Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel

  • NO.52 Xi Si Bei 2 Tiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Oct 2018
9.1

A great hostel in a centrally-located hutong. Staff were super helpful and friendly, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The Great Wall tour they offer is good, and the breakfast and food is decent too. I would definitely recommend, even though it isn't the cheapest hostel, it's worth paying a little extra

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Oct 2018
9.4

Chinese Box Courtyard was a joy to stay in. Upon arrival, the staff was very welcoming and they were also helpful and accommodating during my stay. The standard of hygiene in this hostel is above what you can expect in China. Everything gets cleaned on a regular basis, this was the case for the rooms and the other facilities. Location wise you are close to many different highlights in Beijing. The subway is only an 8-minute walk from the hostel. The Jinshanling tour offered is beyond amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2018
10.0

I can only recommend this hostel to everyone. I stayed in a single room and was really happy with having chosen this hostel. The staff was great and the whole hostel was generally well done!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lexiwilkinson877120
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2018
9.1

The location is the only thing I did not like about this hostel. Not really close to anything and is down an alley which is fine unless your traveling alone and you get there way late. But inside the hostel is amazing. Such a fun atmosphere and I felt so safe! The hostel was really clean and the staff was amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Sep 2018
9.7

Cutest hostel I’ve ever seen! This place is so trendy, hip and cool. The staff was super nice and friendly too. They offered a free dumpling making lesson for us and our group was tempted to drop everything we had planned that day just to go. The beds were comfy, they provided shower shoes, a big towel, warm showers with nice water pressure, clean western toilets, and the breakfast was great. I recommend this to anyone looking for a hostel in Beijing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Sep 2018
8.3

Lovely hostel with a nice vibe. A little out the way but easy to follow directions. Dorms had good size lockers. Good showers although only 2 for the whole hostel. Dumpling making session on Friday night was good fun :) the staff are so friendly and very helpful with good English

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Sep 2018
10.0

The building is secure with locked doors with a key for the main door and your room. The location is good as it is very close to lots of restaurants and is easily accessible to lots of great Beijing sights. It is clean and I had breakfast included in my room. I had a very pleasant stay. The staff are brilliant, very friendly and helpful. I would highly reccomend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kqvdang7938
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Aug 2018
9.1

I think Hostelworld messed up and only booked 2 nights of the 5 that I actually scheduled for (giving the benefit of the doubt). But everything turned out fine, as I was able to sleep in the tea room. Rooms and bathrooms are comfortably clean. The location is about a 15 minute walk to the closest subway station, and you have to walk through an alley. What I did was rent a free bike from the hostel, ride it to the closest subway station and left it there till I returned at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2018
8.6

The staff were so friendly and helpful!! My only complaint is that the hostel is located down a narrow alley that makes it difficult to find at first and extremely creepy to walk down at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good morning! Thanks for your review. We are inside the famous ancient Hutong area (about 500 years old from Ming dynasty) which is well protected most in Beijing. It is not available to change the outlook of all the old buildings. On the other hand, you can know about the true face of old Beijing City, experience the true life of Local people lead. Beside, people who live in Hutongs(alleys between old buildings ) are always kind and friendly. Don't worry. Have a nice day!

5th Aug 2018
9.4

My favorite of the hostels of Beijing so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×