Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jan 2018
9.1

I wish I could have stayed longer! The location was perfect and the hostel was very clean. The owner is so nice and the dog so sweet and one felt immediately welcome! The only downside is that there are no individual power points for each bed but that was still okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aleksandragardecka5906
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2018
8.3

I really like criterion hostel for its unique atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2018
8.6

A good hostel. Free pool table, well equipped kitchen with every appliance, lots of DVDs. There is a free continental breakfast, which consists of toast or cereals, very good! Free tea and coffee all day, but the milk is only available at breakfast :( Wifi is a bit dodgey and the woofers can be a little intimidating in the kitchen area. Thank you to the manager Geoff, who helped us with documents and squeezed us in for an extra night. We loved Toby the dog.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • scobb19671871
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
2nd Jan 2018
7.1

+ Friendly and helpful staff Big kitchen with good cooking facilities Nice free breakfast Great location, right in the centre of town with free parking nearby Beautiful, quirky retro ex-Hotel building - Not as clean as I would have liked, although I have seen worse! Only 2 electricity sockets in the dorm No lockers or secure space for valuables No storage space so dorm floors cluttered At the prices they are charging I would have expected free body wash/shampoo/conditioner and use of a towel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2017
9.7

I would love to come back for the art deco festival

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tcope5451
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2017
10.0

Nice hostel, very unique! Lots of public space, and a pool table that matches the decor. I’d stay there again. My private room was clean and tidy. Looked like the Shared rooms might have been a little shabbier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2017
9.7

The most beautiful hostel on the southern hemisphere. We love this place. Beautiful 90 year Art Deco house in the mainstreet - one way street, not much trafic. Kind staff. Fantastic comon rooms, big kitchen, two big living room, and best of all: a balcony to the street, where you are alowed to smoke and drink beers. We simply love this place - stayed here in 2014 and 2017 and hope to come back in 2018.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2017
8.0

Not very helpful staff members over there. But it is a good location and you do get free breakfast. Place is clean enough but WiFi works only in the kitchen or lounge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Dec 2017
7.4

Could have been a really good experience if staff did not give our room key to someone else who unlocked the door and came in at 12.30am. Not the first time this has happened but definitely the worst, and when I went to tell reception on check out it was unattended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Nov 2017
9.7

I loved this hostel great location friendly atmosphere and its really nice. I checked out on the 1st Dec and then came back the night after the staff are very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×