Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Clown and Bard

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Nov 2017
2.9

Do not stay here! keys stuck to a big wooden stick. showers spraying all over the place on your clothes and towel. mattresses need to be replaced, i could feel the bars of the bed after laying on it all night, linen provided was torn, breakfast 70 CZK. scrappy graffiti tags in the bathroom. kitchens only available inside some of the dorm rooms i was told. inconvenient and not social staff are not knowledgeable of the area. room wasn't cleaned during 3 night stay and dirty cutlery at breakfast.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • craigtommyj
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2017
8.6

We booked the Clown & Bard as it's advertised as a lively/party type hostel, however, at the time we went, this couldn't be far from the truth. One of our group was arriving 8 hrs before us, yet he wasn't able to check in unless he paid for everyone else in the group, not a great start. I even tried to sort this prior by email, but the person I was corresponding with talked in a combination of T&C's & binary. Would go back, but only if same age throughout as most 50+ years.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • candidoph8211
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd Nov 2017
7.7

The location is good, lots of bars, restaurants and shops and walking distance - 15ish minutes - to the old centre. The rooms were alright, but the shower not so much. Only to toilets on my floor and one of them was also a shower, with no barrier (curtains or a box), which means when someone showered, the toilet was out ou question for at least an hour. The bar staff is great, but the hostel was really quiet due to low season.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2017
8.3

Not the most social hostel I've ever stayed in but that could just be due to timing. Incredibly nice reception staff, very accommodating and helpful, rooms were nice, only complaint is that my room with 8 people all shared one shower so the wait for the shower was quite long in the mornings/night and the floor in the shower room got pretty dirty. It isn't RIGHT in the city but its an easy/safe 20 minute walk to get to the old town square and everything over there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2017
9.1

Fantastic staff with great facilities and easy access to the metro!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Oct 2017
8.9

very good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2017
5.4

Security felt weak as the front door was never locked in my two nights there. Key system was a huge pain as guests are handed 3 keys attached to a large piece of wood. Hard to carry the keys and around, and was never actually told what the other 2 keys were for. Bar was always empty but in fairness it is the off season.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2017
3.4

This hostel dont have a good energy, just dont stay there, find another one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear that you didn't like your stay with us. But it would be nice to hear something more so we can see what we can improve then just saying that we don't have good energy. Best regards, Clown and Bard team

  • joelneilson94
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2017
6.3

Staff friendly enough, and location okay - just far enough out of town to access cheaper bars yet an easy ~20min walk to town. Beds were quite uncomfortable and a bit of a musty smell throughout the place. Shower fixture was also broken which meant water sprayed over the curtain and onto your towel and clothes. All in all not an unpleasant stay, but I expected a little more based on other reviews. It's perfectly fine if you're okay staying somewhere a bit rough around the edges.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2017
5.7

No escalator to climb up to the 5th floor. I was carrying less luggage so I was ok but I saw few girls with huge suitcases. It would be nightmare for them to climb up 5 floors if they get a dorm there. During my visit the place was a bit sad. My dorm's toilet were smelling all the time. They were clean but no air freshener were provided. So we had to use our own. Staff was friendly and have good recommendation to food and places.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×