the week of Carnival, but I enjoyed my stay because it was fun and safe. There were a few things which I did not like. The hostel does not allow outside alcohol in which I am not a fan of (a hostel is supposed to be your home right?) and the beds/sheets are poor. It has air-condition which is only used at night in the dorms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. You came to Rio during the busiest week of the year, that is why prices for everything were higher. We do not let people bring their own alcohol because we have a bar, with very reasonable prices, which help people get to know each other and socialize. The air-con in on during restricted time, which is clear on our microsite and informed during check in (it helps bringing down the costs, prices and is also ecologically correct =). We are happy you had a good experience at Chill On The Beach Hostel.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×