Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 816 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 816 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • tcope5451
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2017
10.0

Nice hostel, very unique! Lots of public space, and a pool table that matches the decor. I’d stay there again. My private room was clean and tidy. Looked like the Shared rooms might have been a little shabbier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Dec 2017
8.0

Not very helpful staff members over there. But it is a good location and you do get free breakfast. Place is clean enough but WiFi works only in the kitchen or lounge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Dec 2017
7.4

Could have been a really good experience if staff did not give our room key to someone else who unlocked the door and came in at 12.30am. Not the first time this has happened but definitely the worst, and when I went to tell reception on check out it was unattended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Nov 2017
9.7

I loved this hostel great location friendly atmosphere and its really nice. I checked out on the 1st Dec and then came back the night after the staff are very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • willruffles95
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
15th Nov 2017
7.1

Nice style hostel and busy with lots of travellers. Free breakfast was great and there was loads of facilities to keep you entertained. Only problem was the cleanliness, bathrooms especially.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • thinshwesintoe499488
  • Myanmar, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2017
10.0

Located in the best place. Clean and the staff are friendly. One bad point is the hall is dark and no light.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kootsgrl7422
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Nov 2017
10.0

I haven't stayed at a lot of hostels, but this is the best one I've been to yet. Very spacious, especially the kitchen and common areas. Friendly staff. Highly recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Nov 2017
6.6

Great location. It matches up with the Art Deco of lovely Napier. It's a bit old and tired and I can imagine in winter it's freezing. Staff were nice enough.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Oct 2017
5.7

My room only had 2 plugs for 3 people. The beds were uncomfortable, the room small and not really nice in general. No locker or anything to put your stuff in. The lounge was messy. Great location, pool table and good showers. Overall really didn’t like the atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Oct 2017
9.1

Frühstück war gut, tolle atmoshäre und super lage

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×