Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City House Hostel Old City Philly

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Dec 2017
7.7

Amazing staff! Everyone was so nice and welcoming and extremely helpful when it came to travel suggestions and making us feel at home. It can be a bit noisy, especially when some staff are chatting loudly in the hall ways, however, that particular staff member was fired the next day so it should be all good, :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2017
9.7

The staff was the friendliest and warmest of any hostel I ever stayed at. They had a karaoke thing the first night I stayed there and got me up on the dance floor to my surprise and had me singing. It was great fun! The facilities are very clean. The beds very comfortable and the pricing was fantastic deal! Highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2017
7.4

the place needs to be cleaner in the bathrooms and the towels, rugs etc are old. the bathrooms need to be fixed up, ceiling tiles and new paint. front desk person sleeping late night and early morning.not good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2017
9.7

Cozy house with amazing location in old city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2017
4.6

It is a rather small hostel, the cleanliness is alright and the location very good. However, the staff is really weird. There are more people working in the hostel than there are guests. Most of the staff smokes weed all day and is very lazy because of that. The other ones are alcoholics. One of them got so drunk the other night on a pub crawl we had to take care of her. The atmosphere is bad in the hostel because the staff does not get along well with each other and they don't care about others

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • roger8501731
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2017
10.0

Great place 😉 and close to everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Oct 2017
7.7

Perfect location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2017
8.9

The staff, especially Mark and Huner (both went out of their ways to help), was very friendly. It was difficult to tell who was the staff (I saw in other's reviews), but the friendly mingling of the staff to guests quickly became the charm of this hostel. The living room was very comfortable. The kitchen kept tidy and approachable. Water pressure weak and not hot enough both in shower and sink. I'll be happy to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Macedonia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2017
5.4

Expected a lot more from the place,and the staff as well.The lobby area was nice tho.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2017
8.9

it was really good to go to historical place. The staff always help us and very kindly persons. If I have a chance to visit again, I will use here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×