Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

23 Jun 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Jun 2018
10.0

Cannot understand the bad reviews for this place! It was the most relaxed and homely hostel we’ve stayed at with great activities, advice and atmosphere. The surf lessons were so much better than at Byron and went on for double the time so well worth it (shout out to Wes and Berni!). Thanks for making us feel so at home and the fun WiFi riddles!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, you're a legend! What incredible feedback and so wonderful for our staff who make sure every guest feels welcome and at home. It makes us happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I'll be sure to tell Lorenzo, Wez and Berni about your feedback. We hope the rest of your holiday is amazing. Take care. Can't wait to see you again if you get back around to Agnes Water. Linda and Cary

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2018
8.0

Chilled friendly laid back hostel! Very spacious, clean rooms and comfy beds! Surf school associated with the hostel, Gnarly tours is fantastic value and great fun! Really enjoyed my stay at cool bananas!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • charlottenesbitt917314
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th May 2018
7.1

Very chilled out, not really for us. Depends what you’re looking for. It doesn’t seem a very social hostel but maybe we were unlucky in timing. Staff are so friendly and helpful and want you to have the best experience. A really nice family atmosphere. Although they don’t give keys out to lock your room. Or the locks don’t work either, strange.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and felt that the staff were helpful and welcoming. It is a very chilled hostel but if you come back please be sure to check out the Facebook page for all the events that happen through the week and ask for suggestions to other activities as often there is a lot going on. In terms of keys, ALL ROOMS LOCK. KEYS ARE OFFERED TO ALL GUESTS. Sometimes this message is overlooked. We hope that you have a wonderful time travelling Australia and hope to welcome you again here so we can show you all the wonderful things you can do whilst in Agnes Water/1770. Linda and Cary

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st May 2018
7.7

Pros: Really awesome surf school called Gnarly Tours associated with the hostel. Comfy beds. Spacious rooms. Nice common space. Wifi blackout for “family time” is a neat idea. Cons: Lady at reception came off very nice at first but quickly became moody and rude to me for no reason. If you work in hospitality you should know better than to be inconsistent with ppl and treat everyone the way you’d like to be treated. This unfortunately killed my vibe at an otherwise really nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is used to continually improve our services. We are pleased you enjoyed our surf school and our WiFi free time. Our sincerest apologies for your experience with the receptionist on the day you were visiting. We encourage our staff to treat all guests with the greatest respect and will pass along your comments to further consolidate this important aspect of hospitality service. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia.

  • naamarozenblat3765
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2018
5.7

You must wash your dishes with murky water, everyday 6-8 PM there's a Wi-Fi shutdown and at 8 PM you have to solve the daily riddle to get the new wifi password, i found the forcing of the no internet policy upsetting. Bad lighting in the showers and there are no safes in the rooms and also no keys.. Anyone can enter....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for coming to see me with your issues the night you left Cool Bananas. We are on water restrictions as I mentioned to you and our staff do a fantastic job to keep the water hot and clean for you to wash up in but if there are a lot people using the kitchen they do not always get to it in time. With the Wifi most of our guest love it and comment they have read about it on our reviews we do give you the password if you need it. It is only a bit of fun for most people. We have not heard the lighting is no good in the bathrooms before.We do have yellow lights in because we live in the tropics these light do not attract the insects that would infest our bathrooms if we did not do this. We hope you have a better time in your next location. Thanks Cary

  • galdahan20071545
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2018
10.0

I've been traveling for almost 4 months, NZ and AUS and this is one of the best hostel I've ever hosted with. The kitchen is a little bit small but.. Great atmosphere, cool stuff , great bedrooms and facilities. Curry the manager of the hostel is so nice and kind! One of the best hostels on the east coast. I really reccomend to stay with Cool Bananas!!😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • schmitznatascha5120
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
1st Apr 2018
8.9

I loved my stay at the Cool Bananas hostel. The atmosphere was really good, the owner and the staff members were really great and the hostel itself was good fun. I enjoyed family time without WiFi and especially solving the riddle afterwards to get the new password. So why not 10/10? To be honest, the bathrooms could have been a little cleaner and in bad weather there was no sitting area during cleaning hours. But in fairness, those are minor inconveniences. This place is one of the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2018
9.4

Loved this place. Super chill, no keys to the rooms and the atmosphere was great. Perfect location, staff were lovely. Not much going in in Agnes but def worth it for 2 nights. Loved the WiFi blackout for 2 hours in the evening!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • clarissabooth6471
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Mar 2018
9.4

Great hostel with a wonderful atmosphere. Staff are beyond lovely and helpful - going above and beyond. Very inclusive activities arranged (eg movie night) and there is a $7 dinner most nights which was delicious and awesome value. Staff work hard to create a fun family atmosphere including 6-8pm WiFi cut off to encourage “family time” which is a cool idea (despite making it difficult to make travel arrangements at times). We were sorry to leave and would recommend this to anyone staying in AW!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2018
10.0

Loved this place. The now WiFi between 6-8 at night made it a really social hostel and cool atmosphere. The owners were really friendly. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×