Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

18 Oct 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • michaeladooley
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
8th Oct 2018
9.4

Love it here and have stayed a few extra days just for the great atmosphere. Awesome people and a nice place for relaxing. Very community oriented and everyone socializes together in the evening. One of my favorites so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much, you are lovely. We are so happy you had a great stay. We wish you all the best with your travels and hope to see you again in the future. Linda and Cary

  • eawclowes
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Oct 2018
9.4

Staff were great as were the facilities and WiFi. Everyone who was staying got on which made for a great atmosphere in the evening

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, you're a legend! A big thank you for the positive review. It was great having you around for your stay, we hope the rest of your travels are as much fun. Take care and hope to see you again. Linda and Cary

4th Oct 2018
8.0

Best atmosphere in a hostel so far in Oz! Everyone was really friendly & welcoming; both staff and guests. Perfect location, just a 5 min walk to the shops and less than 10 from the bus stop but a free shuttle is provided. Kitchen could’ve been a bit cleaner & done with an extra sink & stovetops. Security is poor as most rooms are left unlocked but you can get a key but this means everyone else in the room needs one. No lockers in rooms which would be better than giving out optional keys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Your points on security is certainly an important one and an option that we are looking into for the future, so appreciate your thoughts on that one. About the kitchen, definitely in the evening when everyone is cooking together it can get busy so this will also be considered for future planning as we endeavour to make all facilities as user friendly as possible. Take care and once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. Linda and Cary

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2018
9.7

Really great stay here for a couple of days en route to Rainbow Beach. Super chilled, clean, good WiFi and friendly staff....oh and hot showers! Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, you are a real gem. Having your lovely smiling face around the hostel was a real pleasure. Thank you for sharing your yoga skills with the other guests, it was so lovely to watch and I know everyone enjoyed it immensely. Cary and I wish you all the very best for your exciting travel adventures ahead. We hope to see you here again one day. Good luck with your promising future.

  • morkrako
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Sep 2018
5.7

I really don't like the vibe of the hostel that they think we "family" even felt like student in class that u have to tell me what to do and when, i grow up and if i want connect people its be with mine reason not beacuse people force me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • tiger997968
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2018
10.0

Cool Bananas is the best hostel I've ever stayed in! I walked in and the guys at reception started cracking jokes with me almost instantly and were very welcoming and kind! I ended up extending my stay because I enjoyed it so much here! Everyone that works here is amazing and the facilities are great! It was super clean and very enjoyable over all! They have amazing surf lesson deals available as well that I highly recommend! Thanks team for being so wonderful! :) Hope to be back soon!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2018
8.6

Great little hostel with lovely staff and good showers. Great location for the beach, for the $25 bargain surf lessons and for kangaroo sanctuary. They need to repair their pick up van!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the wonderful review and ratings. Glad you enjoyed the surf lessons and the kangaroo sanctuary. Yes, the bus has been a pain! Waiting on parts....... hopefully soon! Take care, Linda and Cary

  • meredithjwebb72
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jul 2018
10.0

Amazing, friendly staff really make you feel comfortable. Kitchen spotless in comparison to other hostels. Only a 5 min walk from the little town but a shuttle service to pick you up with all your bags, tell you the basics (where to shop etc) and greet you with such energy in a flattering banana suit when you arrive off one of the tour buses coming into the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2018
8.9

Really loved it here. Even though it’s quiet in winter the atmosphere was great and the staff were so friendly. Interesting colour schemes but it was really clean and felt at home right away. Only negative I could say was that the receptionist was patronising to us when we arrived and difficult about a few things. Would have loved to have stayed here longer and would defiantly stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the hostel facilities. We apologise for the negative experience you had at our reception and would ask that any experience such as that is reported to us, the owners, so that we can rectify the situation immediately. In response to your comments we will be reviewing reception staff performance to ensure this doesn't happen again. We hope you can return to the banana family again one day. Safe and happy travels Rose. Linda and Cary.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Jun 2018
10.0

Cannot understand the bad reviews for this place! It was the most relaxed and homely hostel we’ve stayed at with great activities, advice and atmosphere. The surf lessons were so much better than at Byron and went on for double the time so well worth it (shout out to Wes and Berni!). Thanks for making us feel so at home and the fun WiFi riddles!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, you're a legend! What incredible feedback and so wonderful for our staff who make sure every guest feels welcome and at home. It makes us happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I'll be sure to tell Lorenzo, Wez and Berni about your feedback. We hope the rest of your holiday is amazing. Take care. Can't wait to see you again if you get back around to Agnes Water. Linda and Cary

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×