Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cityhostel Berlin

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • medina_husic779
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2018
2.9

The hostel was dirty, the bathrooms and toilets were disgusting and unpractical. Worst of all: there were BEDBUGS in one of the beds and I doubt it was cleaned properly after we notified the staff. The reservation went wrong and the staff was not willing to fix the issue. There seemed to be zero communication between them. Keycards were just handed to us whenever we asked, staff did not check whether we were indeed staying in that particular room. Not safe. Worst hostel I stayed in so far.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • srpowell6814
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
8.9

Good stay. It could get a bit noisy at night and our shower leaked water everywhere, but those are our only complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2018
4.9

This has been one of the worst hostels I've stayed in during my travels. The location is good if you want to be close to the tourist attractions but the service from the staff was horrendous. My key card stopped working 2 different times, the staff would give me different information, one saying there isnt laundry when there is, and the staff, Ernest, seemed annoyed I'd ask to extend my stay. I regretted asking for an extension as it seemed the staff went out of their way to be unpleasant.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jul 2018
7.1

Good world cup viewing screen with good atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Nice! We are so happy that you enjoyed it! We built our small living room extra for the world cup, so we are very glad that you found a good atmosphere! We hope to see back again soon!

3rd Jul 2018
6.0

Stayed in the most cramped 6 bed dorm I've ever seen. Washroom was not particularly clean. Pillow and bed were uncomfortable. Wifi was s***. Location is good but not great- bars and restaurants are walkable but far. Staff were very nice and helpful. Overall, if the price had been half of what I paid I would've been happy, but I did book the night before so maybe that played a role. Would not reccomend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am so sorry that you did not get what you expected! :/ Please next time let us know at the reception if the toilets are not clean, so we can inform our cleaning service.

  • sebastiang9389
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2018
8.6

Very nice budget stay. Got a room that was 7 meters away from the lobby, so not super quiet, but the price was fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2018
7.1

Good location if you want to be near main tourist sites and museums. Otherwise this part of Mitte can feel rather insipid. The hostel itself is kind of insipid too. But it's quite clean and the bedding is comfortable enough. It was a little bit loud (must be possible to have doors that don't slam shut so easily). Dorm room was rather cramped, not great design. Staff were great though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate it very much and hope to see you again soon! :)

  • jodieshankland7870
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2018
8.3

The hostel was located pretty much around the corner from historical tourist sights. The staff were nice, and the reception was always staffed, however they didn't know about good places to go out to for night life when we asked. There was no kitchen so couldn't store food, or make it. The bathroom was clean. The communal areas had no atmosphere, and there weren't many English guests when we went. There was a luggage room to use once we had checked out, and there were lockers in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lemonhousetheron9342
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jun 2018
10.0

Some shelves and hooks in showers will be nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your wonderful rating and for your suggestion! We appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

  • julieellwoodclinic3472
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jun 2018
6.6

We really enjoyed our stay in city hostel Berlin. The facilities were basic but adequate. The toilet and shower area were only ok, and there was a bad smell in the toilet even though they were very clean. The beds were comfortable and sleeping area spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to be able to welcome you one more time soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×