Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Cocomama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 2755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 2755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2018
8.9

Hostel is in a great location, very cool neighbourhood, 30 min walk from Amsterdam Central and Red Light District through some of the nicest streets in the city, also close to the Rijksmuseum, Heineken Experience. Staff are great, very friendly and helpful (Shay was great). Highly recommend going to eat at Bazaar if you stay here, which is 5 mins walk away. 100% would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alex_godfrey19916729
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th May 2018
9.7

Had an excellent stay at Cocomama - the location was very good, the staff were very friendly (with a couple staying at the Hostel being able to get to know guests better). The beds were a little squished into the room, but were nonetheless comfy. The bathrooms were also quite small - if you are larger, I promise you that it will be a tough time trying to sit on the loo. Most guests generally commune in mornings and evenings in the common area, and groups generally went out together. Recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marialovega4394
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2018
10.0

Cocomama is love and all the staff mean it. We love to stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2018
9.7

Overall I really loved staying at Cocomama. The people here were absolutely fantastic, the quality of the room was great, and the common area was great as well. Tons of cool activities also that you had the option to take part in, and I would highly recommend doing any of the tours run by Cocomama. Definitely enjoyed my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dbarozinsky6190
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2018
9.1

The most comfy bed I slept in out of any hostel I’ve stayed at! The staff was friendly, accommodating and helpful. The cat was a plus. I went on the pub crawl with a group of people which was super fun. My room mates were very respectful of the space as well. My issue was that there was black mold all over the bathroom ceiling, which makes it super hard to breath in the bathroom, especially since the bathrooms don’t ventilate well. I noticed this is many hostels I’ve been in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ow yeah, we are grateful for the "most-comfy-bed"-award, thank you so much! Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the mold in the bathroom - you’re right. We clean the bathrooms daily and they are spotless clean. However we made an appointment with the painter to give a fresh lick of paint - thanks for your tip! XOXO

16th May 2018
9.4

Staff are all extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the city. They are usually down to hang out with you (or go out during pub nights) so if you're a solo traveler it makes it a bit easier to socialize. The location is very convenient to different bars, restaurants and little shops. They can also provide recommendations. It's a smaller hostel but travelers can mingle in the kitchen area and participate in hostel events. There's also a cute cat that only moves if you have food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th May 2018
9.4

I have stayed for seven nights and was so grateful for the welcoming staff, great facilities and marvelous atmosphere in the hostel. The obly drawback I can think of is that its a bit far away from the central station and u need to take a tram at 3 euro to get to the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • amiradibnia220
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2018
10.0

This place was a great first hostel experience. The team at Cocomama is awesome; gave us a map of the city and marked all important locations to check out during our stay. Clean rooms ,comfortable beds just the bathroom was a bit tight which was not a big deal.Free breakfast in the morning and I had a very relaxed time and met chilled people overall. Best backpacker option available. I Will definitely go back if I am in Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kellyjdale2214
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2018
9.7

Great cozy stay with friendly staff and like-minded travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2018
8.9

I think my only real complaint was that the entire time that I was staying here, the light in the awkward room between the hallway and the Windmill Dorm was out the whole time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ow that damn light! We are certain that that light is the only thing in the hostel that we cannot get on our side, it's just so stubborn! Nevertheless, we are pleased to read that it was your only real complaint and certainly hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with the Mama's! Hope to see you again whenever Amsterdam is on your calendar again! XOXO

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×