Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 31 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 31 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ashleyppickens4996
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2018
9.4

I intended to only stay here for 2 nights, and ended up staying for 2 1/2 weeks because I enjoyed it so much. I love the atmosphere, and the staff and people staying here are great. Really clean kitchen and bathrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Rosenaisby1304
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Aug 2018
6.6

By far the weakest hostel I stayed in on this trip. The decor is well past its best and could really do with a freshen up. The private rooms are not particularly well equipped. There was only a single power socket in the room, and given it was winter we needed this to plug in the storage heater. The washing facilities left something to be desired. The free unlimited WiFi almost never worked. The location of the hostel is superb and from the outside it is stunning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Aug 2018
9.1

Lovely hostel in a beautiful old building. The common area is a lovely place to sit and has a balcony from which you can watch the hustle and bustle on the street below, plus a nice spacious kitchen. Could have done with more blankets on the beds. The bathrooms were nice and clean and showers were good. Staff were lovely, would come back 🙂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mcgoeyp9555
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Aug 2018
7.7

Great location and good wifi. Very limited bathroom facilities. Average on pretty much all other fronts. Atmosphere was non existent but I’m sure that has to do with visiting in the winter instead of summer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Aug 2018
8.9

Pretty basic inside but the building is absolutely gorgeous. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2018
8.9

Nice hostel, clean and tidy, no complaints there! Staff were very nice and very ameniable! Kitchen is very big and communal areas are good! Atmosphere wasn't great when we were there but it is winter so there weren't many people around! No lockers in rooms, however there was a lock on door!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2018
7.4

Breakfast and staff were great. It was good for a night or two, but the atmosphere was laid back and people didn’t interact. So as a solo traveller it’s not great to meet people. I also found the doors were iffy on being able to lock and there weren’t any lockers in the rooms. Some of the beds were mattresses while others were foam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2018
5.1

Staff that was helping me did no other understand English so it was hard to communicate.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2018
8.9

Great old place, would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • janaye56276359
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th Jun 2018
9.4

I loved the architecture of this place and how close it was to lots of the things to see in Napier. My bed was uncomfortable but the hospitality of the staff and the state of the rest of the facilities more than made up for that, in my mind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×